Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Ant Hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2016
The staff were okay. There were ants all over the bungalow I stayed in (bathroom, bedroom and they even made it in my bed). I informed staff of this issue but they didn't seem to do too much. They said it's normal but it wasn't to me. I ended up paying to stay at another resort after I already paid to stay there. Bugs were all over the food. If I was an outdoorsy person, this would've been not so terrible. Plus there was no wifi in the rooms. They could have at least not charge me for the bar tab since they wouldn't refund me for the days I didn't stay. Never again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2016
nette Hotelanlage mit allein stehenden Häusern,Blick auf den Arenal, etwas außerhalb vom lauten La Fortuna
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

cheated

Posted Feb 24, 2016
they cheated - gave us junior suites instead of the suites I paid for and gave our suites to other guests so only after 2 days they gave us the suites. they credited us for the difference in price - but ruined our 2 first days of vacation. the suites were far from restaurant and front desk - so one couple had to move back to the room they got first. we with the other couple liked the suites and had to deal with the distance. no WiFi in the rooms although in the booking form it says that there is for $5 - but not, no Wifi at all. even in the restaurant it is not always working. at the pool not working at all. the hot springs have dirty water.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Convenient location and nice view.

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: see above
Cons: better lights in the room
Location: Lots to do - halfway between the National park and La Fortuna
Attractive room with great view of Arenal, but they had installed low wattage energy saving bulbs so very difficult to read in bed and shave in the bathroom. The bathroom shower was like a faucet - no spray - but plenty of volume. Otherwise, a nice breakfast, pleasant and helpful staff and flowering trees and bushes that attracted a variety of birds.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Towels lacking!

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Cons: They need to increase their towel supply.
Location: We were about 10 minutes from the town.
If we go to Costa Rica again I would not stay at this hotel. While the room was clean, there were no towels in the room and when I called the front desk I was told they were still in the dryer! They didn't mention this when we checked in and didn't even have a towel to dry hands after using the bathroom. They brought us two towels to start with even though there were three of us staying. They eventually brought us two more and the floor mat. On the 2nd day the maid took the dirty towels but never brought back clean ones or a new floor mat. Again we needed to call. Also, there are no shower curtains and the water sprays every where and they are very conservative with the towels. I have never had this problem at any hotel no matter what country I was in. It was very strange. We had a similar issue with the pool towels... very hard to get. The rate includes breakfast which was above average. The decor is very weird in the bathroom. The TV's are not flat screens and the picture is not great. No Wifi in hotel rooms which is a problem when traveling with young children. The hotel staff was very nice. We had a nice view of the volcano and they had several nice pools but we didn't have time to spend a lot of time at them.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Everything was great! An important thing to remember is that you are in Costa Rica..... Not in a Hilton, so not everything is perfect..... The staff was friendly and welcoming. The food was very good. The bugalow-style rooms are seperate from each other so it mades it a quiet stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to La Fortuna and am looking forward to go back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2015
No water in the morning meant no showers until after lunch. Hmmmmm
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northampton, MA

Secluded hot springs escape in the midst of Arenal

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: We love the hot springs, jacuzzi tub, and swim up bar/restaurant the best. And the pesto, ceviche, and vegetarian sandwiches were all delicious!
Cons: Nothing to improve!
I took my husband, 13-year-old neice, and 7-year-old daughter to Montana del Fuego, and we all had an incredible time. We had the hot springs practically to ourselves. If you are looking for a romantic get-away, this is the perfect location! And if you're going with your family, as we did, this spot is ideal. We barely left the premises! It was such a treat to be able to soak in the hot springs, surrounded by lush vegetation all around, and with an incredible view of the volcano. We ate lunch and drank margaritas right in the hot springs. The staff was all very generous, welcoming, and incredibly relaxed. I felt like I was at a giant spa all weekend! And the kids couldn't have loved it more. The room was comfortable and clean - our favorite Costa Rica hotel. I highly recommend Montana del Fuego!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from connecticut

the place has seen its better days

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: the hot tubs/ pools.
Cons: cleaner rooms. good running hot water.
hot water ran on and off without reason. therefore it is very difficult to enjoy a shower. the mattresses are moldy and smelly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calfornia

nice hotel, beautiful views

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Cons: Improve / and educate front desk to take care customers
The front desk do not respond what we requested, always says in a minute but we have to call again for several times. We ask for bath towels from 11AM till night time we still do not have towels, and also plumbing problems we have to call several times.