Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
32% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, Canada

Dated hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: all could be improved
Avoid Friday nights. Loud bad screaming all evening. Could not even watch TV in the room. I cannot see any sign of improvement since the 1970.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: comfortable beds
Cons: The plumbing was poor. The bathroom needs help, in general!
Very pricey, considering the shoddy conditions. Loud at night. Breakfast was weak. Staff not very attentive or helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

Hotel is disgusting!

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: location of tiki bar
Cons: Everything!!!!! The entire hotel needs a makeover and for what they charge for rooms I'm not sure where the money is going!
The only thing nice about this place is the location by the tiki bar. The hotel room is in dire need of a makeover. Missing tiles in bathroom, dirty rooms and our window on 2nd floor didn't have a curtain so they taped cardboard over the window. I would not stay here again or reccommend this hotel to anyone! Very overpriced for condition of room!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom South FL

Key Largo Hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Over priced!! No dresser or closet to put clothes, tiny shower, one towel, had to park too far away. Over Priced!! Staff was nice and the room was clean. Over Priced!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: NOTHIING - THE AREA IS NICE AFTER A COMPLETE REMODELING
Cons: EVERYTHING
very old facilities, bathroom floor peeling, furniture broken, whole at the ceiling, bugs, very old tv, dirty curtains, rusty shower door. The worse experience I have ever had in my life.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Rooms need a lot of upgrade,especially the bathrooms..
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal, Canada

Attrocious Toilet in Room 210 of Gilbert Resort,FL

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: The location and restaurant,pool,bar, beach etc seemed quite acceptable but in fairness we did not hang around long enough to make a fair comment...
Cons: They need to stop renting at least room 210 and renovate it !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Location: We did not stay long enough to make appropriate comments
The toilet of room 210 at the Gilbert Resort ,Key Largo,FL was attrocious. The floor was continously wet due to dripping shower head along with paint peeling off approx 40% of the wall ceramic tiles (if you could even imagine someone would have ever painted them to begin with.They were black to begin with and painted over as white).The same with the soap holders at the hand sink cabinet. I have never seen UNSANITARY conditions of that nature anywherelse that I have stayed and at our rate/night it's truly shameful that management is even allowed by the STATE to rent such a room to the public at any price.They needed to renovate this room and I suspect probably others more than 10 years ago.They give the KEYS a bad name...the only saving grace is the actual location of the hotel otherwise unless the EXPEDIA staff actually carries out a surprise inspection to this facility, I personally do not recommend this hotel to anyone after our stay & if it wasn't because we had not inspected the room after we had just checked in because we had to meet some friends on Islamorada we did not have time to do what I normally do and inspect the room and accept it or reject it on the spot (shame on me for this failure as a guest) but since we had paid for the night and certain min stds are normally respected & we weren't in a third world country, we took a chance & came back only after midnight to sleep and checked out at 6:30AM before staff was on duty to request a refund or other!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Authentic and clean!! Love the huge tiki bar!!

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Enjoyed our stay! Clean. Good staff and service. Food was good too. Just needs updating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Missouri

Nice view out back door to water front.

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: view off back deck to water, easy access to tiki Bar & beach.
Cons: Building needs updated and painted, Need access to BQ grill to cook outside. Some staff acted to busy to help us.
Location: Went to PennKemp state park to BQ & take boat ride.
nice view off back porch to dock & water. Beach was nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Guildford UK

Old and run down but cheap and has a little beach.

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: Cheap; would recommend to a cheap friend, or to a snob I wanted to upset.
Cons: Everything
Location: Key Largo - either you like it or you don't; I like it.
Look, it was very cheap and basic and old and run down but clean and the people friendly. If you want the Ritz, go there.