Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice stay for family trip!

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
Moondance Hotel is a nice place to explore the beatiful Yangshuo mountain. Our room has a big balcony, My child love this place a lot.The staff is very friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the hotel and it was delectable.
1 out of 5
by charles from San Diego, CA

Hotel had cold water shower

Posted Jan 29, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was professionally decorated. Really nice taste. Staff was friendly. Food at hotel was pretty good and prices were fair. The deal killer for me was about half the time the water ran cold for the shower. This made an otherwise nice place uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
by john from France

Great quiet location with easy access to Yangshuo

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely relaxed hotel. Very friendly staff and great quiet location. Roland the owner was very helpful as were all the staff. The only negative point was that the evening meal that we had at the hotel was a bit average and the meat was a little tough. Breakfats were good however and drinks reasonably priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Great place to stay

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Pros: In short we liked everything about the hotel.
Cons: Google Map is off one street. The hotel is actually one turn closer to town than it shows up on Google map.
Location: Location outside of town so very quite. Hotel has free bikes and you can bike anywhere, including to Moon hill and to town.
Nice quiet hotel about 3 miles from town. Really large quite rooms. Amazingly beautiful area around hotel. Good breakfast. Staff spoke better English than any of the hotels we stayed at in China. We cannot say enough good things about the hotel and staff. They helped us arrange a river cruise, show tickets, and taxi to Guilin. All were done to our satisfaction and a more than fair price.
5 out of 5
by Keith from Shanghai via USA

Perfect mix of comfort convenience and hospitality

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
Perfect place for immersing yourself in Yangshuo's natural scenery, avoiding the tour-bus crowds and keeping logistics/planning to a minimum. Ryan (especially) and the moondance staff were super friendly/knowledgeable and helpful. The hotel is conveniently located near Moon hill, mud caves and a good starting/ending point for the Yulong River cruises/biking. I'm sure there was more around to do, but that was all we had time to do. Also to note, food options nearby seemed relatively limited, but this was totally made up for by the hotel's kitchen constantly pumping out delicious Yangshuo favorites.
3 out of 5
by Amit from Bridgeville, PA

OK but not really worth the money.

Posted Sep 2, 2015 on Hotels
Everybody at the hotel was very nice and really tried to help and make the stay as nice as possible. My only issue was what we got for the price. Our "unforgettable" room was priced at 980 RMB per night. Granted it was a 2 bedroom suite but there was still only 1 bathroom and the room probably was at best a 3 star room. Overall it was nice, but not worth the money. Our bathroom had a very large spider that the staff was unable to actually get rid of as it went into a pipe. I was somewhat nervous the rest of the stay that it would come back out! The food was ok and overpriced as well. Location is out of the way and 15 minutes to downtown. Pool is not very well maintained as lots of cobwebs around it, but my kids didn't care. They did enjoy it after hot days outside.
4 out of 5
by Mukesh from England

A week at the Moondance

Posted Aug 14, 2015 on Hotels
2 Adults and 2 teenagers spent a very pleasant week here in August enjoying cycling through the karst countryside. Staff especially the manager (Ryan) are particularly helpful. Pool is small but very welcome, rooms are comfortable and menu is adequate. Would recommend.
4 out of 5
by Debra from New York

Good hotel right outside of the city

Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
This is a nice hotel right outside of the city. It is quiet and they have a nice pool. There are bikes that you can use free of charge.
4 out of 5
by harish from mumbai

excellent location and rooms were good.

Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
excellent
4 out of 5
by Toni from Hamilton

Would stay here again - especially for relaxation

Posted May 19, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent small hotel. Great helpful staff with good English & if they can't understand you they quickly find someone that can. Yes there was mould on bathroom ceiling but did I mind - no. This was a well priced hotel with a nice relaxing atmosphere in a humid environment. I would recommend it to people wanting to get away from it all. Good food at hotel didn't miss being in town at all.