Ratings based on 372 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2015
古い。 フロントが売店。 設備がひどい。 3泊で一度も清掃入らず。 Wifiが不安定。 値段からすると仕方ない面も。
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, HI

A Quaint Experience. Glad I did it.

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Pros: Location. Historical interest - dates from the 1909 Yukon-Pacific Exhibition. Historical photos on the walls. European style accommodation.
Cons: Staff knowledge. Prompt opening of breakfast.
Location: Can't beat it. Can walk or bus to everything. It will be even better when the Light Rail connects to the U District.
I lived in the Seattle U District for 16 years and welcomed an opportunity to stay at the College Inn. It has historical interest but is spartan in the way of amenities, just as it is described. I enjoyed opening the windows on to the street when the beer truck was making a delivery. Also was tickled to have granola/muesli available for breakfast. Warning - parking could be a real problem at times of the year but I went when the U was not in session. Loved the quiet before the school term begins. The only negative was that breakfast opened some time after advertised both days I stayed. And you can't expect much from the staff if you need assistance or advice.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Schwäbisch Hall

Tolles Hostel, super ruhige Lage

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Waren zum 2. mal dort. Hat uns wieder gut gefallen, vorallem die Lage zur Washington University. Das Hotel liegt ruhig, Busverbindung ist Top und ist gleich um die Ecke, sowie Cafés, Bars, Restaurants, Einkaufsmöglichkeiten . Nur vom Frühstück waren wir diesesmal enttäuscht!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: ロケーション(UWに近い。また、ダウンタウン行きのバス停も近い)
Location: UW。
スタッフ(学生のアルバイト!?)の対応は、普通です。 驚いたことに、部屋の鍵は壊れていて、ドアのたてつけも悪かったです。 シャワーは圧が弱く、電気も付きません。 寝るだけと割り切れれば、いいと思います。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok bed and breakfast type place

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: close to UW
Cons: A TV in the room.
Location: I was in town for a UW visit.
I needed a room close to the university for one night. This place met that need.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC Canada

College hotel for dummies

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Location: At the base of the U district it was only good if one liked to walk. Do not put your parents up in this place. Go to Ramada or Westin or Hlton.
What a waste of dollars. Way too money for this dump. Bathroom is not clean and it is shared. No reading lamp by the bed. No over head fan for the excessive heat build up in room. Sheets were somewhat clean, rugs were worn, towels barely clean, small sink in room to wash hands and face that did not drain properly. Toilets down the hall were not properly attached to the floor so they rocked... Not worth $183.00 per night...This place is worth 45.00per night. never again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible staff.

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: A functioning doorbell and phone would be nice, given that late check-in is allowed.
Location: It's on the Wash U campus - so you will need a taxi or bus to reach anything that isn't student-oriented.
The College Inn is a hostel, emphatically and absolutely not a B&B or hotel. The staff were consistently unhelpful. I arrived late at night, and no one answered the doorbell for about 20 minutes, nor did anyone pick up the phone when I called repeatedly. This meant standing in the street with my luggage. Someone exiting the building called one of their friends to open the reception. When I asked if the doorbell was broken, the receptionist shrugged and said yes (no apology), and when I mentioned no one had picked up the phone, told me the phone didn't work if the doorbell was ringing (!??). Absolutely bare bones room, though it was clean. For this amount of money, you can do MUCH better - spend the same amount on airbnb, or spend less on a different hostel.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Tucked away and worth it!

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: Incredibly comfortable beds! Cute rooms with lots of character and charming architecture. Great location, easy walk to shops for necessities.
Cons: Check-in and check-out was a bit confusing and staff was somewhat hard to track down.
Location: The Bagel and Bean cafe and pub the building is shared with are both well worth your time. Great organic/natural foods grocery store across the street
A great little hotel. I'm local, so I was looking for a budget-friendly stay for a holiday weekend, and since I know my way around the city, I don't mind staying not-downtown. Great, quiet spot in the U district. Super-comfy bed. The shared restrooms and shower worked out fine. The building is older but I find that charming. I will likely revisit for future weekend getaways.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington


Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Clean with a comfortable bed. The person who helped me when I learned that my reservation had been messed up and I was told I didn't have a room.
Cons: The service and reservation process through third parties. There is no television available, iron, or what you would expect in most hotels.
I made this reservation through Expedia and when I called to let them know I was coming in a bit later than expected, they had already called me to let me know they didn't have any room for me. They had overbooked. They finally helped me get a room at a different location, but then I had to move to this location the next night. This ended up working out okay due to the plans I had made with my son, but it still made things hectic. When I at this hotel the next day there was no one available to check me in at the little store and I had to wait until they showed back up. The room was clean and the bed was actually not bad, but that is about all I can say positive about it. The restrooms were down the hall, they too were clean. The building is old and historic, but over a pub. The continental breakfast in the morning left little to be desired. That was very disappointing. I will not stay at this location again.
3 out of 5
for Students
by A verified traveler

A place to stay in the U District

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Good location & had good view of fireworks!
Cons: More original breakfast? Patch the holes in the inn room walls. Deep cleaning.
Location: Restaurants & bars, though they were all closed for the 4th when I was there...
Easy to get to...person in store that let me in was a bit overwhelmed. He finally found a key for me. He didn't offer info. on wifi & had to come back down to tell him previous password was expired when he let me know about ew one. Room was small but clean enough. Similar to what I read in another review, this spot could stand some serious deep cleaning. Slept OK--a little noisy out on the streets in the campus