Ratings based on 326 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Chicago suburb - just a train away from downtown

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: I liked having everything in one place - golf course, restaurants, pool, gym.
Cons: Perhaps a wider range of choices on the room service menu - what I choose was good but limited.
Location: Spent the day in Geneva - a very nice downtown with shopping and plenty of restaurants - fifteen minutes away.
A great front desk - super staff all around. Played golf twice on the resort course. I enjoyed being out of the city but having Chicago nearby and easily accessible. Shuttle to and from the train depot.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

HOTEL DEAD AND NEEDS REMODELING

Posted Jul 29, 2015
This hotel is showing signs of age. Musty smell and carpets need replacing. The hotel boasts many restaurants and bars, but only had one open at a time. The bar by the golf course closed at 5pm!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

All-in-One Family Stay

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: the excitement the boys had exploring and utilizing what the resort had to offer.
Cons: Arcade marginal; range of games for different ages. fewer games of chance so tokens and enjoyment can last longer
Location: We did not explore the immediate area. Downtown Chicago is about an hour - 1.5 drive, if you so desire. Much to do there!
My mother and I took my two youngest nephews (her grandsons) for an overnight stay. We arrived on a Friday afternoon and attended the live musical, "Beauty and the Beast, Jr", the following morning. There was a magician and caricaturist in the Bourbon Street area and I was told by the artist that they are there every Friday evening. they we personable and my nephews- and other children of various ages, and even the adults- were held rapt by the magician. The older nephew thought his caricature looked just like him. The boys and I spent several hours in the hotel indoor/outdoor pool after checking in. and wandered the facility so that the boys could see the different restaurants and choose where to dine. After the show we had a light lunch, some ice cream, and played a few video games in the arcade; all the places were in the Bourbon Street area. We were asked by the older boy, "Why are we staying only 1 night?"
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

worn out

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Cons: fire the security
Location: stay at Hotel Baker
I stayed here last night & was really put off by the condition of the place. That would have been OK as it is an older place now had it not been for the rude security. I got in late and was watching TV...The TV was up a bit loud as I am hard of hearing and wear hearing aids. I fell asleep w/the TV on...my room phone rang once and woke me when I answered no one was there....a minute later my door opens and there is a man standing there. I am trying to lower the volume on the TV to hear what he is saying & he starts yelling a me that there were noise complaints. I told him that gives him no right to walk in my room in the middle of the night & to get out....He said next time he would bring the cops.....I am not some kid, I am a 52 year old professional and did not expect to be treated like this. My company holds it's Christmas party in the area every year and we often have the employees spend the night there. Never again. We will stay at Hotel Baker in town from here on.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Cons: Bigger rooms! They also need micro fridges in rooms.
Location: Drive inn movie, mall, stores, restaurants, zoo, parks, river, plenty of fireworks, etc... Great for romantic or family outings.
Okay for the price. Low rates, so don't expect anything above mediocre. Small rooms with no micro-fridges was the only disappointing attributes. Pools, spa, and activities were excellent though!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

A good getaway for the money

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: The entertainment and the pool enjoyment possibilities.
Cons: Pool access by non-paying guests.
Location: Theater and comedy club with great Louisiana style restaurant all on the premises.
A good getaway for the money but sometimes a little overcrowded and under staffed. The 4th of July weekend brought many guests to the PR Resort. The under staffed resort for the busy weekend had no towels for their three pools and dirty hallways. A better system of checking who is staying and who is visiting to use the pool will only improve service for those that are actually paying for a room. The guest would come out early to the pool mark off their chairs and take numerous towels mostly for non-guests; neighbors, family, friends, and other non-paying guests. You can see many people coming from their cars with their whole family already in their swimsuits headed to the pool to meet hotel guests. There should be a limit because there are paying guests that don;t invite their neighbors and their moms. A better system of pool and guest management is needed. Paying guests should come first.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Give it a 4 out of 5

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Need updated TV with all the money they make. Was disappointed I booked with debit card and couldnt pay in cash. So I lost my special for $70 and had to pay $150
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IL

Outdated but still fun

Posted Jul 6, 2015
The hotel is a bit outdated. "Bourbon street" could use more activities. The arcade barely had any games and 2 or 3 weren't working. The cranes games didn't give you a chance to win anything. It would be nice if there were more free activities to do indoors. The pool area was awesome- definitely was packed on the weekend so get there early to get a spot. I wanted to try to Jazz Brunch but it was $30 a person, too pricey! This is a cool mini getaway for older people or kids. Not much for 33 year olds like me.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Il.

Fun at pheasant run.

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: Shops, pool, restaurants.
Cons: There was an order in the room. Improve on the room smell.
Location: Good location and three was enough to do at the resort.
Great experience, comfortable bed. I enjoyed the whole atmosphere of the resort. Good ice cream shop.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2015
The golf course was beautiful but they need to invest some money to upgrade some really old facilities as far as the rooms go.