Ratings based on 688 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Pleasant hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Large room and beautiful products to use. Supplied slippers and one gown which were very useful.
Cons: Not much attention paid to the cleaning, a couple of shelves a little dusty plus tissues, coffee and milk not replenished.
Location: Location was good, fairly close to tram stops but also walkable to town centre. We enjoyed the trip to Felseneg cable car and walks in the area.
Just outside the town, a short tram ride or walk. Staff were pleasant, we found the younger staff at breakfast more attentive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Quite far from the center of town.

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: The staff and the breakfast.
Cons: Have a second pillow in the room in case the guest would like one; this is the first hotel I've been in where there wasn't a second pillow.
Location: Location was not at all near the town center.
The staff at this hotel were very nice and couldn't be more helpful. And the breakfast was quite good; there was a big choice of breads, jams, fruit etc. However, the hotel was quite far from the center of town and very far from the train station, and if you've got a fair bit of luggage, the nearest tram stop isn't that close either. The hotel provided only one pillow and the light by the bed was not bright enough to read. One morning that I was there, it was only about 8am and cleaner entered my room without even knocking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quebec, QC

Quiet hotel not far from city center

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Cons: The furniture will need an upgrade soon.
Excellent breakfast and very quiet (there was a building construction site just next to the hotel but I was surprised how quiet the room was when I closed the window). The only down side was that there is no air conditioning in the rooms.
4 out of 5
by John

4 nights in Zurich

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed here as it was a reasonable price. the disappointing thing was that the lift did not have any buttons just a flat touch plate. as my wife is totally blind she was not able to use this on her own as she could not find any way of finding her floor. the food at breakfast was good and the service was friendly. the rooms had plenty of shelf space however it badly needs air conditioning in the summer months. the location was good 10-15 walk from the city centre. transport again was good there being a direct tram to and from the airport from a stop 5 to 10 minutes walk away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location and friendly staff

Posted Jul 17, 2017
This hotel is very easy to get to as well it was quite comfy . However the name is misleading as it should be just Platanoff instead of Design Hotel Platanoff, all around the signs ONLY say Hotel Platanoff NOT Design hotel, which can be misleading for cabs , the reception staff helped us to plan our trips around Zurich and also helped us choosing DVD of which they have a nice little selection, the breaskfast buffet was good and comprised of local delicacies , the cappuccino prepared by the breakfast staff was one of the best
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Nice hotel 10 min walk to Old Town

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Clean, minimalistic design, walkable to tourist destinations, good breakfast.
Cons: Install a ledge on the bathroom shower floor to prevent water overflowing into the main bathroom floor.
Location: Old Town, ETH Zurich, Grossmunster, Fraumunster, etc.
My husband had a conference at ETH Zurich and wanted to stay within walking distance to the university, so Hotel Plattenhof was one of the few choices nearby. We were drawn by the modern design aesthetic of the rooms, and the photos did not disappoint. The rooms were very thoughtfully designed so they feel a lot roomier than they actually are. The hotel staff all are multi-lingual, which is a plus as I spoke no German beyond "guten tag". The breakfast buffet was so delicious, and the staff will make you coffee of your choice. The hotel is tucked on a quiet street, however, it is a block away from the hospital, so you might hear ambulance sirens in the middle of the night. The hotel is within 10-minute walking distance to Old Town (Altstadt), and 20-minute walk to the Zurich HB. There is a meat shop and a convenience store around the corner, which is nice since the large supermarkets (Coop and Migros) are about a 15-minute walk. There is also a tram stop 2 blocks from the hotel that will take you directly to the Zurich Airport, which is super convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Macau

Friendly staff

Posted May 16, 2017
Staff was friendly and welcoming during check in. Room was well designed with a nice little balcony. Located in a tranquil university area, yet if you know the way, the old town and the central are both within walking distance.
5 out of 5
by Sofia

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Everything is lovely except the pillows!!! Breakfast is great, staff is super friendly. Room is spacious.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Dennis

Superb

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing location and very friendly staff. Would definitely recommended or stay again.