Ratings based on 510 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas, nv

Great resort, not so great food.

Posted Oct 11, 2014
The resort, location, and service of their employees was excellent, five star! However, the only reason I would not stay there again was the food. It was very poor quality, almost no vegetarian options, and made me feel sick almost everytime I ate. We expected the restaurants (which you need reservations for) to have a better selection but those menus were extremely limited and poor quality as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel on a breathtaking beach.

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Just got back from a week at Riu Palace Punta Cana. I would rate the hotel a 5 because of the beautiful facilities and overall cleanliness. Food and nightlife need improvement. Beautiful beach though!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Fantastic Resort! Beautiful Beach! Great Staff!

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: The entire resort is beautiful and the beach is fantastic!
Cons: Can't think of anything that needs to be improved. Very happy with everything.
Location: The location is great as it is only a short 25 minute drive from the airport. We only left the resort for our excursion.
We had a fantastic time at the RIU Palace Punta Cana! We have stayed at the RIU Palace in Cancun before and we like the service that RIU provides. In Punta Cana, the entire staff is extremely accommodating to your every need. Eric at the front desk was great! Check-in was quick and easy with no problems whatsoever. We let expedia know that we were spending our anniversary at the resort and they passed on the information. When we entered our room, we were pleasantly surprised to find our room decorated for the occasion. There were ballons, rose petals on the bed, a tray of chilled fresh fruit and a bottle of sparkling wine with 2 glasses. What a nice surprise! The beach is wonderful! Nice wide beach with plenty of palm trees and lounge chairs. We prefer the beach in Punta Cana over the beach in Cancun as it is wider and has plenty of palm trees (for shade). The pool area is nice and big with the swim up bar. Plenty of lounge chairs around the pool area as well. The food was good and very similar to Cancun with plenty of choices at the buffet. We didn't go to any of the specialty restaurants on site. In the evening, the "plaza" area has plenty of tables to sit and relax and listen to the music before the nightly show begins. As for the drinks (alcoholic or non-alcoholic), they keep them coming ....whether you're on the beach, by the pool or in the plaza. You're never thirsty :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NEW YORK CITY

GREAT... LOVED THE LUXURY OF IT ALL BEAUTIFUL POOL

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: EVERYTHING: THE PEOPLE (WORKERS IN THE RESTAURANTS AT THE POOL, SERVERS AND OF CAUSE THE ENTERTAINMENT THEY WERE GREAT....
Cons: The people you allow to come from outside of the hotel to sell NOT GOOD PEOPLE THEY TAKE PEOPLE FOR their money in other word not good all.
Location: Enjoyed the tour we had and also the club PACHA was a hit.....
FIRST OF ALL THE ENTERTAINMENT KEEPS YOU GOING THE CREW PEOPLE WERE GRRREAT. THE SHOW AFTER DINNER WAS GREAT..
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester NY

Never this Riu Punta Cana

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Hotel lobby. Italian & Steakhouse restaurant great, but you had to book them as soon as you arrived or you wouldn"t get reservations.
Cons: We asked the desk clerk where we can shop. He sent us to a guarded scarry getto store in town. He must have received a kick back for this store.
Location: Didn't go outside the hotel.
We always vacation at the Riu's. The best Riu is Tropical Bay in Jamaica. It was fablulous. The other Riu we vacationed at was in Aruba. That was ok, but a little dissapointing. This Riu Punta Cana in Dominican Republic is just shameless that they open their doors to the public. First of all it needed renovation badly. The outside buildings needed paint and there were cracks in walls. The rooms had shabby decorating. It was cleaned every day, but the small love seat smelled of body order, and when you walk in your room it smelled musty and mouldy. The hotel lobby was very nice. Then when we first arrived at the desk, we had to wait for at least 1/2 hr. The clerks were not that busy, but they were standing around or on the phone with personnel phone calls. We finally got desk service. We had booked a junior suite and asked if they had a better suite with ocean view. We told him ok. He told me his name was Wellington. He said that he can get us a junior suite with ocean views, but it would cost us extra. He said if we paid cash, we would not have to pay the tax and not to tell anyone. He charged us $180.00 cash. We paid him. He said that this room is beautiful. OMG. We walked in and saw this shabby junky room and checked the view. We had to stretch our necks to see the ocean. Italian Rest. was great and the Steakhouse was great too. I will never go back to this Riu.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2014
This all inclusive trip was great. The staff is very friendly, the hotel and beach are beautiful, and food was great. Alcohol is even included. I did not want to leave. I highly recommend it for friends, families or couples.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice acomodation. clean and super corteous people

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Staff, Cleaniness and price
Cons: Casino (To small and no many options)
Location: Excellent, no need to go out except for a tours
Nice super 8 days and 7 nights, exited. plenty and good food and drinks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Nice all-inclusive hotel on the beach

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Location on the beach
Cons: Overall, the service staff was friendly, but English language skills were lacking with many and impacted the stay on the property.
Location: Good location for beach activities and water related excursions.
Pleasant stay although disappointed with the mini-suite room location and had to pay to move to another room with a much better view
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kentucky

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Excellent vacation! The resort, food and staff was wonderful. It was a beautiful resort and a wonderful experience. I recommend this resort to everyone. You will not be disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excelent

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Service
My experienced was excelent the hotel is beautifull