Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northeast PA

Lovely but lacking in amenities

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Staff so nice. Left dinner in our room 1 night, upon request, when we decided to tour. Set up drivers & suggested things to do, restaurants. Friendly!
Cons: Beach-Swim area minimal, weedy. Towel service. Meal variety & healthier choices. Reciprocity w/restaurants in other areas so you can explore Antigua
Location: St J,English Harbour, etc each about 30 min but worth treks. Lovely location/grounds. Not much to do, not much space to make room for things to
Staff friendly, informative, helpful-really good people!! Avoid all-incl here -too limiting w/ONE restaurant. Great restaurants & fun in English Harbor & St Johns-30 min away &totally worth the trip, or staying elsewhere, to enjoy more of Antigua! Food 3.5/5. Great view. Very limited menu &really small portions, by any (not just American) standards. Dinner menu changes every 2 nights; bfast & lunch-limited buffets; required to make reservations for lunch & dinner (restrictive on vacation, esp. for lunch); not many healthy choices, music they played was awful, except for Thu bbq night-excellent food, live local music. Only snacks, drinks other than meals is what's available @ the tiny store-$$$$ and very minimal choices; resort put outs tiny sandwiches afternoons. Bar really nice, very small, drinks good. Limited activities. No workout facility; we ran repeatedly up/down same paths, hills in/around small grounds. Amazing view, especially from "development" above resort, but very little running/walking area if you want to work out. Beach area-small, no umbrellas-not enough trees to make up for that. Pools -beautiful, but small. No pool/beach towel svce-towels in your rooms&you have to exchange them (@ front desk). No way to dry them (humidity prevents it in house). Drink (not food) service @pools/beach. No music @ beach/pools. Townhouse lovely- spacious, and clean. No warm/hot water for 2+ days,& refrig leaked - had to call maintenance a few times before these were fixed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bethesda, Md

Perfect destination wedding venue

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Intimate resort, friendly staff, good water sport facilities, tasty food and delicious cocktails.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western Isles.

Wonderful.Also good for trips to Half Moon , sites

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Everything. Wonderful location. Great beach with a good breeze to keep you cool. Brilliant boat trips to Green Island to see fish. Great room , staff.
Cons: Nothing, never before felt as well looked after. Great for tropical fish at Green Island, swimming at Half moon beach and site-seeing Nelson's place.
Location: Several beaches within a short drive. Half Moon is the nearest and best, even a few fish round the rocks. The Nelson's Harbour museum is worth while.
Everyone looks at the best and worst reviews so let us deal with the points from the bad reviews; "There is only a dirt road to the property". Not so, the last few miles were paved with concrete last year, meaning that there is now a good ,wide fast road with mongooses and humming birds. "The Hotel is Miles from anywhere- a huge taxi ride just to get there". The resort is on the West coast , a 40 minute drive from the airport. You can get a taxi and just stay at the resort or rent a car (Avis lines a bit slow). This will allow you to sea more of the beaches and sites. Some people rent a car and still chill out at the resort anyway. "Bad service". The opposite is true. The service is wonderful; breakfast and dinner ladies at 7 or 8 stars or more !, room impeccably tidy. All just wonderful. "Not all inclusive". What is this person talking about? We stayed almost a week and our final bill was ....$6 for washing powder from the shop. It included all meals and our soft drinks from the bar. We could not get near to eating the three meals included with the very reasonable cost. We never had lunch. The very full breakfast buffet had changes every day and the dinner menu changes every two days with a barbecue on Wednesday. Restaurant (of course) open every day. "Not clean"..."Bird droppings in the restaurant". See above- room kept 100% clean.The restaurant is open air and has yellow birds, black birds, finches and humming birds coming through. Wonderful. No mess seen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Nonsuch bay

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Everything was great
Cons: Pool warmers, water was quite cold
Location: Beach front location, Antigua is a small island so everything is nearby.
Our trip to nonsuch bay was great, from the moment we got picked up from the airport to when we were drop off. Staff is great and make you feel comfortable and welcome. The room was huge, clean, and very well equipped. The beach was nice, and the pools had a nice view of the bay (both pools were cold though). We took a trip to green island for snorkeling and relaxing, it was great, but I recomend bringing some umbrella/parasol for a shade. The food was great with a nice variety of meal items. I personally LOVED the mojitos!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2017
The friendliest staff ever!!!! The rooms was great and the food was delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Limitations

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Nonsuch Resort is beautiful. You would not be disappointed with the size of your accommodations, they are spacious and beautiful. The limiting factors are:- food choices as there is only one restaurant for the entire resort. If you are a vegetarian or vegan your choice is one item. Buffet style was limited and so were the choices; disappointing. However the staff are friendly and accomadating. There is no night time entertainment. Their children's club is a small room that does not offer more than a baby sitting service. They have no structured programs for the children. For a large Resort they have no gym. The Resort has a fairly good selection of water sports for the family. English habour and Shirley Heights is a must see. Taxis service from the Resort is an added cost but it is worth it and so convenient. The taxis drivers were great and very safe drivers.
4 out of 5
by Heather-Gail

Anniversary Celebration..

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
We had a fabulous time and was especially appreciative of the service provided by the wait staff, from the time of arrival until departure.
5 out of 5
by Stephanie

Beautiful Resort, great amenities

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed in the deluxe suite and it was spacious, clean, and had any and all amenities you would need. Only negative was the wifi does not reach to the bedroom or bathroom, so if for example you are keeping your phone in airplane mode and only utilizing the wifi for data you would need to be in the common areas. But other that that everything was fantastic, staff was warm and friendly and the resort was luxurious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely picturesque upscale resort

Posted Mar 6, 2017
This resort is perfect for those who want to relax and unwind with mostly couples and few children when we stayed late Feb/early March The only activities are water sports- There is no gym and only one restaurant currently, although there are plans to expand,and not much to do in the evenings after dinner except visit the small lobby bar The food was excellent, better than we have experienced on most other islands The landscaping is lovely and small beach easily accessible , which never seemed too crowded There are several pools which could prove challenging to anyone middle age or older as there are no safety handrails. Also none in the bathroom by the jacuzzi tub The one bedroom deluxe oceanfront suite was lovely, upscale and well equipped. Full kitchen if you did not want to eat all meals at the restaurant. Comfortable king bed The one downside- too many birds in the open air dining area at breakfast and lunch (they do not seem to come in the evening) I was pooped on during one meal and they chairs and cushions are stained with bird poop, needing to be wiped down often. They annoyingly wait for you to make a trip to the buffet and will then move in on anything left on your table, including your water and other beverages We discussed this with management and suggested that they set up a bird feeding station away from the dining area They assured us that they would be taking steps to deal with this problem Overall a lovely place to visit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

great staff. Nothing was a problem.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Sailing Location
Cons: Someting plain on the menu every night for those of us that don't like spicy
Location: off by itself Suited us fine.
Sailed as much as we wanted. Food was fantastic Can't wait to go back