Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

No airconditioning

Posted Feb 27, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Not a lot.
Cons: Air conditioning in the room
Location: There is an excellent Thai restaurant only a 5 minute walk across the road.
This was a business trip and this place was chosen purely because there was no other accommodation available. While the room was expected to be basic - student accommodation - there is 'basic' and there is 'basic. This is short-term stay accommodation so some necessities were expected. The week I was there, it was very hot in Sydney and there was no air-conditioning in the room; only a pedestal fan; at one point, my laptop turned off due to over heating. No hangers in the closet. No desk lamp - only a rather dim overhead light in the middle of the room. Reception operates 0900 - 1700 and if anything is needed you need to ring the night staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Just a room

Posted Feb 21, 2016 on Wotif
No TV, no AC, no fan, no sleep due to the constant partying during the night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy, hot and very basic.

Posted Feb 13, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Needs air con, soap, properly set up kitchen, better information about access.
Location: A long uphill walk from Macquarie Uni railway station, near parkland and pool. Nearby Trafalgar Square has good restaurants.
Booked 2 nights while attending a conference at the uni. First, couldn't find the entrance - no information on accessing this secure compound when booking, so had to ring when I found I couldn't locate the main entrance - ended up walking around the streets on a very hot day, dragging my suitcase with me. The contact person wasn't even onsite and couldn't help me with street directions. Eventually found the entry off Waterloo Road, and got my key from the resident caretaker. The room was one of 5 sharing kitchen and lounge. Mine had a broken fan, and just about nothing else in the tiny room. It was pretty clean and had a towel, but no soap. it was hot and stuffy. Trouble was I had to sleep with the window open but it was soooo noisy, with people talking just outside my room well into the night, plus the noise of Waterloo Road. Called the caretaker and she took the broken fan away, but never saw her or the fan again! The kitchen had crockery but no cutlery to speak of. All in all a very disappointing place to stay for nearly $100 a night. The next 2 nights I was able to book the Uni management school hotel which was excellent and not much more expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Simple and affordable with great internet speed

Posted Jan 20, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The Village is conveniently located near public transport, and a small shopping centre with supermarket, cafe, Thai restaurant, chemist etc.
Cons: The pillow was very cheap and offered no head or neck support. It was very difficult to sleep on.
Location: Located about 60 minutes from Sydney CBD. It is a university campus, not an entertainment precinct. I imagine recreational facilities would be OK.
I simply wanted some cheap and convenient accommodation so I could get away from home and watch 18 hours of live stream video from the USA, over a two day period. My main priority was excellent internet connection, that I could not be assured of if I stayed at a budget hotel. Even the bandwidth in 5 star hotels may not have been sufficient. The house I stayed in had five bedrooms, each with their own bathrooms, and a communal kirchen, lounge and dining area. Other guests were polite, respectful and cleaned up after themselves. (I stayed during the summer break, so the house was not fully occupied.)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Regional NSW

Great option during Uni end of year semester break

Posted Jan 12, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: Clean , low cost , safe , good location , generally quiet , nice outlook. Buses to anywhere out front. 20 min walk to train and a huge shopping centre
Cons: Put air con in
Location: Basic food and groceries almost opposite , macquarie shopping center a 20 minute walk through the Uni. Several coffee shops in the uni open after 8am
These are cleaner rooms than many 4 star hotels i have stayed in as they know about bleach. Albeit dated interiors , single bed and noise levels depend on your neighbours at the time. The downstairs levels have a fully equipped kitchen/full sized fridge,lounge with tv and seperate dining area for 6 and free secure parking is nearby. As the facility including the uni has security the 20 minute walk to Macquarie uni station / macquarie centre shopping through the uni any time day or night is a pleasant and safe one.There is a small grocery store, liquor store, 2 restaurants and a wine bar directly opposite the reception at the Traflagar st entrance in Trafalgar place. I have no complaints about this facility or the staff as it all runs just fine. These units are only available at discounted rates to non students mostly during the uni recess over the christmas holiday period ( i believe) and are ideal for singles or even a family reunion of singles where you could book a whole block and have a room each and all use the common areas downstairs and self cater.There is no air conditioning so if it's a hot summer some may suffer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Uni residences

Posted Jan 10, 2016 on Wotif
Accommodation ok. But really just uni residences.. Shared and spartan
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sunshine Coast

Poorly organised

Posted Dec 14, 2015 on Wotif
Staff were inexperienced, room wasn't ready on arrival, no phone reception, night staff didn't know how to connect us to campus wifi.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Qld

very uncomfortable and no proper facilities

Posted Apr 14, 2015
unplesant experience, linans were not change,only one towel have given for two people,bed was very uncomfortable,there was no toiletries available given on special request
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Student Accommodation, very basic, needs cleaning

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: large room
Cons: cleaning, maintenance, parking
Location: Near Uni and Hospital
Stayed 26 Mar 2015 and on arrival experienced used glasses left in sink, mould in bathroom & kitchen on silicone around hand basin and benches, strong odour of drains in bathroom and had to keep door into room shut, room was beside the Village common room and cheering screaming etc until after 1:30am with approx 60 people, insufficient parking. It should not be classed as a hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK if it is not hot in Sydney

Posted Mar 1, 2015 on Hotels
Staying for work when it was quite warm in Sydney. Room is VERY basic and the residence smelt a little wrong. As there is no airconditioning and it was a warm night I had to have the fan, that was provided, running just to be able to sleep. It was however a catch 22 as the fan, being the cheapest on the market, was very noisy and prevent a restful sleep... for 2 of the four nights I found a couch to crash on.