Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with la soufriere spirit

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: Staff, location. Walking in la soufriere was interesring.
Cons: Our room did not have air conditioned. the room felt more comfortable on the third night when Chantal the maid proposed to get us a fan :-)
Location: Shopping for some fruits , water at la soufriere. Lovely dinner at sugar sand and ladera
We went to the hummingbird not expecting anything particular. At our arrival we were very impressed by the view and the location. All staf was pleasnat and dedicated. Special thanks to Quinn the gardener who was proud to show his garden.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Boutique Hotel on the beach.

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Pros: Close to the beach and a dive shop on property.
Cons: Air conditioning. Even with the fans, sometimes the rooms were a bit warm at night for sleeping.
Location: Walk to shops and restaurants, hike Gros Piton, scuba diving & snorkeling, volcano & mud baths, rain forest, botanical gardens, waterfalls, beaches.
It's best to arrange the hotel shuttle ahead or take one of the taxi's at the airport if not renting a car. Typical taxi trip is anywhere from $60 - $75 US. Negotiation is prevalent. The currency is EC (Eastern Caribbean) but everyone also takes US dollars. It's best to heck the exchange rate everyone is using as it did fluctuate from 2.5 to 2.7. The hotel has an open, air space for the restaurant and main bar and also has a beach bar that opens at 3PM every day. There is a small pool but the best is the stone steps that lead right down to the beach. The rooms and bathroom was spacious and clean with a balcony perfect for morning coffee or pre-dinner drinks. The hotel is close enough to walk to town for shopping and restaurants and the hotel staff is great at arranging personal tours and trips to the various local points of interest. The rooms weren't air conditioned but they did have a ceiling fan and floor fan to cool the rooms. The beds did have mosquito netting for use at night.
4 out of 5
by Michael from Portland, Maine

Nice, locally-owned resort

Posted Dec 26, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful location on the beach. Dive shop on site. Excellent restaurant and bars too! Room was spacious and quiet. Pool area was small, but comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newnan, GA

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Dec 16, 2015
This was a last minute trip with my daughters to celebrate oldest daughter's college graduation. we loved the location as far as landscape and the views in the area. The beach next to the hotel had some trash but it was not too bad just a short distance away. The food at the hotel restaurant was delicious. Check in and check out were fast and easy. Be prepared to spend $75 USD for a taxi from the international airport to the hotel. Also, please plan on paying something for everything you do during your stay in St. Lucia. My daughters wanted to go to a waterfall and it was $3 per person to walk to it. It was about 50 yards from the road.
1 out of 5
by Madison from U.S.

Absolutely Horrific!!!

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
Cons 1. Room and Hotel Grounds need to be remodeled 2. NO WIFI, (EVEN THOUGH IT SAYS THEY DO) 3. Terrible Customer Service 4. You get harassed every time you step on the beach near the hotel. More of a local beach than the resorts. 5. Us and one other couple were the only ones staying at the resort. Only Pro: The view from the Hotel (which is hard to see from the room because there are so many bushes/weeds everywhere)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beautiful view!

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: The beautiful view!
Cons: the bathroom could be updated and cleaned up a bit. Overall, attention to detail.
Location: Soufriere was the most unsafe I have ever felt. We would drive down the street and locals would run up to the moving car and tap on the windows
The reception staff was above and beyond accommodating and always friendly. the staff in the restaurant area was unbelievably slow. They were friendly and helpful, but at one point, we saw no one in the restaurant area for 20 minutes. It was disappointing. the view is wonderful! The pool was clean! The beach access is public, so be prepared to be accosted by locals to buy something, donate money or take an excursion with them. They ALL come up to you. I had an un-air conditioned room, which we chose. It was what we expected. They do have tall floor fans in those rooms, so it was not unbearable. There is a mosquito net over the bed, but we did still get bit up a little bit. The bathroom could use some updating and some love. The only complaint I had about the room is that when I turned the bathroom faucet on, tiny little bugs ran out from the levers. I sprayed a ton of bug spray on them and the sink and did not see them again.
5 out of 5
by Pui Kay from Hong Kong, China

Services

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels
Altitude of all services people are excellent. Very good location
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Memphis, TN

Very nice and charming little resort!

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Hummingbird hotel area is beautiful garden area! Nice swimpool and right on the beach, loved it!
Cons: Hummingbird hotel could improve on missing ceiling fan and bed was kinda hard, I believe room 4.
Location: The Hummingbird Staff will help you find all the activities you want, just ask them! Plus ask them about Baby-Shaq.
St. Lucia was a very very nice visit/vacation of all we have taken together. My wife and I enjoy to the upmost! We saw the sights of the local area near the hummingbird hotel in our 6days stay. Well Melvin "Baby-Shaq" had more to show us, but I was just ready to relax and just enjoy the wonderful view from the beach that I could walk to from my room at the hummingbird, everyday. We spent so much time on the beach that we didn't realize how sunburnt we were until returning home. Enjoyed this place! Get with "baby-Shaq"! He will even take you on farther island adventures. Oh! don't come here during April timeframe for "Holiday Period" if you are a clubber, because dance clubs were close.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely little place, great restaurant, city walk

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels
We loved many things about our stay at Hummingbird Beach Resort. The view really can't be beat, and it's a short walk into Soufriere for anything you need. The restaurant had some of the best food on our trip. The staff were warm, welcoming and helpful. Unfortunately we probably will not return to stay at Hummingbird if we return to St. Lucia. The reason is the discomfort of the room we stayed in. First, there is no way to block out the loud noise that came from a town beach party until 12:45am on Friday night. I've read on other websites that this has happened to others on Wednesdays and Fridays. If the staff would just inform guests of this and offer them earplugs, maybe it wouldn't have been such a big deal. Second, the Hummingbird apparently doesn't spray for mosquitoes like other hotels, and we got absolutely eaten alive, even hiding inside our mosquito netting that surrounded the bed. I noticed in the morning that there were holes in the mosquito netting. I have 30-40 mosquito bites after 2 nights there. Finally, there's no air conditioning and the room was hot, hot, hot, even with the wood doors to the veranda wide open all night (a tough decision, based on the mosquito issue). All in all, we liked so many things about the Hummingbird, and recognize that the price point is lower than other area places (by a long shot!), but the sleeping experience was so poor, just don't think we would return.