Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Nj, USA

Beautiful hotel, beautiful staff

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: There was nothing I didn't like.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The location of this hotel is directly on a beautiful beach. There are plenty of things do nearby. Local cuisine and shopping are in walking distance
We loved every minute of our stay. We had an amazing view of the ocean and the hotel is right on the beach. The restaurants were wonderful and the staff were like dear friends. Our excursions were top notch with the most enjoyable tour guide .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location, but the hotel is tired & dated

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Breakfast was quite good, but that's about it, wifi was $10 USD per day and only available in the lobby and bar area. Too many rules it was like a Blackpool B & B. One local Trinidad gentleman arrived early and offered to pay extra to get a room but was told no ? This surprised me as the hotel occupancy was less than 50%. Overall, if you can accept it for what it is and sit on the beach all day it's ok
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

A beautiful tobago getaway

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Overall the facilities are beautiful and scenic. the private beach is a huge plus and ideal for quiet couple time or for a family with children. Lovely and clean swimming pool. Numerous areas to lounge around and enjoy the seascape. Breakfast was fantastic with great variety. The beds are comfortable and the ocean views are lovely. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean. Staff were very helpful, friendly and available when needed and its always nice to be greeted with a cocktail. The close proximity to dining areas and shops cant be beat. Its the perfect place for a weekend getaway especially for people who love the beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from TRINIDAD

GOOD ACCESS TO BEACH FOR CHILDREN

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: VERY CHILD FRIENDLY BEACH
Cons: THE FOOD OPTIONS ARE VERY LIMITED
Location: STORE BAY BEACH. ACCESS TO REEF BOATS AT STORE BAY, LOCAL SOUVENIR SHOPPING. FAIRLY CLOSE TO AIRPORT.
THE OCEAN LAGOON IS PERFECT FOR CHILDREN HOWEVER THE HOTEL ROOMS NEED TO UPDATE AND THERE SHOULD BE MORE FOOD OPTIONS. THE POOL ALSO NEEDS BETTER MAINTENANCE.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by Management & Staff at Coco Reef Resort & Spa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you felt our beach was safe and calm for your family. Our pool is serviced twice daily, we shall revisit this to ensure the highest quality.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Disappointed Patron

Posted Oct 12, 2016
This was my 4th time staying at Cocoreef, and I must say that the level of service and attention to detail and caring was sub par. I booked an Ocean View room thru Expedia, and was put in a garden view room, I asked to be moved and was moved to another room on the complete opposite side of the hotel, with an injured foot by the way, which I informed them of. This room had an Ocean view, however as I left the room for dinner the first evening, a HUGE cockroach crawled over my foot and into the room, we killed it then continued out and there was his big buddy roach right outside the door. We killed that one as well. After numerous calls to the front desk, they sent someone over at 10:30pm with roach spray. I also had to call about the air conditioning no working. Breakfast is served between 7am and 10am. I arrived at 9:30, and there was nothing left, and whatever was left did not even look appetizing. I then opened the container which had ham INFESTED with ants. I informed the staff and they just came looked, and did nothing, said nothing to us....just no care. Another extremely disappointing moment, was that the Managers had a cocktail hour, and not one of them said hello...welcomed us...or even came around to ask how the guests stay was...just NOTHING, they just stood in a line by the staircase. Beautiful place, however they really need to come together and engage with guests, pay attention to the detail, and provide the staff with some customer service training.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2016 by Management & Staff at Coco Reef Resort & Spa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for your negative experience and the decline in service standard you had experienced. We shall endeavor to improve and return our standards to the level that kept you returning on previous occasions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016
It was relaxing and pleasant. I really enjoyed the breakfast each morning and the on site snorkeling was fantastic. My only wish was that the service was a little more friendly. A few of the staff were very kind but many made me feel like I was a bother. But, overall I enjoyed myself and plan to return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by Management & Staff at Coco Reef Resort & Spa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Your comments will be forwarded to our management team. We look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southern Ontario, Canada

very nice hotel, on the beach. Great views.

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: location on the beach
Cons: ask the tour boat not to come so close to the shore - way too loud when passes by
Location: not sure what is to do nearby - we wanted to spend the weekend on the beach did see people come in from snorkeling/diving
beautiful, love Tobago! Hotel is older, but extremely well kept. Right on the beach, also has outdoor pool restaurant in hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by Management & Staff at Coco Reef Resort & Spa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed our property and the island of Tobago. Hope to see you again one day
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dingy towels , the dinner menu had very limited ch

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Dingy towels, dinner menu did not offer many choices, breakfast had nothing local. Ordered a cake for 350.TT dollars , after cutting the cake , I asked them to put the cake in a box. When they returned with the cake more than half of the cake was missing.Although I was not asked to pay for it I thought this was very unprofessional and my family was very disappointed . The hotel was worth the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Merritt Island, FL

Fine hotel on Beach near Airport

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: The hotel and island reminded me of the Caribbean I first visited in the seventies. Despite a public beach next door and short walk downtown, secluded
Cons: More local food options on the hotels menues
Location: Numerous shopping and dining options are within a 3 minute walk from the gate.
About five minutes from the airport, you enter the gated property and travel through a palm lined drive leading to the lobby, As you walk into the lobby you see the Caribbean open before you as you are greeted by the friendly and very helpful staff. The property has a private beach on a man made cove as well as a pool, In addition to the hotel restaurants, a short walk from the hotel provides numerous meal options downtown and next door at the popular Store Bay Public Beach there are numerous food stalls serving local favorites..
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by Management & Staff at Coco Reef Resort & Spa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are grateful that you enjoyed your stay and hope to accommodate you again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Hotel rooms are very much in need of some serious.

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Rooms are in very poor condition. Blown bulbs, broken and dirty tiles. The shower never worked properly, had to have maintenance come in twice to turn off the cold water in the shower. The faucet was in dire need of repair. Linen and drapes have been around for the last 14 years and showed the age and dirt. Requested a late check for two of the four rooms and was given a late check out at 1500. At 1300 we were being told that we must vacate the rooms. This was followed by continuous calls growing more aggressively with each ring. The long and short of it is that were we thrown out. The front desk staff were clearly clueless and incompetent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 24, 2016 by Management & Staff at Coco Reef Resort & Spa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback.