Ratings based on 296 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small room - Advice for not europeans

Posted Aug 19, 2017
As you can imagine rooms in europe are very small, the room I chose had all the facilities and was very clean, staff was ok, the guy from the morning was very kind the girl in the night not so much but nothing you can't handle. Just keep in mind that this is europe and the room is really small
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Good if you really need a budget hotel

Posted Jun 13, 2017
Pros: clean, friendly and cheap
Location: need to walk for 20 minutes or so along steep streets to find anywhere to eat beyond the limited menu from the adjacent IBIS economy hotel
Once you learn how to get there by No 902 bus it is easy to get to (I would not like to have to drive there!). The hotel would be fine for partners but the rooms are too intimate and cramped for 2 people who need some privacy showering etc. the staff, room cleanliness etc are very good, but next time I would opt for the adjacent "economy" grade IBIS
2 out of 5
by Betty

Inexpensive no/frills hotel

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel room is very small and very basic. The towels are small and thin and you are not even provided a hand towel! There isn't a single cup or glass to have a drink of water. Unfortunately we were there for six days and we were only given two small bars of soap for the first four days. We needed to purchase a towel, shampoo, conditioner, soap and glasses. But the worst part is the lack of room to get around with suitcases and no place to put your deodorant, etc. the only place to sit is a cheap, plastic stool. Only stay here if your only concern is saving money on your hotel because it was inexpensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Cons: Maintenance. The air-con did not work in my room, and the automatically operated light in my toilet did no go off - irritating at night.
A taxi or bus ride out of Porto but cheap and clean. No bar, but the upmarket Ibis across the carpark has one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by John, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. John, Thank you for your coments and for taking time to write a review about your stay in hotel Íbis Budget Porto Gaia. We treat all of our comments seriously and will be dealt with accordingly. Our goal is to improve our services in order to get your satisfaction. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Lisete Afonso-Direction Assistant
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very clean and cost effective hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
2nd time staying here now, really like it. Only request would be a chair in the room as when you spend any time there sitting on the bed can become uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
by Steve from Plymouth

Ideal cost, ideal facilities

Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Hotels
Needed to accommodate 15 people for 1 night at a cheap rate and this was perfect. Solid and basic but very clean and quiet. Previous ratings give this hotel a big thumbs up and i agree. I also used the more update neighbouring IBIS hotel for eve meal and for a few drinks.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

A real budget, basic, and clean hotel.

Posted May 22, 2016
Pros: Clean, convenient, free parking, & free wi-fi (very slow). No charge for printing. Staff was helpful. Paid breakfast was basic but convenient.
Cons: Having a hairdryer & more electrical outlets in bathroom & bedroom or provide extension cords. Get rid off motion sensor in bathroom.
Location: Didn't have time to explore nearby area, but it is close to old Porto and port wine tasting area by bus or taxi since it is quite a distance to walk.
Check in & out were easy. The room is very clean but small, has a stool & tiny table with lots of floor space. Bathroom is big with shower only (our request) & a folding chair. It looks like a hospital bathroom. It has no electrical outlet or a hair dryer. Bathroom light is on motion sensor. It will turn off after 2 minutes if it detects no big motion. Our room is a wheelchair accessible room. The biggest problem is that there is only one electrical outlet in the room plus one that is used for the tv. We had to unplug the tv to use the outlet & somehow tied our device to the tv cable to charge our device. There is a long mirror in the room but far away from any outlet. We asked why there was no outlet in the bathroom; we were told because the room is for wheelchair accessible. We told the staff that a person on wheelchair also needs to or can dry her hair, the staff just shrugged his shoulder. We asked for an extention cord, the hotel had none and we were offered adaptors which we didn't need. Staff was helpful but spoke very basic English. So, it was difficult to ask detail questions or explanations. Beds were comfortable but small, smaller than twin size. Wi-fi was very slow. Computer in the lobby was only in Portuguese; even the staff could not make it in English or any other language. It was frustrating to use. After an hour I decided to send e-mails from my tablet to the hotel in order to get what I needed printed instead printing it myself using the lobby computer.
5 out of 5
by Mateusz from Warsaw

Posted Jan 31, 2016 on Hotels
I really loved my stay at this hotel! I definitely would give it more than just a star. Everything was perfect, beginning from the room, through bathroom and breakfast. The staff were really helpful and smiley. The location is great if you have your own car or you don't mind moving by bus. During my next visit to Porto/Gaia, I will choose this hotel again for sure!