Ratings based on 509 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB Canada

Mediocre

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Quaint
Cons: needs bathrooms in room
Location: University area lots of street life
Hotel Staff helped when I left keys in room after going out for the evening
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Worst experience ever

Posted May 22, 2017
I expected "old world" style, and this was absolutely that. I can overlook the quaint, the limitations due to historical property, etc This place was terribly managed. On Sunday, we waited and extra half hour for the "exceptional breakfast". The door was locked and no one even arrived by 12 after. And even then, he said he wouldn't be ready for another 15 minutes. We were visiting from out of town and had places we wanted to see. Wasting an extra hour for breakfast we had to find somewhere else was terrible. And while waiting, another guest told us he got back to the hotel the night before and he no longer had his room. He had money and expensive clothes removed from his room and was gone. Worse, he was in a seminar that day, and was now unprepared. The rooms...bare and would be ok, but no thought used. There were minimal outlets, but only on the wall OPPOSITE the bed. So you can't charge your phone and use it for an alarm at the same time. There was an old alarm clock, but it wasn't plugged in, because it wasn't able to be near an outlet. The showers were down the hall, and robes provided. BUT NO BELTS on the robes. Highly advise against this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to cheap beer!

Posted May 18, 2017
Does they had an extensive breakfast and I think that was a joke. Pretty funny
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay somewhere else

Posted Apr 30, 2017
I stayed here 5 nights. The good: New beds. The bad: Staff was rude, breakfast was never ready when they said it started. They just made the bed but didn't change the linens or replace the soap. No smoke detector, no cover on outlets, no AC, the phone didn't work, says there is staff on call 24 hours, but there isn't. No mini fridge or microwave in rooms. Parking sucks too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

casual staff

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: close to UW
Location: Mostly student eateries
Good value; bathrooms at end of hall. Old building but comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Got locked out of room, called management and they told me to wait 30 minutes.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very convenient location

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Nice location, very close by to university of Washington and many restaurants, unfortunately it was very noisy at night, a guest was talking loud, walking around the room , laughing, I complained to the front desk person, they did nothing, last night same thing. Unable to sleep.
2 out of 5
by Arathi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Charming (funky) old hotel, very close to UW

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Lots of small inexpensive places to eat nearby, as well as student theater around the corner.
Cons: Breakfast was included with good coffee, but food selection was pretty limited. Hard boiled eggs and better bread would be a good menu addition.
I had a small room with the essentials - single bed, sink, heat, internet, nice view. I could walk 8 minutes to UW, where I was working. Bathroom with shower down the hall was clean and not far away.