Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Location great, accommodation better. All in all, our stay was excellent. Use porter service if wagging the bag is too much, Water Taxi way too pricy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
Was a nice stay and friendly staff when you saw them. Room was clean and nice but air conditioning didn't work and made it very warm nights! Breakfast was really nice and staff were helpful. Was easy to find as I had phone maps and was a very quick walk to st marks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from wiltshire england

stayed here for 4 nights and loved it,

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: everything as above. but I guess the main thing is the location, very close to everything of interest.
Cons: just the air con unit, it should be able to be controlled inside the room.
Location: the rialto bridge is a few mins walk and so it st marks square, but everything around the area is beautiful, gondala station right outside the alley.
very close to everything, 5 mins walk from the rialto bridge and couple more to the st marks square, very quite hotel as its at the end of the alley, so no noise at all, room was beautiful and had a bath shower and all you need, my only fault was the air con unit was very loud at night it turns off and on every 10 mins which wakes you up and you cant control it, its on permently at night. no control switch anywhere, so when it kicks in it wakes you up. but apart from that it was fantastic, just take ear plugs and all will be well. breakfast was adequate with fresh orange juice, coffee and tea, cerial. or ham and cheese rolls etc, the lovely lady in charge will make fresh cuaisonts too. we filled up at breakfast so only bought sandwich or pizza in little shops down the alley for lunch. the bedrooms are on the top floor so lots of walking up stairs and the breakfast room is right outside the bedrooms which is odd but it works. really loved this so will definetly stay again. I give it 5 stars.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jiayi from China

Excellent place

Posted Jul 24, 2015 on Hotels
It was a great place to stay although it's a bit hard to find. Everything has been great, the environment, the breakfast, the room... However, there wasn't any people at the reception to help us figuring out the air conditioning while we were exhausted and tried to rest in the room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Very good location, good price

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: It's very close to St Mark's Square. Good situation
Cons: The service, at least reception service no less than 12 hours. The cleaner leaves about 14:00, from this time there is none to ask anything.
Location: St Mark's church is very close, Grand Canal and a couple of vaporetto points are very close too.
The hotel was ok, I mean, it wasn't expensive, so we didn't expect the Palace. They offer wifi free, but if you want to have connexion you have to go to another hotel. They don't have receptionist or reception service, the cleaner did our check in, no phone connected in the room, so if you have any issue, you can't call anybody. People is nice and friendly, but the facilities and service is very poor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Finland

Close to Arsenale :)

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Pros: The cleanliness, value for money
Cons: Staff training - guests are most often not interested in hearing loud personal phone calls (in plural) of the waitress (single) when waiting.
Location: Close to Biennale locations. Lots of shops and restaurants.
Nothing is far here, but when you walk all day and everywhere it's great to live central. Rooms are very clean and Breakfast is plenty, croissants fresh and warm and eggs always well cooled. You can expect your morning coffee to arrive instantly when you get noticed. WiFi had broken down during our visit unfortunately, but I didn't arrive here to work so it didn't matter. Excellent value for fit and younger traveller - there is some distance to carry your luggage if you arrive on vaporetto and stairs to climb to you room, so maybe not so suitable for elderly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brian from Niceville, FL

interesting to say the least

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: the antiquity of it.
Cons: the directions to and from.
Location: the whole city is alive and ancient. have a good sense of direction if traveling by foot or you might end up in a canal with no place to go.
after finally finding the place, we went to another location to check in and then got our keys. it is about a 15 minute walk from the nearest water taxi. if you are in a hurry, this is not the place for you to stay. after a flight of stairs we reached the top floor. the unit is basic as it is in a 1500 year old building. breakfast was ehh and there is no real rush or sense of urgency to get things out in a timely manner. everything here is on a different time frame. slow and slower. but hey, it is Venezia after all and shouldnt rush a good thing. It was interesting and exciting all at the same time.
3 out of 5
by Frances from London

A hard place to find!

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels
A very clean establishment, extremely hard to find with 3 maps online directing us to the incorrect location!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Should listed as a B&B.

Posted Oct 19, 2013
Pros: Listening to gondaliers signing as they passed your window was the only highlight!
Cons: Someone on reception. En-suites in all bedrooms would make it bearable.
Location: Location good. 5 minute walk to St Marks Square, Rialto and Doges Palace. Good evening suntrap in Formosa Square.
Room was big enough, but having no en-suite and having to walk through breakfast room in mornings to get to shower and toilets was pretty average. Beds were uncomfortable and hard, and you could hear room next door as walls are very thin!! Having to firstly find your hotel, and then be greeted by a sign to find another hotel to pick up your key was really frustrating, especially as there is a reception. You have to climb a fair amount of steps, and as we were not told where the lights were on our arrival to room, climbing the stairs in the dark was horrific!! One of the other guests showed us in the morning where the timer switch was. To be fair, the lady that does breakfast was very hospitable, and worked hard to keep everyone happy. Tip for anyone who does stay - take mosquito spray, as we were eaten alive in the night! Would not recommend this to any of our friends.