Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gizycko, Poland

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Interesting location, specific, traditional atmosphere, nice and quiet. Little bit far from Heraklion but it is not a problem if you come by car/bike. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sweet place

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
A quaint little out of the way village, a short drive from town. The staff was very friendly, we really liked the coffee shop. There was a wood fireplace in the room, and many friendly cats throughout the area. It was a true cultural experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Earth

Nice time away

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel caters to both families and youngsters with a good price value. It offers a restaurant and bar by the swimming pool. The rooms are nice, in particular the bathrooms. I was day for only a night but despite being out of the city it is self-sufficient to stay for longer and one can always take a taxi to the town for dinner or sight-seeing. I would certainly stay here again. One negative is the WiFi doesn't reach beyond the reception and restaurant, which is fine as you meet others checking their phones in the common area.
3 out of 5
by Aristedes

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

Quiet out of the way place, away from it all

Posted Aug 25, 2016
I stayed four days, and it was the perfect choice for me. I travelled alone and wanted somewhere where I could sleep and read without feeling like a freak for being a single woman in my own. It was fab, staff were quite friendly and helpful and it was lovely and quiet. I had half board as I knew that I wasn't going to be out and about, eating elsewhere. The food was ok but there is no choice for dinner when you're half board, so if you don't fancy that or you're a foodie, jusr have breakfast and order from the main menu. Rooms are large and simple but clean, with a fridge and good air con. Pool area is lovely, and the whole area is very clean and well maintained. With the whole village layout it's definitely not you're average hotel but all the better for that and thoroughly recommended if you want a quiet and restful break.
5 out of 5
by Marsha from Dallas

Great stay in scenic location

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful, tranquil location in scenic village-like setting. Easy access to Heraklion, Knossos, etc. The goats with their tinkling bells on the hills in the morning was unforgettable!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Awesome Place!

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The room and grounds are really modeled after the original village style. Much rather have this experience than an "average" hotel room in the city.
Cons: The beds, while authentic in style, could be a little more "forgiving", as my shoulders and hips hurt after a few nights.
Location: Good location - not far from Heraklion (north central area of Crete). Easy highway access.
Love the feel of authenticity here - so picturesque! Staff are very helpful. The countryside views are stupendous day or night. Goats grazing nearby add to the peacefulness and quiet charm. Loved our large private terrace. This would be my 1st choice any time I come back to Crete.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Like Nowhere You Have Ever Stayed Before!

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Pros: The attention to detail by the people working here - and the tavern staff were great!
Cons: More hot water, please.
Location: There are ruins nearby, the town of Heraklion is close and it's near enough the airport to take you to any part of the island,
What a great and cool little hotel. Complete with a museum and all kinds of workshops - this little gem sits perched on top of a hill just outside of Heraklion and has incredible views of the surrounding countryside. Rooms are big and beautiful, mine even had a fireplace! The restaurant/tavern is huge and the service is great! It's not just the fact that you are at a hotel, but that this is a traditional Cretan village with all kinds of things to do - great for kids!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2015 on Hotels