Ratings based on 363 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Cute place by the beach. Will definitely be back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Nice view, no privacy, really loud, no AC

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Location: Location was OK, about a 1/2 mile walk to the beach but nothing else is within walking distance and you have to drive 10 miles to anything else.
The view from the Inn was beautiful and there is a pretty quiet beach area about a half mile walk away. We booked this hotel so we could listen to the waves while we slept however sleep was not possible. We left our window open but while it overlooks the ocean, it is also where people walk by to get to their rooms adjacent to yours. So if you leave your window open, people continually walk by and look into your room. There were also incredibly loud birds that woke us up multiple times and the maintenance staff was really loud late into the night and started scrubbing concrete early in the morning. There are NO restaurants nearby except the one at the inn so we had to drive 10 miles to find anything else to eat. The room was small but clean...our refrigerator wouldn't shut all the way so it was useless. The shower was extremely small so it was impossible to even shave my legs. Overall, we would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oceanside, CA

Nice right on beach BUT can't access beach

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: We loved the attentiveness of the hotel staff..
Wonderful staff. No close-by shops or places to eat. YET they have their own restaurant and bar in the hotel that was outstanding. Customer service was great. There is no access to the beach from the hotel. The waves crash into a rock barrier. You cannot get to the beach even in low tide. The lovely sound of the waves crashing onto the rocks is soothing and the view is lovely. But if you are looking for a place to walk on the beach from the hotel, this is not the place. They do have a sidewalk boardwalk that runs between the freeway and the water.
4 out of 5
by Heather

Best View

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
Rooms are a little dated but Travis asked up for it.
4 out of 5
by Jeff from LA

Breath-taking views trumps all else

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
Whatever shortcomings the facility has (as you may have read already:old, no a/c, bathroom window looking into parking, sub-standard wi-fi), the view ocean-side is worth the booking! Pictures don't reflect the feeling you get enjoying a glass of wine (or coffee) just feet from waves crashing against rocks!
4 out of 5
by Mikael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 21, 2016
The Cliff House Inn has become a regular stop for us when we visit Santa Barbara. It has an intimate relationship with the ocean, and a great restaurant too!
3 out of 5
by Luis from Quebec

Posted Jun 17, 2016 on Hotels
The best it's the ocean view, Location, good restaurant but servers are not so helpful, room clean but it sims like a motel,small rooms
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio Texas

Restful sounds of nature..

Posted Jun 4, 2016 on Orbitz
Our stay at Cliff House Inn was EXCELLENT! Wish we would have been able to stay longer.. Food, staff, everything is equally grand.
4 out of 5
by James from Somerville, MA

Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
excellent breakfast for a Continental