Ratings based on 155 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by GrossedOut

Would never stay there again.

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Either clean it or drop the rate so that it fits with what people expect.
Have to pay extra for a nonsmoking room yet the whole hallway smelled like an ashtray. Room had a disgusting stench of cooked food baked into the walls and carpet. Mold around the bathtub faucet and drain made me worry that the tub had not been cleaned in a while. In general, the room and bathroom just felt dirty. Not worth the price!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are very sorry that your room did not meet your expectations. We will be discussing this with our team to make sure that all of our rooms meet and exceed our hotel standards. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We hope that you will consider giving us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
3 out of 5
by James

Beware of Hidden Fees

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Clean.
Cons: Provide standard Internet free to all guests.
Location: There are only a handful of restaurants and one movie theatre within walking distance, but there are adequate sidewalks and crosswalks to get to them.
Clean room, but no room service. If you need anything, you need to go to the front desk and request it, which is no big deal until you walk to the counter when there is a line of check-in guests and have to ask for more toilet paper. They were pretty stingy with towels as well, typically giving me half of what I asked for and making me come down the next day for more. The BIGGEST problem is the Wi-Fi. Yes, they have free internet, but it's throttled to dial-up speeds. To get access to faster internet requires paying up to $11/day. This is just to reach normal hotel speeds. To me, who was there on business, this was a necessity. When hotels claim to have free internet, there is a certain expectation of broadband. This was simply deceitful advertising in my book. Otherwise, good room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2014
James - I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I am happy to read you found our hotel clean. However, I am very sorry that you found our Wi-Fi speeds to be too slow. In response to your feedback, I am passing on your comments to our corporate office. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better stay in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Better than average, great for pets

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: The beds are soft and I love being able to keep my animals with me.
Cons: The restrictive access to soap and shampoo (I have long hair and had two other females with me and was only given one tiny shampoo sample.
Location: The James river has plenty of fun things, not far from downtown with lots of touristy entertainment, snow mountain and putt-putt.
I was pleased to find a place that would take my family; dog, cat and all. We had a pleasant stay in the foam top mattresses. I would stay again, here or another location. The breakfast was oatmeal, apple, orange or muffin with coffee - leaving something to be desired. The "pet area" needed to be tended but my dog didn't seem to mind.
3 out of 5
by John from Tx

Extended Stay, Lynchburg Va.

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Location to University.
Cons: Cable, WIFI full access, maid service, breakfast menu.
Location: I was there on business. Alot to do with the University and the town is a neat place to visit.
The room is over priced. I paid alot for five nights, and I got a room with a bed, a bath room, and a kitchenette. I was very surprised to get into the room and have only minimum cable, not a big deal but still every motel in America supplies descent cable. I then go to use the WIFI and discover to be able to skype with my family I have to pay an extra fee for an upgrade. There is no maid service, they come in only once per-week do cleaning and do not wash dishes. So, the guest has to exchange linens and towels if they would like fresh ones. Breakfast was instant oatmeal, a peace of fruit, or a pre-wrapped muffin. I've traveled extensively and will never recommend this chain to anyone. When I pay, over 100.00 per day to stay in a place I expect amenities that I would get in an descent place, at the very minimum. Not, a place I will stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Larry from PA

Niced hotel near event.

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: Nice room.
Location: Great location for the event I was attending.
I was late booking previous hotel and thought I would have to drive several miles to my event, but your agent made it possible to locate me just down the street. Great job!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2014
Larry – I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I’m so pleased to hear that we were able to provide you with an enjoyable visit. I’m glad that our location was convenient to your travel needs. Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
2 out of 5
by r from johnson

disappointing

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Cons: Cleanliness and better trained staff
I have the opportunity to travel extensively with my job and therefore stay in quite a few hotels. This was by far the worse experience I have had. The room look as if it was cleaned by children, the staff was not helpful at all. I would never stay at this facility again, nor would I recommend it to anyone else...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Natalie from central pennsylvania

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2013
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Would Not Stay Again

Posted Nov 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was noisy being right next to the highway even though I requested a room on the other side so I could work in quiet. The bathroom fixtures had mold around them and the carpet was stained badly. The "breakfast" consisted of some questionable apples. some fruit bars and coffee. Not what I consider a "continental breakfast." This was the first time I stayed here and will be the last. The Sleep In and University Inn were much better, had a better breakfast and better rooms. The extra few dollars is worth it.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Jill Milligan from Lynchburg, VA

Stay at Extended Stay Lynchburg

Posted Nov 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Truly I would never stay there again. The hotel is not kept up. This is very noticeable from the time you walk in the door, to getting on the elevator, to walking in the halls to being in your room. The floors are dirty, the windows have a film on them. The complimentary breakfast is hosted on a small table in the lobby and you actually have to stoop down to see what is available on the shelves of the table.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Kevin from Atlanta, GA

Not worth the money

Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
No hair dryer or toiletries.