Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Antioch Ca

Excellent people

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Very nice experience and good food, but you need to fix a few things in your building, like the sound system quality, wi-Fi and touch up on your building, over all it's good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Hotel needs an upgrade to stay competitive.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The Staff was very nice and made us feel at home.
Cons: The food and the furniture in the lobby must improve.
Location: Everything was 15 minutes away from the tours to the airport.
The hotel is older and needs upgrades to the bathrooms and the furniture in the lobby. The staff on the other hand was very pleasant and nice. The food choices were average to below average at best and needed more choices. We had the same food choices night after night with little variety. The morning view from my hotel room was amazing and the entertainment was pretty good. Overall I give the hotel a C- but the staff an A for making us feel welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rose from Vancouver Island, BC, Canada

Very Friendly Staff, Lots of Activities

Posted Apr 7, 2014
This was my 3rd stay at Friendly Vallarta. The staff is so friendly and a number of them welcomed me back. They have lots of activities I enjoyed...water exercise, Spanish lessons, dance lessons. Love dancing on the beach and had excellent massages in their spa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan from Alberta, Canada

Average accommodations, but was close to beach.

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Staff were always to offer service.
Cons: hotel could be updated, rooms and furniture, beds and pillows very hard.
Location: Old town retaurants, bars, and shopping was great. There is lots to do if you want to venture off the resort.
Staff was great! Facilities are old and outdated. Food was average.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Neal from Bay Area, CA

Great group stay

Posted Mar 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
We came on a guys' volleyball trip and were not disappointed. The staff was very attentive, with definitely a big shout-out to Gustavo and Ozy, who helped us at the volleyball court during our tournaments. The only complaint I would see is the standard dinner. They do have a gourmet restaurant for which you need reservations and we didn't try (but heard was good). But the standard dinner seemed a little too cafeteria-ish. They could improve it by doing a nice buffet or sit-down. Otherwise, all was good and we had a fun time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff that was willing to help you.
Cons: Provide wash cloths in the bathrooms for showers
Close to the beach. Quick ride to down town shopping. There were a lot of small children while we were there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shirley from Prince George, BC

Older hotel with wonderful people to help you.

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: Food
Cons: The evening Mexican Fiesta had a horse dancing to the rider singing way too many songs and frothing from the harness. It was disgusting!
Location: Just did laundry.
Great food everywhere you turned. Staff were wonderful and beach was nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel and great beach view

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: hotel is very close to beach and the staff are very helpful setting up chairs and umbrellas
Cons: it is an old building and would have been nice to have chocolate and coconut ice cream
Location: lots of actives at the hotel and you can also visit there tourism booth for more
this is our second time there, the staff is wonderful and by the time you leave they have gotten to know you. Buffet food is good but does have many of the same things after a few days but the fruit is wonderful. We willcome again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bob from Southern California

all-in-one resort on the beach

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: wait staff
Cons: physical condition needs improvement, lots of maintenance work that has been done is sub-par (painting, plumbing)
Location: Pools and beach on site, plenty to eat and drink on site, $5 cab ride to old town, $8 cab ride to PVR (but $20 from PVR to resort)
Wait-staff is super good, very friendly and helpful. Desk staff not so good. Maintenance staff very slow. Food is so-so. We spent 8 days there to celebrate 70th birthday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Ontario

Excellent atmosphere, great staff group.

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: The staff, the food, an available gym, programming, sense of community with many people returning year after year, close to town, comfortable rooms.
Cons: While I think that there are always improvements that can be made to anything there is nothing outstanding that needed change.
Location: The hotel is a short local bus ride from downtown Puerto Vallarta. There are numerous trips that you can take that include the history of this area.
The hotel is very comfortable, with the rooms all facing the ocean. It is not a really large place so there is a sense of community that you do not get in some other resorts. The staff throughout the hotel are excellent and a lot of fun and are with the hotel year after year and that says a lot about the place. The programming is good and the activation staff are a lot of fun. There are constantly different things going on from yoga, to exercise, language lessons, evening programs etc. There is always a variety of food available in the various restaurants and on the beach - always something new.