Ratings based on 1,974 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired, tatty and unclean but with a beautiful view

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: The fabulous views of the harbour and the car park was a bonus
Cons: Cleanliness, room decor and room facilities all need upgrading in this room.
Location: Close to vector arena, brittomart train station and the harbour
The Hotel has fabulous views and using the hotel car park is a definite bonus. The bed linen and towels were clean on arrival. The two bedroomed unit was small in comparison to others we have stayed in at other CBH hotels. The decor in the unit was tatty, some walls were chipped and stained, windows were dirty inside, the furniture needed a good steam clean and there were unsavoury stains on the carpet in both bedrooms and outside the bathroom. The sticky, dirty stains found on the bedside table when we arrived at the unit were still there when we left after our three night stay. The freezer made a noise like a small jet engine and despite a maintenance guy being called to the room to defrost the fan unit, the noise continued. As Reception would not let us move to another room we had to dismantle the freezer fan ourselves in order to stop the continuous, unacceptable din. If we had not been charged in full before arriving at the hotel we would not have stayed. We would not stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location, close to harbour front.

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Unfortunately, next door construction project proved to be very noisy distraction. Opening windows for fresh air proved problematic as wind was literally "whistling" through the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton NZ

Great Location

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: Locateion
Cons: Renovate bathroom would be good as needs it.
Location: Fantastic Location. Walking distance to Viaduct, Britomart & Queen Street
Hotel was easy to get too. Great location to walk around the CBD. Good mixture of restaurant and bars.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SYDNEY

Disgusting dont go there.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: The foyer nothing else
Cons: Apart from updating -CLEAN IT
Terrible. Foyer really nice but 2 bedroom unit appalling. Dirty room and bathroom. No air con, beds uncomfortable as you could feel the springs. No screens on windows so all the bugs came into the room. Had business partners with me so not a good impression. Dodgy part of the city across the road from a brothel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A dump by some brothels

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Was stuck in Auckland overnight due to canceled flights, phoned dozens of other hotels which were all full. Harbour Oaks had a room, but charged me $647/nt and claimed it was 4-Star on the phone. Well its actually mainly a residential tower with some rooms available for nightly rent. Seedy area of town, the dingiest elevators and dark, smelly, less than a meter-wide hallways, almost enough to turn me around without getting to the room. To their credit, once inside the room was OK, clean enough, but no where near 4-Star status - try 2-Star. Main issue was the rip-off price for the quality of accommodation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Fab location

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Love the location. Room was clean but tired, not what is pictured in the Expedia photo. We have stayed there twice now and would go back again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from auckland

Awesome views of the harbour

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Room was nice, just a little rough around the edges. The shower didn't drain properly which was annoying but not a major. Also there was no heatpump so with the nice weather the room was very hot, luckily there was some fans. Would stay there again for sure
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from perth Aus

disappointing

Posted Jan 16, 2017
A great location with excellent views of the harbour from the upper levels. The photos on the website looked great, I decided to pay the extra for a two bedroom suite on an upper level.... ( should of stayed elsewhere) everything was extremely disappointing. This place is in need of a serious tidy up! The common facilities / gym with worn dirty carpet and some broken equipment & the pool was out of service when I was there with filth all around the pool deck. I enquired about the pool with the manager, he said it had just been serviced and would be in operation when the chemical levels were balanced ... total BS as filterration system wasn't even turned on. The lobby on our level was terrible all the walls were scuffed and dirty needing a full repainted. There were mattresses left lying in the hallway with broken bits of furniture the entire time of our stay, the carpets looked filthy. We had to call room service and request a mattress protector as the bed was made with the sheet directly over the old mattress. We also called for new pillow cases as there was hair on the pillows ( not very inviting) The apartment walls and floor coverings were not much better then our lobby. The views were fantastic but for the price we paid, NO WAY!! We had been done hook line and sinker with those photos that must have been taken a very long time ago, before the place was run down! Needless to say that I wouldn't recommend it to anyone!
4 out of 5
by NEIL

Room with a fab view

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were lovely, and location excellent with the harbour view rooms having stunning views ! Great to have separated bedroom with kitchen - rooms a little tired, but didn't affect the stay - highly recommended accommodation
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
I tried to get the hotel to repair flush in the toilet for 3 days. No success. Very noisy area during weekends. Room was fairly clean, reception staff ok.