Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by MArco from Puerto Rico

Hotel have to improve in

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Cons: Internet the pool is not good no light in the night
the hotel have to improve in customer service no light for use at night the pool the service of the employee not good no internet, the room is ok
1 out of 5
Recommended
by George from Phoenix

Too much for too little

Posted Feb 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
There were not even signs where to register. No amenities to speak of. Generally just way way too much for what was offered. Would never stay again.
2 out of 5
by Linda from Scottsdale, AZ

Hotel under much needed renovation

Posted Dec 13, 2013
Pros: The beach is beautiful and the pool is nice. Too bad the buildings are in such bad repair and the interiors are not consistent.
Cons: Complete renovations, have consistent interiors and open some restaurants on property.
Location: Beautiful bay and beach - pretty far out. Red Hook w/ some cute restaurants is a short cab or car ride away.
First let me start with the most distressing part of our stay at Sapphire Beach Resort. Our flight arrived late and it was nearly midnight when we arrived at the resort. The office was not open at the resort due to renovation and was being serviced from a nearby property. When we arrived, the man at the desk was just leaving for the night. A few minutes later and we would have been stranded w/ no room, and this resort is pretty far off the beaten path. Check in time was noted as 3pm - nowhere did it mention a time when the office would be closed. Our room was also prepaid and guaranteed for late arrival. Now on to the actual property. This resort has clearly been neglected for a long time. Of 7 buildings, one has been renovated on the exterior. Another is currently under renovation. The other 5 buildings are in really rough condition. As far as the interior - it appears that all units are individually owned. So some interiors could be renovated - our unit was not. It was fairly clean, but OLD and unpleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel on St. Thomas

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: Lovely room on the ground floor in order to walk right on to the beach!
Friendly staff, great bar with the best barkeeper!! Great value.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joanna from San Juan

You can find better

Posted Nov 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was not up to par with what I would expect for the price. The check in was confusing( we actually had to check into a hotel next door with a completely different name) the room although big was old and in need of a serious update, especially the bed and bedding that was old and uncomfortable. The location is great, just steps from RedHook and the ferry to St. John but better hotels are around.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sheila from USA

over priced

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
We found the view to be spectacular but the accomodations are over priced for what this condo is. Was very disappointed in what we got for what we were told. We were told that we had a "privacy" bedroom with a hide away couch, which we though sounded perfect for the 3 of us. The mattresses are so old that my hip may never be the same. the mattress on the hide a bed was just as bad. Both needing to be replaced. We paid extra for the 3rd person in our room but for the first 3 days only had 2 wash clothes and 2 towels. We were given pool towels when we checked in to last us the entire week. At which one was taken by house keeping and not replaced. Most of the light bulbs were either burnt out or the switches didn't work. with the taxes and all we paid $1250.00 for 6 days that is $200.00 per day not worth it in my opinion. The cabana outside of it had the rudest people working in it and the worst over priced food ever. Would not stay here again. Thought in the very most it should have been like maybe an $800.00 to $1000.00 place to stay for three people and that is if it had new mattresses. Very disappointing .
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by D Fenton

Posted Aug 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
no hot water. Room cleaned only once. Safe kept beeping every 30 min. Internet hard to access and very slow. Surly front desk personnel - they could care less about it.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Honeymoon 2013 from New York

Never ever again!!

Posted Jul 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Bad news first..The beach was beautiful but not for my wife and I. We felt like we where the only people there. The beaches where kind of rough and not relaxing. Dont get fooled by the photos of white beaches. (RM 105) The worse part of this stay was the room. Old sheets and furniture. We where on a honeymoon and the beds where 2 twins put together with old bed spreads from the 70's. No extra pillows or even one blanket, just hard bed spread. No luxury at all if thats what you wd expect out of a hotel stay. I wd never recommend this place. Dont get fooled by the pool picture on the beach. Contruction is going on all the buildings just in front of it so, your choice. Only good thing I can say is it was a good middle spot to down town Red hook, Megans bay and St john Ferry ( Trunk Bay big time and Megans bay) both a must.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Aaron from Louisiana

On the beach

Posted Jul 8, 2013
Pros: on the beach and close to Red Hook
Cons: complete construction, which was not overly distracting.
Location: Red Hook for drinks, food, and shopping. can't beat the beach with trees for shade if you get too hot. wonderful views of other islands
No problems with check in/out. maid service every other day which for us was excellent. can't beat the beach and snorkeling. only disappointment was the bed was hard, not firm but hard. would have preferred softer bed but it didn't ruin the trip. having a car was a must, driving on the left side was different. there was construction on going but since we were there in the off season it is understandable and was not overly noisy or messy. overall, we had an enjoyable experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice views, nice pool are, disappointing guest roo

Posted Jun 3, 2013
Office Staff Member On Day Of Arrival Not Very Friendly Or Approachable.I Felt As If I Was BotherIng Him By The Simple Act Of Checking In. It Was Quite A Walk To Our Room And NoAssistance Was Even Offered.The Day That We Checked Out The Lady In The Office Was Very Pleasant. Bed Was Very Uncomfortable, Linens Were Not Of Very Good Quality . I Expected Better For The Cost Of The Room.