Ratings based on 987 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County

Quick getaway with baby

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Nice resort feel. Room service isn't what I would consider Room Service... more like ordering to go. We ordered 3 times and each time the food was cold. Nearby a lof of things to do. Might go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pool temp cold & dirty, all water sports & bikes are extra and expensive, parking and resort fee per day is expensive and hidden until checkout.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2017 by Kelsey, Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We're disappointed to see that you did not have a stellar experience on the island. We wanted to let you know that the parking and Passport to Paradise fees are displayed several times throughout the booking process, however, we cannot how these fees are displayed on third party websites. We seek to be completely transparent about these fees and hope you might consider joining us in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Beautiful environment! So relaxing. I wish I could've stayed longer! Literally so beautiful. The staff is very friendly and helpful as well. Thank you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Kelsey, Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5-star feedback! We're delighted to see that you enjoyed the beautiful environment and friendly staff and had a relaxing stay on the island. We look forward to welcoming you back to Paradise Point again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GA

Nice resor -old - $32 a night for self parking

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Beds are ok - not what u expect for price - $32 self parking fee per night Resort is nice , rooms can use updating esp bed Resort is beautiful - excellent landscaping - u feel like being in rainforest - well maintained
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Kelsey, Guest Services, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay. While we're glad you enjoyed the landscaping and well-maintained tropical environment, we're disappointed to see that some aspects of your stay did not meet expectations. That being said, we will use your feedback to make future improvements.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from compton

Home away from home

Posted Dec 27, 2016
For the past 5 years we been going there for Christmas we stayed in the same room and section, this year we were tottaly on the opposite side. We were closer to the main pool and the mini store. Other than that we love that place and our friends and kids enjoy that place. They just need a lil bit more improvement on there rooms. Also don't understand why the parking is skyrocketing it was $37 a night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Beautiful hotel, unreasonable fees

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Staff were wonderful, facilities were really good especially if you go in summer, we couldn't use much as it was raining all the time. However paying $30 per day for hotel facilities plus $37 per night for parking seems too too much and makes the cost way too much!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Kelsey, Guest Services, Hotel Management
Sho, thank you for the feedback. We're glad to see that you had a great time with the hotel amenities and wonderful staff. We hope to welcome you back to Paradise again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff not as informed

Posted Dec 24, 2016
The first room o was given when I arrived had graffiti on the bathroom mirror and I thought I was in a motel 6 or something. Being that we checked in during the evening hours we just went straight to sleep. Also, when we checked in the night staff just asked me if I was parking a car and handed me a parking pass but never mentioned a fee so when I checked out it was so expensive. Although, when I checked out the staff was nice and gave me a discount I still ended up paying a lot for parking almost just as much as one nights stay, which doesn't make since because it was off season and hardly packed with plenty of parking everywhere being that the hotel has 44 acres of land. Then the sheets were dirty so they gave us a new room which was much better but the hassle of everything was not pleasant. Oh and then someone was in our first parking space and we had to park somewhere else etc.. I did not receive any information on the included rates of the hotels pleasure fees of $30/night like discounts on food or anything even though I was charged and when I called to ask about it I was told the rates were mandatory so I still had to pay it although we did use the pool. Overall way too expensive even when booking through a third party because of the extra fees and uninformed staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and welcoming

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: Barefoot Bar and Grill
Location: The location is not optimal for people wanting to do things outside of the resort, but the resort itself had plenty of amenities.
The resort is amazing. BBG had great service and great food. All the amenities were excellent even though I did not use them all. The only issue I had was that my shower drain was very slow.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Kelsey, Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We're delighted to see that you enjoyed Barefoot Bar & Grill and amenities during your stay. We hope to welcome you back to Paradise again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from salt Lake City

Highly recommended!

Posted Dec 23, 2016
The grounds are gorgeous! Upgrade to a nicer room and you will be pleased,rooms are quiet, private and have beautiful views of beach and water. The trolley picks up everyday from Resort and takes you in tours of city, would recommend!! No microwaves in room, and food and drinks offered st Resort expensive as can be expected! Overall fabulous!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Kelsey, Guest Services, Hotel Management
Kathleen, thank you for the five-star review! We're delighted that you enjoyed the grounds, beautiful views, Old Town trolley and overall stay. We look forward to welcoming you back Paradise Point soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palos Verdes Estates CA

This resort could be wonderful!

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Gym,pools, location.
Cons: please spend some money for absolutely necessary renovation that would give great return!
Location: Sea World across the bay, down-town San Diego with the Gas Light Distr. and Sea Port just a 10 min. drive. Must go to LITTLE ITALY for delicious food.
Great location but old and bathroom in need of immediate renovation! This is a sister resort to the modern and spectacular TERRANEA on the Palos Verdes Peninsula (LA on the beach), but more like the ugly step-sister of Cinderella. Location is great but fire-pits with litter all around not cleaned by staff and a resort attracting people who give themselves permission to litter, spit on the ground,and play loud music while drinking with very young children running around to 2 AM (and maybe later as I finally fell asleep with soft music in my ears). Please clean it up and increase security so all clients can be comfortable and safe. Staff is friendly and helpful, the gym is very nice and the pools well kept. Renovating this resort would be well spent money with great return! I hope you 'll take note. Thank you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Kelsey, Guest Services , Hotel Management
Toni, we appreciate your detailed review regarding your recent stay. We're glad to see that you enjoyed the location, fitness center and 5 pools during your stay. That being said, we're disappointed that some aspects of your stay did not meet expectations. It is because of reviews like yours that we see exactly how we can improve. We look forward to taking your comments into account and hope you might visit the island again in the future.