Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mitch from Minneapolis, MN

Great value for luxury and relaxing in the DR

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, great bar and food selections. Gorgeous beach. Try to the Mediterranean specialty restaurant for dinner.
Cons: Pool space & beach space is limited. Arrive early (7 or 8 am) to secure pool chairs in peak season (April). Not overly welcoming for GLBT tourists.
Location: We didn't venture out b/c the resorts was so nice!
We really enjoyed our 5 day, 4 night stay at the Iberostar Bavaro. The Bavaro 3rd nicest of the 4 Bavaro reports and, in my opinion, the best value for the money. The food options are all well done with excellent specialty dining and buffets. Top Shelf international liquor is available. The suites are modern and the beach is excellent. This is a family-focused reports with many international clientele. It was great for us as young professionals looking for a non-spring break party place. Come here is you want to relax and recharge. Look at the other Bavaro properties if you are looking for a party. **Dominican Republic charges a $10/person tourist fee upon entry. Make sure to bring cash to expedite the entry process.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chad from Ann Arbor, MI

Beautiful Hotel people seem to really care

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Everything, food, rooms, people.
Cons: The nightly entertainment could be better.
Location: Location is close to airport and not far from many activities.
Food was excellent, if your not happy with he food here then you wont be happy anywhere. The entertainment staff was awesome keeps you busy if you want or not. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The beach is stellar, and the sand is soft and marvelous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by RD from Detroit

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Close to beach. Grounds were very clean.
Cons: Lounge chairs taken by 6 AM and left empty. Food abundant, but not always good. Many staff not understanding English.
Hotel and grounds were gorgeous. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Enjoyed my stay very much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sylvia from Orlando, Florida

Super property, super beach, great restaurants

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Pretty much everything, you just have to see it.
Cons: The shower-door had a 2 inch gap so water ran out on the floor every-time we took a shower. Minor problem.
Location: My husband & I stayed on the white sand-beach the entire 12 days. But there is enough to do near by if you choose.
The best vacation we had for a while. The property, hotel, restaurants, beach, casino and so on absolutely fabulous. We will return, thanks for making our stay a great one.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dr Doctor from Chicago

Not bad for all-inclusive

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: spacious grounds, beautiful beaches, great weather not too far away
Cons: food - all grade B; relax ridiculous dress code; better customer service
beautiful property and immaculate beaches. the grounds were spacious and well maintained. Rooms were a bit dated but still comfortable. Food was very average and a principle reason we don't do all-inclusive holidays. Breakfast and lunch buffets had plenty of choices. Neither Expedia nor the hotel provide much information on the trip, hotel amenities, dress restrictions or transfers after the initial booking. the dress code for restaurants is seemingly arbitrarily administered and ridiculous for a beach resort. The hotel also boasts unlimited and frequent refills of drinks in your minibar (all-inclusive) but repeated attempts -in both english and spanish - failed. The weather was near perfect for 7 straight days and the golf course was beautiful if not terribly challenging. In general the staff at the resort was very friendly but those in the best position to be more accommodating, e.g. front desk, pro shop, etc. could use a refresher in customer service.
4 out of 5
by Jen from Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Mostly Happy

Posted Apr 3, 2014
My husband and I joined two other couples at the Bavaro Suites for a spring break getaway. We had a great time and the hotel was beautiful. Our complaints are minor but here goes: 1) We had to spend extra to do almost anything except lay on the beach. We've stayed at other resorts where snorkeling and diving were included, as well as kayaking, etc. 2) Food was lacking in variety and quality. We also had to make a reservation for EVERY meal that wasn't a buffet. The food is the reason I wouldn't recommend this hotel to a friend. 3) The lighting in the bathrooms is horrible. *Tip: Visitors should bring probiotics and Tums in case the food doesn't agree. Overall, we had a positive experience. The weather was great and most of the staff was very friendly. They also had a great beach set up with tons of shady places to relax. The rooms were clean, spacious and beds were comfy!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

over priced and rooms very disappointing.

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: location to the beach. and the beach huts very nice.
Cons: rooms and ,service, not very friendly staff, spent way to much money for all inclusive resort. The mini bar in room was a joke. no wine or liquor.
Location: liked being able to go to other iberostars next to ours.
lost power first night there. ants in bathroom and by beds. service was horrible.stocked mini bar not worth it at all. very disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel on beach

Posted Mar 24, 2014
I was on a spring break trip with my husband and 14 year old daughter. We thought the hotel was great. The hotel staff was very friendly and responsive. The property was well-maintained and clean. The pool and beach were beautiful. Our room was a little dated and dark, but very clean and comfortable. We were able to connect to WiFi throughout the property, including the pool area - and it was free. The buffet was good - some items excellent, some just okay. We always found plenty to eat. We ate at the gourmet restaurant and the Japanese restaurant and had excellent meals at both. We did not really attend any of the shows or participate in most of the activities (bingo, beach volleyball, dancing, ping pong, water polo, etc.), but the staff seemed very energetic and good at promoting a fun time. We would definitely go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location and facilities.

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Location: Be aware of tours sold at the beach. They will promise you anything to get you to sign up and often are not reliable.
Once you go to The Dominican Republic you will be spoiled forever. I have been at many Caribbean islands but people here are truly happy and it shows in their behavior. There are not too many places where you will huge your server before you go, here you will!! I have only 2 issues about the hotel which is the reason they get a 4 rating instead of 5. The two a la carte restaurants that we tried were not good (Japanese and Mediterranean) and the internet service was fairly poor. The beach, the facilities, the Buffett were excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ashley from Indianapolis, Indiana

Excellent Resort, Beatiful Beach!

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Disregard all of the negative comments you see!!! Iberostar Bavaro Suites was absolutely amazing. We just got back from a week long stay there. The food was the best of any resort we've ever stayed. The dinner buffet and Japanese a la carte restaurant were our top favorites. The rooms were exceptionally clean. Bathrooms were very nice and clean and beds were comfortable. All staff members were excellent! I can't believe some of the ridiculously negative comments on here, especially the ones about the staff not being fluent in English...you are in another country! Get over it! They know plenty and the majority of them are fluent and all went above and beyond for us during our stay. If you want a beautiful, clean, relaxing and extremely comfortable resort-this is your place!
Comment from
Jan 13, 2014
Thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Bavaro for your holidays and for the time you took to post a review about your experience among us. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed from an unforgettable holiday among many reason because of our beach. In IBEROSTAR we are on the best beaches worldwide. We kindly invite to visit us again so we can show you our improvements. With the best regards,