Ratings based on 566 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Price/Value
Cons: Room cleanliness
Location: Near San Diego Safari Park, MCAS Miramar (for the Air Show), and not too far of a drive to San Diego's main attractions.
Decent place to sleep and shower for a fair price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Convenient location, nice and quiet

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: Quiet, inexpensive, convenient location
Cons: Cleaning staff
Location: Safari Animal Park, Mirimar airshow
Cooperative desk people, inept cleaning staff (took away towels when the shouldn't, and no replacment). Great waffles for breakfast. Would give them another chance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Space land.

Very nice hotel. Close to the Wild Safari.

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Best hotel, great prices, free breakfast, free Wi-Fi. The best of the best friendly customer service. Due to none local I have asked the staff's to print out the driving directions several times. They are just awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Better than expected

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Cheap and I was surprised at how pleasant everything was. Comfortable bed and clean room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice clean room

Posted Sep 10, 2014
It wasn't too far from legoland and the room was cleam and well taken car of. I would stay there again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Okay hotel in a fair area

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Staff
Cons: Refresh of the facilities. Breakfast options.
Location: Close to the San Diego Zoo Safari.
Room was a but musty. The room was okay, but the area where the hotel is located didn't have a safe feel. the elevator and outside looked very old. The staff is very helpful and friendly. There was a car parked out front with a flat tire and had been smashed in like it was in an accident. It was there at least two days during our stay. Very limited breakfast. Weak coffee.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

You get what you pay for

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Cheap price and close proximity to SD Safari Park and LEGOLAND.
Cons: Security, get the trucks and sweepers out. Make the hotel a smoke free facility and do not rent out rooms to young men who are drinking openly.
Location: LEGOLAND, SD Safari Park, restaurants and amenities.
Stayed here 3 nights primarily just to crash land after hectic days with kids at LEGOLAND and San Diego Safari Park. From LEGOLAND this hotel is about 25 min of drive and to SD Safari Park it is only 10 minutes drive Check in: Quick and easy Parking: Plentiful WiFi connection: Very good (though I only used at night time for 60 minutes or less) Parking Security and Safety: Unknown. Noticed lots of trucks, sweepers parked in front of the hotel and the parking lot looks a bit dirty. Advice, park at the entrance near the pool area Swimming pool and spa: Never used. But did see some children using it Laundry: Yes only on the first floor all the way in the corner. 2 Washers and 2 Dryers. Not that clean and that area looked a little ghetto or run down with young men occupying that rooms in that corner and heavily drinking. I am a strong built man and can defend myself, but I still did not feel comfortable doing my laundry at 7pm with all these guys drinking heavily. Advice, don't do laundry unless absolutely necessary. I have a feeling the hotel is renting those rooms to those truck drivers that I mentioned above and a lot of men occupying that corner area Breakfast: Good. Waffle machine, white bread with butter and jam, hot coffee, 2 types of juices, 2 types of cereals, and milk. Kids loved it and the hot coffee was decent. Room: Decent size and good. Advice, stay on the far end of the hotel either on the 2nd or 3rd floor Overall: Just ok to crash
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Bad! Our family did not get sleep, because there were cockroaches on the beds.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Didn't intend to stay here--but it turned out good

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: The staff (courteous & accomodating), room was large (two queens & room for a rollaway), family friendly, pool & hot tub were nice, breakfast incl.
Cons: Carpet had a few stains; bathroom had some areas to clean better and paint. Larger refrigerator was great, but needed defrosting.
Location: Nice shopping areas fairly close (Auto Park Way), restaurants close. We drove to Del Mar, La Jolla, & San Diego each day with no issues.
Tried to get my family to the ocean in the San Diego & La Jolla area, but the Comic Con drove the prices up by triple the usual rate! We ended up at this Super 8 in central Escondido because it was the only thing left that was affordable and somewhat close. The traffic to get there from San Diego was bad on Friday evening, but fine the rest of the days. We used the location farther out as a way to visit several beaches on the way from Escondido to San Diego. My kids described the area in Escondido as "sketchy" because there were many homeless people, sirens, and police cars speeding by. However, they are quite sheltered living in the foothills/mountains of Colorado and are not accustomed to city life. Pool and hot tub were nice. Laundry was very convenient.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com