Ratings based on 285 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salinas, CA

Worst stay ever, and I'm not very picky...

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Nothing, other than the girl at the counter was nice looking and well gifted.
Cons: Make the room $35 a night and it would be appropriate for the quality.
Location: Japan town is close and there is a Roundtable pizza, Burger King and Sushi Hana within a half a block.
Room smelled, old carpets, old covers, pillows were flat maybe an inch thick when laying on it, no screen for the window, no AC, desk was shaky and unstable, not worth $200, not worth $100, worth about $35 per night. The bed was the worst ever. I woke up as if I has slept on the floor. My wife and children backs were in pain from the beds. The water pressure was poor, so even the shower was lousy. I wish I new a way to legally reverse the charges on this room and pay them $35. I'm not picky! I've stayed in desert hotels, hotels in Istanbul and Ankara, England, and Indian Reservations. This was worse than any I've stayed before. Absolutely, hands down the worst room ever. Don't stay here!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oregon

Stay

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Filthy dirty hotel. Would not stay again. Very outdated and dirty.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno

Decent hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Room was decent. But it serves it purpose as a place to sleep in for the night. It has cable, hot water and a friendly staff so I'd come back again to stay in for for a night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vince

The only complaint deposit-after hi charge.

Posted Jun 26, 2014
I found it hard to believe that deposit was needed after paying extraordinary price per-night,with a already charge of room cost-recovery charge already on the bill.its a bit much when staying more than 2 nights or so cuts into your pocket to go out to do fun thing that are already hi priced.It depletes you fun activities.The maid service was awesome the owner definitely owes them a big raise!!!!!They're the reason I & others comeback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Jun 9, 2014
good , clean , and nice customer service. ill be back next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nick from H

Great for Chinese consulate or Japantown

Posted May 15, 2014
Simple but clean, good location. Close to a lot of restaurants, Chinese consulate, Japantown, more
1 out of 5
by Robert from Ventura, CA

No hot water and mold in bathroom!

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Central location, close to City Hall and Asian Museum. It is convenient to have secure parking if you plan to do walking around town.
Cons: Larger boiler? Cleaning the bathrooms properly so there is no mold at all. Also, the heating lamp fixture had a fluorescent bulb, not a heating lamp!
Location: Asian Museum is awesome. Convenient bus stop I block away. City Hall and other buildings are close by.
We book this hotel because it offered free parking and its location. I am not paying top dollar for a 5 star hotel but I expect at least a clean room and a bathroom with hot water. Specially when I ended up paying $250 for two nights... When about to enter our room #302 my son felt in his head a drop of very hot liquid that was leaking from exposed pipes above the hallway (see attached photos). The shower had mold. I got up the first morning to take a quick shower to get ready. No problem. My wife followed and hot water ran out. My son could not take a shower at all as water would not heat up. I complained to the front desk and they told us that they would send somebody to see about it. I told directly one maid about the mold. Next night the mold was gone, Thanks! My son took a shower at night, no problem. But next morning there was no hot water again so we had to take a cold shower or not at all. Very disappointing! I contacted my credit card. The front could not contact a manager (I can't believe that there is no way to contact a manager...). Finally, I contacted Expedia and I am waiting for a partial refund for this terrible experience. If you have problems like me, contact Expedia at once. It is unreasonable to pay $125 a night after all taxes and fees and not being able to even get a decent shower to recoup form the daily activities. Please do yourself a favor and do not book this hotel... maybe then, the manager will be available to do something about it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Shower didn't drain fan was load and no hair dryer
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short

Posted Apr 23, 2014
We were working in the area, Just for work. But if was a good stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Henry from Long Beach, CA

More than decent hotel close to everything!

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Location. Price.
Cons: Updates...painting of the outside and inside of hotel and room furniture/carpet/bed sheets can make this place look way more modern and new.
Location: Prime location by the civic center, access to everything.
This hotel gets more of a bad rap then it should get. It's more than decent, my room was clean, price was unbeatable for San Francisco (paid $225 for 2 nights, 2 double beds, private bath), it has parking!!!!! I left and came to the hotel countless times and never had a problem finding parking. You can walk to many things, I walked to the civic center where I went for a concert. In the end, it's not the hilton/marriott....where I would had paid $200 more for the same dates, but it's definitely somewhere I'd stay again.