Ratings based on 263 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bath

Good location

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Great location for exploring the Keys. Rooms a little bit tired and need of updating, but comfortable, spacious and clean. Fridge, microwave and coffee pot provided - individual coffee pod/filterwould have been appreciated (as provided in many hotels). Pool area fabulous, perfect for watching the sun set over the Gulf of Mexico. Daughters really enjoyed their snorkelling trip which was run by the resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, quaint motel.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Good value for what you pay for. No frills, but clean and close to the water. Nice staff. Not sure why others report negative service. We were treated very well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jupiter Fl

You go to Amoray to dive or snorkel

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Almost everything. See my review
Cons: Parking was in short supply.
Location: Lots of cool restaurants and shops.
You go to Amoray to dive or snorkel. If you go there for that purpose, you will not be disappointed. The staff of the hotel were polite and helpful, the dive staff were very knowledgeable and safety focused and the grounds were very cool. The sunsets are amazing from the back of the property. I would go back in a second. Capt Mike knows his stuff. I've been to places that were nice but the dive stuff was not as seasoned. All the staff are dive instructors that are involved in the diving aspect of the resort. they are all very knowledgeable and were always there for questions. I'd go back again in a second. Jimmy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great Scuba Diving Resort

Posted Aug 10, 2014
We arrived to a very warm and welcoming staff. Our schedule was all set and we quickly settled into our rooms. Next morning scuba refresher in the pool right next to our room, and on the dive boat adjacent to our building for the afternoon dive. Everything immediately situated and well attended. Hotel centrally located in Key Largo, with lots to do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Palm Coast Florida

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Love the place other than a few minor quirks that could be addressed.
Cons: Charging $20.00 a night additional for families with children over the age of eleven doesn't seem fair, and raising the rates for weekend. not good.
Location: Love the location and charm of the resort, snorkeling right out front of the resort was a blast.
Great place to stay!!! lay out of the resort, the pool, just a charming place to stay. We will be back.....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Livingston MT

Nice location.

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: I really like all they had to offer (the snorkeling and scuba diving) and the location was excellent. The rooms were a nice size
Cons: Get some LCD TV's and some better mattresses. The economy room (6H) needs some improvement work.
Location: snorkeling, scuba diving, BBQing, the beach, and some authentic Cuban food (Denny's) down the road next to the liquor store
I really enjoyed my stay. They had a boat that went out twice a day for snorkeling and scuba diving plus scuba diving certifications plus night diving. We paid less than a hundred dollars for me and my husband and they took us to two different locations for a total of 4hrs. The staff was super nice and accommodating. even when I got sea sick. We went out on a smaller ship with probably 10 people total which is small in comparison to other of the big companies so more individual attention. If you can stay during the week or off season you can get a way better rate. The location is great you can go right to the beach from the room and take a swim if you want or just watch the sunset and they had a little grill you could grill if you want.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as nice as it used to be

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Location on the bay.
Cons: Upgrade a bit, make sure you have sufficient kitchen items and utensils that a group of 4 can cook on their own.
Location: John Penekamp State Park was nice, some local restaurants were good. Diving with the Penekamp group was great.
We had stayed here 2 years ago in a small apartment and liked the place a lot. This time we stayed, it was more rundown and just not as nice as before. The reason we picked an apartment was so we could do some cooking but there were so few kitchen items and the condition of what was there was pitiful. So disappointing. This was our last time at this resort unfortunately.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Canada

worth expectations

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Location is good and excursions are worth the money.
Cons: rooms & kitchen supplies need lots of improvements. Activities need much more creativity & tourist info is severely lacking.
Location: Theater by the Sea on Islamorada is great for families & smaller children. Proximity to restaurants and groceries is good. Kyak excursions sucks.
nice hotel. good pool. clean facility. great for divers or snorkelers for people who are NOT 1st visitors to the keys. Very little advise , suggestions or guidance are available or offered. Dive & snorkelling excursions are well managed and safely conducted to knowledgeable dive spots. Reefs & spots well worth diving. Rooms & apartments need some dishes & utensils more available. Website needs work to avoid surprises and set up better expectations. But worth the money and locations is good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Definitely for divers, by divers

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Our upstairs room was large and light with windows on three sides. The staff was cordial, but lacked that air of welcome I expect from a hotel called a "Resort." Coffee by the bay would be lovely, but the coffee was poor quality, so we usually opted to go into town for Cuban coffee. In general, I would recommend this place for people who want to go diving and have some experience, but, with a hefty nightly surcharge for both of our children to sleep in our room in the beds already provided, I would definitely not recommend this place for non-diving families.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples, FL

Nice basic hotel room.

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Nice basic hotel room. Nothing fancy, but clean and cute. Convenient to Pennekamp State Park and several restaurants. Had a minor issue with the room's plumbing, but staff were attentive and accommodating.