Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NSW, Australia

Central, historic and with lots of charm.

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: We loved our room - spacious, airy and so clean. The terrace restaurant and bar was a lovely place to relax and soak up the atmosphere.
Cons: Wait staff were a little too 'laid back' at times, but I think that's Africa, generally.
Location: We visited the Slave Museum and found our young guide very informative and knowledgeable. The markets and cafes were at our doorstep.
We spent 3 nights at Swahili and thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of our stay. Room was comfortable and super clean. Staff - reception, bar/restaurant and general were extremely helpful at all times.
3 out of 5
by Brian

Unique

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
Unique place to stay. The room was a little small. Other than that it was a comfortable stay. Love stonetown.
3 out of 5
by AISHA

Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels
Check in was unpleasant. According to Swahili house they never received confirmation from hotels.com. Kept us waiting for over 3 hours
3 out of 5
by Janine from Orlando

Quaint

Posted Jan 15, 2016 on Hotels
Great staff, true to "felt like a sultan"
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outstanding Historic Romantic Getaway Hotel

Posted Dec 4, 2014 on Hotels
Incredible place. Excellent location in old Stonetown. The rooftop restaurant serves a delicious breakfast as well as lunch and dinner, with a side of spectacular city views extending to the ocean. Friendly and helpful staff. Steep staircase, but worth the climb. It appears they are currently constructing an elevator, though we were never disturbed by any construction. Very clean, with the courteous staff opening and closing the massive curtain-size mosquito netting around the bed at morning and night. Complimentary drinking water and excellent breakfast was a nice touch. Highly recommended. Will stay here next time I'm in Zanzibar for certain!
4 out of 5
by Lana from Ontario, Canada

Historic oasis in Stone Town

Posted Nov 29, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, and thought it was great! It's right in the middle of Stone Town and fits perfectly into this historically rich town. It's one of the tallest buildings so the views are fantastic for both our room balcony as well as the roof top restaurant and terrace. The roof top restaurant was definitely the highlight, it's a beautiful oasis with a phenomenal chef, so good we ate all our meals here. The room was large with 20 foot ceilings and suited the local cultural experience. It wasn't perfect in condition, but we weren't expecting perfect or we'd have stayed at a big commercial hotel. It's an excellent location for a tour of stone town. They are currently renovating and adding an elevator, but we welcomed the excersize of the stairs to the roof top personally, and it's completely worth it to see and eat on the roof top. The service was very good, and the grounds are private and we'd recommend to any one staying in Stone Town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A great Zanzibar stay!

Posted Oct 4, 2014 on Hotels
The Swahili House is beautifully decorated and an interesting design. The rooms are amazing with massive beds and mosquito nets and a fan inside the mosquito nets. We didn't need the air con. The stained glass windows and wooden shutters add a beautiful touch and the views over Stone Town are fascinating. The bathroom is quaint but clean and the steep wooden stairs a good work out! Don't worry about carrying your cases though because there are awesome staff, who are extremely fit, to help you! The reception staff couldn't be more helpful and the free wifi in the courtyard is a great bonus. Highly recommend it!
3 out of 5
by Morgan from California, USA

Posted Feb 5, 2014 on Hotels
A bit overpriced for what it was. Don't take elderly people here or anyone with walking difficulty. It's around 100 stair steps to the restaurant. Wifi is not available in room, only by the reception -outside. Location itself is fairly convenient. Hotel itself is a unique old building, kept pretty clean. I have a feeling from what we saw elsewhere in Stone Town, that it doesn't get much better without maybe paying much more? Only spent one night here but really would have avoiding staying in Stone Town as a stop before Nungwi. A few hours in Stone Town was plenty.
4 out of 5
by Keen Traveller from South Africa

Enjoyable stopover

Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed at Swahili house for 1 night to experience Stonetown before moving on to a beach resort on the east coast of the island. The location is perfect, within walking distance from the main sights and close to the airport. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, and the hotel has a nice layout with rooftop restaurant. Overall perfect for our stay. (Just a note that the bathroom is open plan onto the bedroom so if you are sharing with someone be aware that you will not have the privacy of a closed bathroom.)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2013