Ratings based on 917 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Good place to stay. Free breakfast was good. Elevator is a little slow. Nice rooms.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 21, 2016
It's a good place. The bed was not very comfortable, and we wish there was more room in the dining area for breakfast. But overall, it was clean and fairly nice. We would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: Location, price
Cons: Update beds and bedding. Microwave in room did not work and lights flickered on and off. Elevator floors in not so good shape.
Location: Near shopping and restaurants, and gas.
The hotel is very old. Some of the floors look like they have had a lot of wear. Room was quite large and spacious. The pictures in the site online was quite different then the actual way it looked. The room looks the same but the bed was very old and well used. The mattresses were very very hard and the sheets were clean but very old and well used. The bedspread must have come out of the 60's. If the beds were like the ones on the site, the room would have been terrific, excellent size. New beds and bedding would have brought the room up to a 4 or 5 rating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Conveniently located.

Posted Jun 9, 2016
Pros: Conveniently located off the freeway.
Cons: Upgrade some of the items in the room.
Room was not comfortable as there seemed to be a bad odour always present. Something needs to be cleaned. i.e. carpets, etc...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sandpoint, idaho

Great price for a large room

Posted Jun 3, 2016
This room was large the pool/sauna/hot tub/fitness room etc. we're a nice bonus. Comfy beds, very clean. Only downside was a tiny (not flat screen) tv....but as it was just intended for a place for us to sleep it didn't bother me.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall good place to stay

Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, accommodating, large room, breakfast, swimming pool
Cons: Update exterior, lobby, and rooms.
When you first drive up to Shilo Inn, and pull into the parking lot-- it's not that pleasing to the eye. You can tell that the hotel has seen better days. When you enter, the lobby is the same-- old looking, but the front desk was very helpful, cheerful, and kind. I needed to check-in slightly early and they were very accommodating. The room was quite large. We had a divider to the "living room" area that separated from the "bedroom" area-- which I really liked. The room was again "older" but very clean. Everything was in working order and the sheets were clean. The beds were not too hard-- I did not notice any discomfort through the course of the night.The breakfast was a nice surprise. The fruit was fresh, they had waffles (ones you make in a waffle maker not frozen, toast, bagels, muffins, boiled eggs, yogurt, coffee, juices, milk, cereal and even biscuits and gravy in the crockpot. I was filled up and didn't have the need to go out to obtain a "second breakfast." There wasn't any loud noises or distraction, and I felt the location was easy access to the I-5 (just right off of the exit). I would hope in the future they can slowly make upgrades to make the overall ambiance a little more inviting, but Shilo Inn did its job-- I was well rested, safe, and I really could not complain. I would stay there again depending on price-- it was a little high for the overall older look of the rooms/ambiance, but again I could stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2016
I have stayed here at least 5 times since 2009 and it has definitely gone downhill a little in terms of the rooms being outdated (old tv's, worn or torn upholstery, the AC unit being sketch) and the elevator lights not working, as well as them being super slow. On the positive, the bathrooms were nice and clean, the staff was polite and helpful and parking was still free and close to the building.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

I wont stay here anymore.

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: Not much to like now.
Cons: The furniture in the room was patched, The TV was a small, analog set. the tub faucet was hanging on by a thread, the wifi was intermittent.
I travel to Salem a lot to see family and have always stayed at the Shilo. I won't stay here anymore. The staff is inattentive, the rooms need remodeling, the pool and exercise facilities are worn. There are lots of alternatives in Salem for the same price. My room used to be a smoking room. Still stinks like an old as tray, The desk clerk was always standing outside smoking. The furniture in the room was patched, The TV was a small, analog set. the tub faucet was hanging on by a thread, the wifi was intermittent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salem Oregon

Close to everything.Nice help.Even my dog is happy

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Stayed extra days and staff was great. Close to airport. Easy to find food. If you needed anything, just a call away.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Attended conference in Salem

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: The nice room and cont. breakfast for the money
Cons: NA
Location: I was there on business for one night, therefore, I wasn't able to explore as much as if I were visiting for pleasure.
This was one of the best times I've had at this Shilo Inn. The best room for the money. Clean and nicely decorated.