Ratings based on 1,273 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Just okay.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Needs to be updated, repaired, and have better pillows.
Location: The location is great---close to restaurants, businesses, etc.
We have stayed here before when it was "The Lexington". It seems to have gone downhill now that it is "The Red Lion". Our room had no outside window (instead it overlooked a dark hallway), the lighting was poor, the handle bar in the shower was broken, the pillows and bedding were uncomfortable, and it wasn't as clean as we would have liked. The price was right, however.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient to go to shows.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Location, breakfast & pool.
Cons: Bath tub drained very very slow, the security lock on the door was broke, the room door lock had been installed upside-down.
Breakfast was very good for a hotel breakfast. The swimming pool was a little cold but in the afternoon with the help of the sun it was refreshing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Nice amenities, beautiful pool area,great breakfast. Front desk staff on Labor Day Weekend, especially "Karissa"?? VERY nice and helpful!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Hotel was good; staff not at all friendly

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Customer service training for the staff. Upgrades are sorely needed. Rooms were outdated and had rusty bathroom fixtures, especially in the shower.
I had booked 2 rooms, staff must have thought it was a duplicate booking. We checked in late at night. Had to prove that I had booked 2 rooms; staff refused to tell me if a room was available until I showed proof. Was not at all friendly. Internet was spotty, when reported to staff, the answer was "works fine for me". AC went out in one of the rooms, staff grudgingly moved us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Food

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: They did well on breakfast
The best part was the breakfast, the rest of the hotel is fair
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good breakfast

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Room was not as good as they usually are. We have stayed here many times before, quality is on the decline. Will be looking for something cleaner and better kept up.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bedbugs. Poor security.

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: The people who work here are nice.
Cons: The lock on the hotel's back door is broken. Visitors were coming and going all night long. It's a big security problem. Also, bedbugs.
Location: Location is not good. There's a gas station nearby.
I was awakened at 4:15 am by the feeling of something crawling on my chest. I slapped at it and found a big smear of blood on my palm. I jumped out of bed and found it was was crawling with big, adult bedbugs. I called the front desk. The employee was helpful and sympathetic. I showed her two live bedbugs I caught in an ice bucket. She gave me an immediate refund and helped me to find a dryer I could empty all of my clothes into to kill any bedbugs that had found their way into my luggage. So, now it's 6:00 in the morning; I can't drive ten more hours on 4 hours of sleep and I can't check into another hotel until three. I have many more pictures of bugs. I stayed here once before with no significant problems but this is probably my last visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surf City, California

Nice hotel!

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Very clean!
Location: St. George is like living on the surface of the sun!
Slept well, zzzzzzzzzzzzzz, zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz, zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz, zzzzzzzzzzzzzz!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Amazing staff but horrible room

Posted Sep 5, 2016
I cannot speak highly enough about the sweet front desk lady that checked us in and changed our rate because of a misquote over the phone. I was impressed with her customer service and she is the only good thing about this hotel. Upon trying to enter our room we couldn't even get the door open, we had to jiggle the handle and troubleshoot with ultimately having to lift up the door while turning the handle up to get in. We were so tired from driving 12 hours and to be hit with the pungent smell of smoke in a clearly marked "smoke free" room was the worst scenario. The air freshener on the counter was a poor attempt to cover it up. I unpacked our essential oil diffuser and started diffusing a purify oil to make the room bare able for us to sleep in. We also used a febreeze spray we had in our car all over he room. We left our room in the morning and tried not to come back until we absolutely needed to to change our clothes. My husbands suit and my dress which were hanging in the vanity racks smelled faintly like smoke which was disgusting as they were freshly dry cleaned and my dress was brand new. Friday morning it was much worse since our clothes had been in the room since Wednesday around 11pm. I had an ongoing headache from the smell. We were in town for a family funeral and did not have the luxury of time to hassle with finding a new room while trying to mourn our loss and spend time with family. It was an extremely short trip for us and stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2016 by aj, Hotel Management
We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, Ca

great for the price !

Posted Sep 4, 2016
we booked red lion , last minute and got a room for under $70 a night. Very nice motel for the price and friendly staff . Also a great stop on the way to zion national park .