Ratings based on 453 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Good quality at a good price

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Location: On the University campus so a fair few trendy little places quite near and lots of options for transportation.
Very comfortable rooms, a little loud and lacking personal bathrooms, but if you're willing to compromise, this is a great place to stay. Convenient location with the affiliated pub around the corner and store just next door.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Good economical guest lodging

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Cons: 3pm check-in can be inconvenient for people arriving in A.M.; would be better if they could arrange more flexible check-in times.
A cozy, no-frills place to stay while visiting Seattle. Close to restaurants and public transportation, free breakfast buffet, friendly staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So Old Lewis & Clark must have stayed there

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
It was not clear to me from the Expedia ads that this is actually just a hostel. The place had a sign on the door, 1909 and it was not a kept-up vintage place. Looked like one could have gotten bed bugs just looking in the room. No check in except at the groddy looking convenience store next to the single door leading up to the rooms. They couldn't even find my Expedia reservation! Fortunately, on short notice, I got a room in a real hotel nearby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Can be better

Posted Sep 27, 2016
A room in a hotel is to take rest after a tiring day but it's not possible in this hotel as it's located right on the university road and all the windows are still 100+ year old that can't stop the voice of someone walking on the street. The there is a constant noise of traffic on the road that includes buses and trucks. I spent $150 per night with no satisfaction. Shared bathroom has only one toilet and two showers with only one working that too with a loose shower head that you have to hold while taking shower. Toilet was dirty with some part broken. This building has a character that can be maintained beautifully by paying some attention.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montana

Historic gracious College Inn UW

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Gorgeous old hotel tall ceings beautiful old griwth Doug Fir doors bygone era of exacting craftmanship ......wonderful easy going kind staff Love Damien ......wobderful rooms cozy beds comfy beds wonderful high quality sheets... shared bathrooms huge! like gym shower rooms! clean and oldfashioned tiles. Right next door to the University and the UW Medical Center w free breakfast whats not to love?!!??!?!!? Came in for a serious heart surgery for son and fpund peace abdbconfort abd a good nights sleep at the College Inn
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: price, location
My wife and I were in Seattle, at the last minute we decided to stay the night. We found the college in, booked our room, it was in a great location close to where we were, We got to the room a bit late, but the staff ws very accommodating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2016
I was unaware it was shared bathrooms and showers. The bed was clean and comfortable and breakfast in the morning was good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

European/Hostel Style Hotel Close to U of W

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: - Proximity to University and Transit - Inexpensive - Clean
Cons: - No Parking - Clean but dated interior
Checkin is performed by the cashier at the attached convenience store, and keys are traditional physical keys (no key cards here). The hotel itself has a locked front door, so you will be given two keys: One to the building and one to your room. The hotel is more similar to a typical hostel than a hotel. The rooms are clean, and include a sink but there are men's & women's shared bathrooms per floor. Breakfast is provided on the 4th floor, we were visiting on a weekend, but it was a lot more busy at 0800 on a Saturday than I would have expected. No parking is included, and there isn't really a convenient place to park nearby. Street parking is 2-4 hrs max during the day (depending on the street). Parking garages are limited to 10 hrs. Free overnight street parking (6PM to 8AM) is available directly in front of the hotel. This means you will need to move your vehicle at least two times a day, I moved into a garage at 8AM, then street parking 8-10 hrs later (4-6PM) paying for the last few minutes. Parking cost isn't a huge factor, unlike other cities, but the inconvenience of no commercial garages offering 24 hr parking means you need to work car movement into your daily schedule, if you don't plan on driving everywhere. Overall the hotel is a great value, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it, if you can live with some of its "unique" qualities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

This was something diffeerent

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Staff was helpful.
Cons: Offer to check the room prior to assigning one to see that everything works. Show guests where the lectrical outlets are for charging electronics.
Location: Location was fine. Easy access to buses and some interesting eateries.
I should have guessed this was going to be a place with the barest of amenities when I stepped into the mini-mart to check in . The pleasant gentleman at the counter gave me the keys to my "room" that was small ans cell-like. It had a bed, a chair, a sink and a lamp that did not work. But, I was too tired to ask for a replacement. The room was noisy and stuffy. Still, if you are traveling and don't care much about spending time in a room, and prefer to be outdoors and sightseeing, this place may be suitable. There is no elevator, so you carry you luggage up to the stairs to the floor where the room is located. I ended up here because most places in Seattle were booked due to the season. Still, if I had to do it over, I'd postpone my trip to a later date. I like to nap, enjoy the quiet and catch a second wind when I travel. Because of the size of the cell, I mean room, and the exterior noise, napping was out of the question. I did, however, enjoy the free breakfast on the fourth floor. But, watch your head because the community room is an attic and the slant of the roof offers some interesting turns. I must add that the College Inn looks like they cater to the foreign traveler and that might be because of its proximity to the UW campus.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tri-Cities, WA

European style Inn in the heart of seattle

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Old, historic building. The rooms are spacious and clean with comfy beds. More like a B&B with bathrooms down the hall and no tv in the room. Be prepared for street parking and some stairs. For a working stay in the city it was great.