Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ca

Beach front great view

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Little inconveniences; no disability access, on-off heater, but great restaurant and lication
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tehachapi ca

Beautiful setting right on the water

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Older but comfortable and very clean. Every room has a gorgeous view. Dining was excellent and the staff friendly and attentive. Will definitely be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntley, IL

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Location, pounding surf, beautiful sunsets, and nice owners
Cons: Inn needs a serious makeover. It's a little outdated. No hairdryers or irons in the rooms, but comfortable
Location: Location is off Pacific Coast Highway. Nothing to do nearby except enjoy the ocean views!
The Cliffhouse Inn is a wonderful place to stay. The sounds of the pounding surf was awesome! The sunset was incredible and lasted a long time. The owners of the Inn were pleasant and accommodating. Changed my room so I can see the ocean better. Nice breakfast and dinner in the restaurant. I even had my door open while I was in my room, I felt safe!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right in the beach. The views are excellent

Posted Dec 9, 2016
The only negative thing I could say is that the room could be updated a little
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

On the Edge

Posted Nov 28, 2016
If you want to hear the roaring sea this is the place. Your on the edge of the sea. Very relaxing and peaceful. Shoals Resturant is excellent. The lamp was perfect. Will come back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: The staff was curtiouss.
The pictures you see on the ads are not a true reflections his place. The rooms are uncomfortable, very shabby. The surf is pounding the rocks, and the freeway is directly behind, making it difficult to sleep. The surf is dangerous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Looooved the view!!!

Posted Nov 19, 2016
So relaxing! Everything is beautiful! Staff very friendly!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VN

A very very nice place to relax and enjoy the ocea

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: romantic dinner, food is great, waitress and waiter are very friendly. great service from the concierge to the staff
Cons: We have nothing to complaint. We are on our way to San Francisco, and we remember about the Cliff House Inn that we were in 199. So we decided to spend a night. because it is a beautiful place with the ocean, the sounds of the waves, the fresh air, the friendly staff and great food at the restaurant.
Location: coming from Orange County, Visiting Ojai and on the way to San Francisco
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely place to relax and dine.

Posted Oct 29, 2016
But hard to find due to exits on CA 101. Nice location, relaxing environment, decent restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Modest hotel in a beautiful, romantic setting

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Having wine, and eating dinner over the breakers, watching the sunset
Cons: We had to track down someone to request a hair dryer
Location: We used it as a base for our Channel Islands tour, about 15 minutes away along 101
This hotel is right on the coast, about 10 minutes north of Ventura. It is clean and comfortable, though showing its age. The restaurant there serves excellent meals both inside and outside overlooking the breakers.