Ratings based on 1,213 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2018
hotel is very old and many things falling apart ,toliet took 3 times before it would flush, elevator took extra long time when it was stopping
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2018
Hotel is dated but you can tell that back in the day it was a 5 star.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

College tour

Posted Apr 12, 2018
The room was clean. The breakfast was nice. Good for the one night stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2018 by Social media, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay while touring nearby colleges and hope that you stay with us again in the future. Sincerely, Pam Urben-General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Best hotel for the price in the Salem area

Posted Apr 9, 2018
The good: large room, clean, good lighting, comfortable beds and pillows, good storage and counter space, covered parking, decent free breakfast The bad: lots of repairs needed but the building is under construction, the elevator is slow and scary, pet area is small and does not have grass, One of the employees behind the front desk was very rude
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2018 by Social media, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned we are in the process of updating our hotel. I apologize for the rude employee you encountered at the front desk, but hope that next time you come to Salem you stay with us again and have an even better experience. Sincerely, Pam Urben-General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey, bc

Very pleasant

Posted Apr 1, 2018
We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Excellent pool hours, clean, great breakfast (waffles included). Our room was huge! We were on the top floor and got a kitchenette. It’s older but very clean. Beds are updated and have very soft, comfortable linens. The evening staff was very nice, personable and friendly. Daytime staff was still nice, just not as nice. The ONLY downfall - the elevator is agonizingly slow and the only stairs lead outside, so you have to go around the building.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2018 by Social media, Hotel Management
Dear Amber, Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and all the extras we offer and hope that next time your travels bring you to Salem you come back and stay with us. Sincerely, Pam Urben-General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well maintained, central location

Posted Mar 29, 2018
Pros: Heated pool, hot tub, sauna open until 11pm. Breakfast included.
Cons: Elevator makes weird noises and runs slowly, but otherwise building seemed great.
Location: Loved the historical district.
Stayed here two nights, lose to everything and clean. Friendly staff. Older building but in good shape.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2018 by Social media, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, thank you for the review of your recent stay. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at our conveniently located hotel and hope that next time you come to Salem you choose to stay with us again. Sincerely, Pam Urben-General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good spot.

Posted Mar 27, 2018
Clean rooms. Just off I5. Walking distance to restaurants and easy to access town. Pool and hot tub not 24 hours here but in good condition.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2018 by Social media, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed our hotel and hope that next time you come to Salem you stay with us again. Sincerely, Pam Urben-General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salem

Needs updates but room is clean

Posted Mar 27, 2018
Hotel needs updates. Things are very outdated and some things are broken. Carpets are questionable. Love the pool and hot tub. Sauna was a nice surprise but there was no bucket to add water to it. Elevator makes scary noises and there are no stairs. The room is very nice. Good size tv. Blankets are clean and nice. Shampoo and lotion being organic is a nice touch. Satisfied with the room. But the hotel is a lot less advanced then most that we visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2018 by Social media, Hotel Management
Dear Talltailz, Thank you for your recent review. I'm glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the process of remodeling our rooms and hope that next time your travels bring you to Salem you come back and stay with us again. Sincerely, Pam Urben-General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aumsville, Oregon

My fave place to stay in Salem

Posted Mar 27, 2018
Shilo Inn is in the middle of upgrading their rooms, so although the other furniture may need to be upgraded, the beds are brand new and the most comfortable hotel beds I've slept in in years.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2018 by Social media, Hotel Management
Dear Warmrainydaze, thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm glad that you are enjoying our new beds, the new furniture will follow soon. I hope we continue to be your favorite place to stay for the future. Sincerely, Pam Urben-General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2018
Clean, spacious room. Very comfortable. Good location
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2018 by Social media, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, thank you for your review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that next time you come to Salem you stay with us again. Sincerely, Pam Urben-General Manager