Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Labor Day Weekend- Full hotel- that was expected-

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Indoor/Outdoor pool has always been nice .There is also another nice pool in the Atrium. The brunch on Sunday is also good however expensive for kids.
Cons: The property needs to be repaired especially the patio doors and exterior of the golf wings.
Location: Shopping near by. Paddle boat rides on the Fox river and a mini golf course in driving distance. Many fast food choices near by.
We have been to this resort a number of times, this visit was disappointing. I repeatedly needed to ask that towels be replenished by the pool regardless of the time of day (pools are open from 6am-midnight).Housekeeping brought towels out about 10 at a time even though there were 50 guests at any given time in the pool. At one point an engineer yelled for everyone to vacate the pool or he would call security as the water pressure had dropped , that could have been handled much better. My daughter was given a room with her family that had a wasp infestation all around the patio (several insects got into the room and had to be killed there). The screen door had no lock and was off the tracks in both rooms. She was moved to a different room but not until 5pm on the second day and then the toilet did not flush. Her neighbor in the adjacent room woke up covered in ants!!! As we booked through Expedia we were offered NO compensation. Not even a free drink! Some of the staff mentioned it was under new ownership and they expressed many were leaving. Sorry this visit was not what I expected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Il.

Pheasant Run

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: They have so much to do there.
Cons: They really need to put up a sign on Main Street to show you were you can enter.Updating needs to be done in many areas of the hotel.
Location: Many restaurants, movie theater, shopping.
The first room we had was in the Courtyard C wing and the pool that was right near the room was closed so we had to walk to the other end of the hotel to go to the indoor/outdoor pool. Quite the hike to go swimming. The first room was small, the TV didn't really work, the blow dryer didn't work, and the bathroom was small. The room had a musky smell. When I spoke to the front desk the next more and expressed my unhappiness with the room they were quick to move us to a room not only closer to the pool but nicer and with a fridge. I also had to rent a fridge in the first room because of my son's special food needs and when I inquired about the charge they did not charge me at all. All and all it was a very nice place to get away too and would definitely go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Unpleasant

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Get to hotel was assigned a room. Get to room someone else already occupying the room. Get to knew room which is even further holes in wall hair on bathroom floor lamp was broken door don't stay open where microwave is bathroom doesn't have an exhaust fan that works laundry stayed outside are door all night in a laundry cart full and dirty
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The biggest problem was that it was too cold.

Posted Jul 17, 2014
I was at conference here. I liked the cute little bourbon street and the staff was friendly and polite but the place was kept so cold. Many people were complaining but nothing was done about it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Posted Jun 30, 2014
It was a great place to get away from the big city for the weekend. The staff was great, the room and accomodations were perfect. Super close to the Cascade drive-in for a movie night. Would definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old hote

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Needs updating. Room smelled humid. Room was suppose to have bottles water provided and was discontinued 6 months ago yet still as part of the amenities the hotel said room and (golf ) was in parenthesis I was under the impression golf was included. It should say (golf view). It was misleading. Tub and sink had rust so I passed on taking a bath. Ok but price is too high.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Resort? Only on certain days.

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: The pool was acceptable, but unremarkable. It did look like the golf course was open and being used, so perhaps this would be a good place to golf.
Cons: Service, first and foremost. Second, it should be made clear to potential guests that the amenities are not available most of the time.
Location: Location was good with nearby parks, stores, and restaurants.
This hotel was clean but outdated. The biggest disappointment was that nothing shown on the website was open. So you pay a "resort fee" for a pool and exercise room. Nothing you don't get for free at almost every hotel. The cute shops, New Orleans experience, restaurants, etc., all so fervently advertised were closed. When we checked in, the clerk sent us to an adjoining building without telling us that there was no elevator. So we had to carry our bags up stairs to our room. The room was boring and frill-free, like the rest of the hotel. Our room overlooked a large dumpster. I talked to the manager about my concerns and she was unhelpful and snide.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Grimmgirl from Ky

Don't book in courtyard rooms

Posted Jun 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
I understand you get what you pay for, but even at our great rate we were very surprised at the poor condition of the courtyard room we booked. The room was terribly musty and old smelling and the carpet was very stained. It was not the kind of room one would expect from a resort. We needed to stay for 5 days and it would have been impossible in that room. We complained before we unpacked and were moved to the tower area. These rooms are completely remodeled and brand new. Stay in one of these. We feel the hotel should not offer the old rooms until they, too, have been remodeled. The difference was night and day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smelled like smoke

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Nonsmoking rooms
Location: n/a
Room was a bit shabby and smelled strongly of smoke.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com