Ratings based on 487 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, All Inclusive, Beach Front

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: All incluisive beach resort with a great beach. Very nice facilities
Excelent experience. Staff is very helpful Nice shows and good quality of food
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stressful Vacation (overbooked hotel)

Posted Aug 19, 2014
When we got the hotel we were told that the hotel was over booked. We booked and paid the reservation 2 months in advance, and Expedia confirmed the hotel reservation with the property. However, when we got there there was no available room . We were sent to another hotel which was NOT FAIR. You pay for something and get something else?? The front desk personnel were very rude. They were not helpful. We will never go back there, and if you decide to go, be aware that you might not be able to get the hotel that you paid for. We saw other people that were not able to check in( YES, AFTER YOU PAID IN ADVANCE FOR YOUR ROOM), and like us were sent to another hotel. I will not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Palm Beach

Great hotel,very clean,close to the beach

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: everything,staff are very warm and helpful.The food is always excellant with many choices of restaurants and differant types of food
Cons: nothing
Location: they have many excellant tours for everyone,very safe country to visit with family.we went to the mountains and ate with the local Dominicans
a great place to stay can not complain about anything,food,staff and hotel is excellant.This was our 13 stay at RIU Place Punta Cana and will go back in 2015
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

We had great time!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: They have to improve the service at the Kids club, because there is nothing going on there. It is a little pool but no activities.
Location: Buggy tour
The staff was friendly, they work hard to please you all the time. Nice hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Family Vacation

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: The beautiful smiles of the staff
Cons: -towels after 3
Location: 1. zipline- awesome 2. beaches- beautiful 3. into town for shopping- bargain 4. off road cars and into fresh water pool- amazing time
Family of six August 10-16. Wonderful time- awesome stay! This is not America- we thought the hotel and resort was worth the money, time off work and flights. No complaints other than the NO TOWELS after 3. Other than that we enjoyed our stay. Beautiful smiles, great food, fun music, amazing beaches and pool. Thank you to Raul and Michael for taking care of all our needs in the dining room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

A palace indeed!

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Do not listen to the negative reviews. The Riu Palace Punta Cana is an amazing hotel. If you tip the maid and wait staff a few dollars a day they will go above and beyond for you. One night in the buffet they had all you can eat lobster tails! We are at the fusion restaurant one night but decided the buffet was so good we ate the rest of our meals there. It's in a beautiful building so it doest feel like a typical buffet. Plus the Waite staff will bring you bar drinks if you ask. The pool bar is a blast. Make sure you don't miss the days when they put drinks in real pineapples and coconuts. We were in a corner suite and it was amazing. Our friends had the mini suite and it was also very nice. Both rooms were spotless. Get a room with a view of fountains or pool if you get Miini suit. Ask for ocean/pool view if you get suite. This is the nicest of all the riu's. It was much nicer then the Bravada which they claim is the top resort. The Brava was too plain for our liking. We were invited there for a special promotion dinner. Go with the Riu palace Punta Cana all the way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Its a great pkace. Spanish colonial looking. Only peeve we had was they still use keys for hotel rooms and safe. Nowadays we use key cards and ekectronic combo locks for safe. Had great time otherwise.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price. Don't stay here.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
For the price of this hotel we expected more. During the course of our trip to the Dominican we stayed at 3 different hotels including this one, two of which were all inclusives. This was by far the lesser of the three. I am glad we didn't stay here the whole time or it could have really ruined our vacation! The beach was nice but compared to other Dominican beaches it was over crowded. The rooms were dirty. The shower looked like it hadn't been cleaned in ages! For over $250 a night I expect a clean room!! Also, the resort is so big that you feel far from the beach although it supposedly "beachfront". Also, and this is an important one, the food was TERRIBLE. The other all inclusive we stayed at in Puerto Plata (which we paid half the price for) the food was really good. We looked forward to eating!! This was NOT the case here. Punta Cana itself is more pricey than other places in the Dominican. My recommendation would be to go to Puerto Plata or El Limon, Punta Cana is way too touristy and pricey. There is also not much around except for resorts. But if you want to stay in Punta Cana, choose a nice hotel that is not all inclusive. You will enjoy your stay much more that way. We ate out several times even though we already paid for all inclusive bc we hated the food. It comes out cheaper in the long run to not do all inclusive. Unless you find one with good food. Moral of the story, don't stay here!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Rude Front Desk Personnel

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: The hotel is beautiful, the food is very good. Wireless internet in the room.
Cons: The front desk personnel lacks commom sense and courtesy. They need to learn how to treat the customers, and to make people feel welcomed.
The hotel is huge and beautiful. The lobby decor is beautiful and the facilities are excellent. The green areas around the hotel are well kept. The hotel provides nice accomodations. The room's size is very good and the housekeeping staff are very friendly. The restaurants are very good with a variety of food to choose from. The beach is beautiful, and the pool has a good size. We will not return to this hotel because of the Front Desk Staff that treated us unfairly. We booked and paid this trip with expedia a month prior the travel date, and when we got there the front desk personnel told us that they were "full, over sold", no room available for us. They blamed on Expedia, saying that it was their fault. They told us that they were going to send us to another hotel Riu Macao. We refused to accept that showing them the confirmation paper, proving that we were suppost to get a room at Riu Palace Punta Cana. It said on our confirmation paper that Expedia confirmed our reservation with the property. The front desk personnel were laughing at us, saying that they had nothing to do with this situation....After minutes of unecessary stress, without any choice, we accepted spending a night at Riu Macao with the promise to go back to Riu Punta Cana the next day. After a day and a half of stress we went back to Riu Palace. Getting a hotel that you booked and paid a month in advance and finding out they are oversold is very frustating and unfair.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w

Horror vacation

Posted Aug 12, 2014
The hotel Riu Punta Cana Palace was over booked, I waited in line at the check- in desk for three hours surrounded by angry guest complaining of dirty rooms and lack of rooms. Later I found out there was no room for my wife and I. After another hour we were sent to Riu Palace Macao which was beautiful, friendly staff, clean property. During my stay I met dozens of patrons from Riu Palace Punta Cana that hated that hotel. You would think for my inconvenience, I would have been up graded or compensated. But no not even an apology. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my enemies. It's not worth the headache. If your not traveling with children go to Macao, but be aware this is a laid back environment for mature vacationers.