Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Frosty Day Clerk.

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Great location.
Cons: Train staff to be able to work with clientele.
Location: Close to the Port area and within walking distance of many restaurants.
After two weeks of delightful, outstanding helpfulness and genuine friendliness from virtually every Uruguayan, our last experience in Uruguay was not great. The day shift clerk was sullen and unwilling/unable to provide any information or assistance and no basic curteousy. Felt like we were interupting her the couple of times we spoke with her. Night clerk was better.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
The viewport is fantastic for the price. The location is great, you're close to all the main tourist attractions and if your taking the boat to Buenos Aires or the other way around the hotel is within walking distance of the port. The breakfast was great, the room is small but comfortable for two people. The front desk spoke limited English but were very helpful. I would stay here again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on CheapTickets
The hotel condition could be better, the rooms are smaller than appear.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and under budget

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
First time in Montevideo we took a chance on ViewPort because of its location, here is the breakdown: PROS: -Close to the port (5 min walk) -Close to restaurants and theatre (3-5 min walk) -Rooms are clean -They have a lovely roof top terrace -Continental breakfast is available -Service was okay. -Hotel has available tours leaving from their location. -Close to the Old City and monuments (5-8 min walk) -close to their Rambla (15 mins walk) CONS: -Washroom is small -Area is very quiet after a certain time, so be vigilante at night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Hotel is Close to Old Town and the City.

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Breakfast was excellent.
Cons: WiFi ON all the time must be improved.
Location: Old Town and other hotels, SODRE music and cultural events is just one block away. Shopping downtown.
A minor surprise was the lack of a table in the room the day of arrival, bur staff was very efficient in fixing the problem. Breakfast was excelente, one of the best in many hotels, varied and well supplied. A great point in favor of the hotel. One problem is the lack of parking at the hotel facilities, but street parking is possible. .
4 out of 5
by Seth from New York

Downtown Montevideo

Posted Feb 7, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is much better appointed than other hotels in this area, and is a great value for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty good

Posted Feb 5, 2016
This hotel was on a fantastic sale so we stayed 3 nights. The breakfast exceeded our expectations! The front desk staff were helpful. The cleaning staff were struggling. The hotel also seems to have a small issue with ants. Just little ants that don't really bother you but if they just cleaned up a little bit more the ants would surely go away. Overall great rooms and if hotel was on great sale again I would go back
4 out of 5
by elias from san diego ca

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
good place to stay near plaza independencia
3 out of 5
by Joshua from Oklahoma

Great except for the actual room

Posted Aug 6, 2015 on Hotels
I don't think it is really 3 star if you judge only by the room. The free breakfast was great. The hotel workers were also great. The wifi signal was terrible. Basically to check email and too slow for video streaming. The beds had no mattress covers, they used bed sheets so by the middle of the night half your bed is uncovered. Our toilet seat had only 1 side attached and we asked to get it fixed but it wasn't and the toilet flush button kept popping off and was also never fixed. The location is in old city so don't expect much night life. The only trash can was a tiny bathroom.
2 out of 5
by JEROME from New Jersey

Avoid this hotel if you can !

Posted Jul 6, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel doors are locked at night. One night when I returned late I was locked out for over an hour as there was no one at the front desk or doorman to let me in. UNACCEPTABLE ! I then eventually had to wake up a family member who had to come down from her room to the main door and even she could not open the door as it had been locked from the inside as well !