Ratings based on 494 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Very nice and clean Resort

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Great location Beautifully kept grounds great beach good facilities food and drinks at anytime that you wanted them
Cons: Would have like to have had a microwave in room and full size pillows but other than that no complaint
Location: We went speedboating and snorkeling there were plenty of activities to do within an half hour drive of the resort a little pricy for some things.
First time out of the Country and our experience couldn't have been a better one the Hotel staff was very friendly and courteous. Beautiful hotel room was big and fully stocked bar in room with alcohol and soda good activities food was good entertainment was also good have no complaints.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Would not recommend.

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Riu palace in Punta Cana has a look of elegance. However, the food is absolutely terrible. The staff in the dining areas have negative attitudes and are not friendly nor accommodating. The staff involved in the day and evening activities are unprofessional. The behavior of the staff reflect on problems that ultimately lie within leadership and management systems. The rooms at the Riu are moist and damp. Would never stay or book a trip with Riu again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indianapolis, indiana

Perfect location!

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: All inclusive and right on the beach!
Location: Not sure, didn't venture off the resort. 20 minute cab ride from airport
Everything was great. Only complaint was room cleanings were not frequent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HARTFORD, CT

A experience

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Very relaxing with lots to do. The staff is very frieldy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, New York, USA

Family Vacation with two kids ( 17Yr)

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Nice and Clean with great foods & drinks. Staffs are very friendly and felt safe during all 4 days - 18Aug-21Aug2014. One thing to note is Mens/Boys ( 12yrs) must wear long pants for special restaurants for dinner and make reservation as shown on guess information flyer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Princeton

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: The food is very good! At it is so big that, even if it's full, it's not crowded.
Cons: Room service. The menu is very small! And if you miss the time for lunch, snacks or dinner. That's your only option or the sports bar (not good).
Location: We went snorkeling with same staff from the hotel. Also, to the Riu night club (Pacha) or the casino in the Riu hotel next door. There is a shuttle!
Love it! I would highly recommend it. The food is very good, the place is beautiful and it never gets crowded even if the hotel is full! I was very happy :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

great all-inclusive, perfect for relaxation

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: great d├ęcor. very clean. nice size balconies. Very comfy rooms and beds. huge towels. great buffet restaurant for lunch and breakfast.
Cons: more beach towels. Run out on two separate days. In-room Jacuzzi was broken. Japanese-themed restaurant served terrible food.
Location: location in on the atlantic so lots of waves. nice for taking long walks on the beach. some water activities for hire and local tours but overpriced.
first time in an all inclusive. first time in DR as well. overall, great experience. hotel was really nice. looked like an Indian palace. Well built, spotless, spacious. Would go again easily.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, All Inclusive, Beach Front

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: All incluisive beach resort with a great beach. Very nice facilities
Excelent experience. Staff is very helpful Nice shows and good quality of food
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stressful Vacation (overbooked hotel)

Posted Aug 19, 2014
When we got the hotel we were told that the hotel was over booked. We booked and paid the reservation 2 months in advance, and Expedia confirmed the hotel reservation with the property. However, when we got there there was no available room . We were sent to another hotel which was NOT FAIR. You pay for something and get something else?? The front desk personnel were very rude. They were not helpful. We will never go back there, and if you decide to go, be aware that you might not be able to get the hotel that you paid for. We saw other people that were not able to check in( YES, AFTER YOU PAID IN ADVANCE FOR YOUR ROOM), and like us were sent to another hotel. I will not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Palm Beach

Great hotel,very clean,close to the beach

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: everything,staff are very warm and helpful.The food is always excellant with many choices of restaurants and differant types of food
Cons: nothing
Location: they have many excellant tours for everyone,very safe country to visit with family.we went to the mountains and ate with the local Dominicans
a great place to stay can not complain about anything,food,staff and hotel is excellant.This was our 13 stay at RIU Place Punta Cana and will go back in 2015