Ratings based on 628 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canegata

Posted Sep 26, 2016
The resort was a little out dated, rooms very small no fridge or water acces. The Hotel was ok, but the beach and food was amazing so that made the experience worth it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hayes, London. UK

Superior room are excellent. Hotel staff great

Posted Sep 25, 2016
A very enjoyable relaxing stay. Great activities and evening entertainment. Superior room are rooming. A little bit of room modernisation required. Overall an excellent place to enjoy your holiday. However, need to beware of mosquito & flies bites.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver Colorado

Bad choice

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: The staff did their best to make your stay enjoyable but they just didn't have much to work with.
Cons: Needs a complete overhaul
Location: We enjoyed a TV and catamaran tours.
I knew from the reviews this place was iffy but I had never imagined it would be so rundown. Even the beach was disappointing. Frankly the beach was the main reason we decided to chance it regardless of the reviews. I can't believe others were pleased with it as the whole beach area was covered in broken seashells and hard sand. It certainly wasn't the fluffy white sand l was expecting. The food was really unappetizing and the buffet had few selections and had no atmosphere whatsoever. They have 3 restaurants besides the buffet. We ate at Lydia's whenever it was open as it was better than buffet. They only open up one restaurant a night and one is Italian which is $20 each. I did listen to the reviews to save your money so didn't try that. The other is Indian. All l can say about that is if you only have 3 restaurants try to make them more appealing to the majority of guests. I learned l really don't like Indian dishes!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

The beach was beautiful but...

Posted Sep 5, 2016
The beach was absolutely gorgeous. It is hands down the best beach I have ever been to in my life. White sand and calm Caribbean water. It was worth going to just see the beach. Unfortunately that's where the appeal of Jolly Beach Resort and Spa stops. The pool was very nice however we were unable to fully enjoy due the flock of savage sea gulls that attacked all of the guest. We were unable to eat outside because the savage sea gulls would take food out of your hands and attack you. Some days there would be feces on the beach chairs and there was not enough umbrella to go around. In my opinion the the property has entirely to many trees. I got bit more times mosquitoes in five days than I have the entire summer. Also I paid extra money for a ocean view to have the view partially blocked by a tree. The property seemed to be in somewhat a poor state of repair. Parts of it look liked it needs to be repainted. You could look up and see rust stains in the buildings. Overall the hotel needs an update. The rooms still had box television in them. With a little tender love and care the Jolly Beach Resort Spa could easily be a world class hotel. The food was pretty good and the entertainment was ok. Lastly more security is needed. I have stayed at other resort in the Caribbean and have always found the properties to be pretty secure and safe. Jolly Beach is a pretty vast property and does not have adequate lighting. One night two guys followed us to our room and made us uncomfortable
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Beautiful beach

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Awesome vacation, beach and entertainment! Clean hotel, friendly staff and security.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beach is its only saving grace

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Beach is incredible, go for a night swim to enjoy the bio-luminescent waters!
Cons: Everything. Start with the food and maintenance of the hotel grounds. It'll be a huge improvement.
Location: Great location as you can walk to many nearby restaurants and stores. Only 30 minutes from airport
Imagine the 1970's... stucco, popcorn ceilings, dingy floral prints, wicker... welcome to Jolly Beach Resort! Supersaver Rooms are not worth it - upgrade yourself to the next size up. These rooms are 140 sqft - two people will continuously fall over each other. One double bed. And good luck with the bathrooms. Superior Rooms are your standard hotel rooms anywhere else - two full beds, a mini frig and your average sized bathroom. Nothing "superior" about them honestly. Hotel grounds are not maintained, weeds and overgrown trees blocking what would be gorgeous views of an incredible beach. I mean seriously, it's all you have going for you - trim the darn trees! The only edible food we found was at the pool bar - grilled chicken, hot dogs, burgers, fries, salad - your average BBQ food. We ate out for every other meal. Make a stop at the local grocery store because after 10pm, you can't find food ANYWHERE. I've been to several all-inclusives and they all have a sports bar or something open for late night bites. Stock up on snacks, you'll need them. Pools are old and dingy. Luckily, the pool staff was fantastic so it helped make them bearable. There's no elevators anywhere in the hotel so if you're handicap, or lazy, don't even bother. Fortunately, we focused on the company we kept and made lemonade out of lemons. If you're going to Antigua, highly recommend the sunset party at Shirley Heights on Sundays. Entertainment, views and food were all amazing!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

MARE

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Cons: Struttura.
Location: Ubicato sulla migliore spiaggia di antigua, il mare è fantastico. Non c'è nulla in zona per cui valga la pena perdere una giornata di mare.
La mia esperienza in questo resort è positiva. Se sei alla ricerca di relax questo è il posto perfetto. Spiaggia e mare eccezionali. Leggo di solito recensioni in cui la gente racconta delle strutture in cui è stata come se avesse pagato tariffe da 5 stelle. Questo resort sarebbe da ristrutturare completamente ma, tutto sommato, i servizi base ci sono e per quello che paghi, considerando che siamo ai Caraibi, va bene. Non adatto a chi ha la puzza sotto al naso e crede che con 500-600 euro in all-inclusive debba ricevere servizi da 5 stelle. Le strutture 5 stelle costano per il solo pernotto almeno 300 euro a notte. Si riesce a mangiare decentemente. L'unico grosso neo su cui proprio non riesco a passare sono i "merli" a colazione ed i "gabbiani" a pranzo. Costerebbe veramente poco tenerli lontani dagli ospiti. Lo consiglio per chi ha budget ridotti.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Beautiful beach

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: The people are so nice. Neil, Robin, Clovis (bartenders) are awesome!!!!!
Cons: The hotel needs major update
Location: Safari historical day trip- ask for Kendrick he was extremely insightful!
Where to start-- you get an actual KEY for your room and if you want to use the safe you have to rent the lock for $15 for the week -- that's right, you rent the lock! 2 out of the 6 nights our room wasn't cleaned. Our first night the ac didn't work- maintained had to come and fix it. The food is mediocer. The main pool was filthy- cups and straws floating in it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quick, low-key getaway

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: The low price of the hotel booked on expedia or orbitz is commensurate with the facilities offered. Good value!
Cons: Water outlets at various locations
This is definitely not a modern looking resort! But the rooms are good size and clean. There is full breakfast from 6:30 -10:00 am, continental breakfast from 10:00-11:00 am, lunch from 12:00-2:00 pm, further lunch at the coconut grill till 5:00 pm, afternoon tea from 4:30-5:30 pm, and dinner from 7:00- 10:00 pm. In other words, there is round the clock meals for everyone; the health conscious, the vegetarians and the splurgers. There are 2 pools and the beach is calm. Light entertainment on some nights.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Nice Hotel on Beachfront

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Nice hotel on the beach. Great staff. Decent rooms. It would be perfect if the pool bar and restaurant could stay open later though. Its still a great hotel on the beach.