Ratings based on 431 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tri-Cities, WA

European style Inn in the heart of seattle

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Old, historic building. The rooms are spacious and clean with comfy beds. More like a B&B with bathrooms down the hall and no tv in the room. Be prepared for street parking and some stairs. For a working stay in the city it was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Abi Saab

Clean your restroom, get good mattress

Posted Jul 16, 2016
I don't mind sharing restrooms as a last option hotel, but restrooms were not clean and I avoided using them. Also, the mattress was so old and completely uncomfortable. Hotel smelled old in an unpleasant way.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Old with lots of character, but not maintained

Posted Jul 12, 2016
This is an old building. Right when you walk in, you'll notice that "old house smell" that you may have encountered at your great grandmother's house. If you can get over that though, this place really has a wonderful charm to it. The drawback is: it's not really well maintained. The staff members were friendly and helpful enough, but they don't have the appropriate facilities to store your bags if you arrive before check-in. I guess I should have called before assuming that. We hid them in the back of their storefront check-in desk with no guarantees that they wouldn't be stolen. The first thing I noticed in my room was a large black stain (ink from a pen?) on the white bed comforter, in plain view. There were some small bugs in the bathroom because the window was left open. The lock on my room's door appeared to be broken and it wouldn't close fully. It was a simple fix (replacing a screw in the striker plate) but was not addressed during my stay after notifying the staff. The bathrooms are communal and shared by the entire floor, but were actually kept clean during my stay. Nothing says "College" like showering next to a complete stranger. None of these factors really bothered me, but if they do, you may want to look elsewhere. All in all, this place is a cheap solution for staying near downtown. The rooms really could have a rustic charm if only the place were maintained a little better. I loved my stay but can't recommend without warning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hostel/Pension

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Pros: I got a good nights sleep.
Cons: Bathrooms in the room.
Location: The location is convenient for the University of Washington.
If all you need is a bed, that's what you will be getting. The room and bed were clean but everything was "tired." The bathroom and shower were down the hall. It was quiet and provided a bed to sleep in but nothing more.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Front room so a little noisy location is giid

Posted May 15, 2016
Avgoid place to stay for the money. Bath area very clean. Room is no frills but comfortable . Front room a little noisy but expected. I enjoyed my stay!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from I

Les miserable

Posted May 7, 2016
Very small room Very bad bed Very old furniture Room smells
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Moses Lake, WA. 98837

Unusual experience in the U District

Posted Apr 18, 2016
We booked this hotel for an overnight stay, not realizing that it was a Hostel, and that there was no parking! My grandson had an appointment at Children's Hospital the next day so the location looked really great. We were surprised to find that it was the type of establishment that it is. The place is very quaint and the room had large windows and a window seat. Although it has taken me 69 years to do it, I can now say that I stayed in a Hostel. We found a parking lot two blocks away to store our car, and then proceeded to walk around the district. There are 4 floors in this old hotel, and we stayed on the second floor. Luckily, I have no problem doing stairs, as there was no elevator. The rooms are neat and clean, and the bathroom is down the hall. (also neat and clean). Wifi reception was very good in our room. We really had a great time and enjoyed breakfast on the fourth floor the next morning. For a really different experience, try this! People who do this seem to be very respectful and quiet.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Convenient for visiting University of Washington

Posted Apr 15, 2016
The College Inn is inexpensive and low key. I work for a different university, so I appreciated the fact that the Inn is essentially on the campus of the University of Washington, which means that wifi is available via eduroam---that greatly facilitated me accessing internet library resources to wrap up my presentation. And I appreciated the fact that the Inn was near everywhere I needed to go on campus.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

no parking

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: next to U W
Cons: parking
busy place .. no parking ...nice bar downstairs. parking lot 2 blocks away for a fee
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Earth

Good location, bare necessities

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Pros: Location and vintage look (established in 1909)
Cons: Power outlets don't hold the plugs well!
Location: Good location for a taste of university life
Bare necessities! Read well the description. Common showers and restrooms. It makes sense for the price. Have realistic expectations and enjoy the location.