Ratings based on 287 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Convenient to downtown, but a bit run down.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Location: There is a lookout area on the hill near the city (where the lighted star is) which gives a nice panoramic view of the city. Very short drive.
This was a way-point for us, so just one night in a longer trip. The room itself was pretty worn and old. I think more than a single night would be depressing. The room is dark as well. The bathroom is tiny and the exhaust fan did not work, and to plug in anything (chargers, PC) you had to unplug the lamp that lit the desk. While there was a safe in the room, you had to go down to the desk to get a key for it - no electronic keypad - just very inconvenient. So the convenience to downtown (nice area) and to the highways was the only nice thing.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2014
One of the worst Ramada Inn's I have stayed at. Will def reconsider which hotel/motel to stay in next time -- taking a break from Ramada's.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M.D.

Close to work and sport center.

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Second timr staying there enjoyed my stay and will return again next time I have to go o Roanoke. Only complaint I hav is thst the ice mchine broke and remained brokwn 2 out of the 3 days I was there, otherwise it was a pleasant stay
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bates Motel

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Almost $100 for a room that was dirty and disgusting. I wouldn't dare touch the shower and there was mold everywhere. This place should be shut down
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for a one night stay

Posted Jun 18, 2014
It is clean, but very dated. It is not easy to find
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by travelers RN

Close to work place , restaurant and health club

Posted Jun 11, 2014
I enjoyed my stay at this particular Ramada. Ibwill be returning there soon on my next visir to Roanoke.
3 out of 5
by Frank from Cedar Rapids, IA

One night is enough

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: I cannot think of a thing.
Cons: Smoking could be prohibited in rooms and public areas (elevator). Parking and handicapped access could be monitored to be in sync.
Location: The location was difficult to find, even with GPS navigation. Attractions (restaurants and activities) were not close.
This hotel was hard to find. The staff member at the front desk was friendly even though I interrupted her supper. The nonsmoking rooms were marked as such on the room door, but the interior obviously was not. The only elevator to the third floor was overcome with the smell. The room was simple, with cigarette burns on the bed comforter and the nearby furniture. The coin laundry took only quarters, but there was no change maker even at the front desk. The bed was comfortable, and the housekeeping staff monitored it daily. I was looking to save a few bucks by staying here, but I will have to rethink that decision.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

It's a cheap hotel. Staff efficient and friendly

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: Price
Cons: Smoke free room was not smoke smell free
In town for Graduation so cheap sleep worked for us. Great price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Arlene from North Carolina

A nice hotel

Posted May 12, 2014
Overall it was a nice place to stay. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The continental breakfast was adequate and the was accommodating. I have no complaints but there was also not anything outstanding that made the stay "excellent."
2 out of 5
by K. from Colorado

Disappointing hotel

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: The room was clean.
Cons: Every sound from outside could be heard inside the room.
Location: Near downtown Roanoke.
This hotel is near train tracks, highway and the airport. Lots of noise. Additionally, on our first night there, they had booked a wedding reception in their banquet room. Very, very loud music could be heard from our room. When we called the management, they were very rude and unhelpful. The second night we stayed there was much quieter, but I would not stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2014 by Guest Services Manager, Hotel Management
I am very sorry to see your stay was anything less than enjoyable and that you were unable to get any help after talking with the night manager. We will make sure that we handle that kind of situation better in the future when we have other events in our Banquet rooms. Thanks for taking the time to tell us how we're doing.