Ratings based on 318 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo, Japan

Excellent location

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Some may argue that the hotel is a bit outdated, but in reality, that doesn't really matter. The hotel's location is absolutely perfect, especially during the Sapporo Snow Festival. The hotel is only minutes away from Odori Park. If you plan to visit Asahiyama Zoo, there's a tour bus that stops conveniently outside of the hotel. Overall, we would definitely recommend this!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Basic needs all provided. Walkable to Sapporo station and Tower. Staffs are friendly and able to speak english.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KL, Malaysia

Old hotel in the city

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Most of the front desk staffs don't really speak well in English, so communication is a bit troublesome. We needed help in getting assistance to use a printer to print out some documents, Some don't even speak English. And when we used the computers, most of it still in Japanese and there was no staff to assist. We had to go to the front desk to get help and then only they come to us. Not the friendly type of hospitality you would get from a Japanese hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great Value near JR Sapporo Station

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Convenient Location, Clean room and common area
Location: The hotel is near JR Sapporo Station and Odori Park. Lots of dining and shopping options are within walking distance.
The hotel was conveniently located between JR Sapporo station and Odori Park. I was able to find it easily without a GPS navigator. The room was just big enough for a single person and provided all the amenities I needed to have a comfortable stay. Wanting to be an eco-friendly traveller, I opted out of room cleaning by hanging an opt-out sign on the door knob every morning. That meant no new bed sheet, towels, or vacuum, but housekeepers still took out trash. I also utilized the coin laundry (open 24 hours a day) during my stay. There were two types of machines. One was a stacked front loading dryer+top loading washer, and the other was two-in-one machine. The stacked setup appeared to be able to handle a heavier load, so I chose that one. For those who are concerned about hygiene, both types of washing machines can rinse the drum before you put any clothes in them. Instructions were available in both Japanese and English, so I had no problem figuring out how to operate. I did not try the restaurant at the hotel, since there are so many other options nearby (Picante soup curry is right next door). Overall, I enjoyed my stay and would definitely consider New Otani Inn when I visit Sapporo next time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Seoul

Business hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Walking distance to Otori park, TV tower, and station.
Cons: Room was too small at first time. Next visit was not bad.
Location: Susukino station was far where most of restaurants are. Department store and station were two blocks away. Not many things to do in Sapporo.
The hotel was not far from station. We stayed twice. At first, the room was too small for two. I asked for the larger room for the next visit and we got a little bit larger room next time. Room condition was not bad and it has bath tub not just shower booth. Internet was free, however, it was too slow. Park is in walking distance where there was a food festival. Sapporo does not have much things to do, just visiting small attractive sites and Sapporo beer garden.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great location

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Only 3 blocks from train , 2 blocks from Odori park. Room was clean and has a soaking tub in each bathroom. Lobby is very spacious and pretty. I always hope for excellent air quality in the rooms, but alas, it was only good.
4 out of 5
by Wenjian from USA

Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
Right in the center of Sapporo. Walking distance from JR.
3 out of 5
by ROSSETTI C M from Hong Kong

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
Traditional Japanese Hotel. Hot room. Air-Conditioner not working well. Breakfast acceptable.