Ratings based on 255 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northants

Lovely and Disability friendly

Posted Aug 19, 2017
It was very friendly - the staff are very thoughtfull & the room was very good for a disabled person including the handrail for the shower / bath. I would certainly stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex, UK

Lovely staff, nice warm welcome.

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: The staff are all lovely, welcoming and helpful. The hotel is fairly convenient for the hospital, it is only a short taxi drive away.
Cons: The rooms need to be updated. Whilst comfortable, they are tired.
Location: An American themed restaurant is two minutes walk away along with a supermarket and other shops. The hotel cafe is also available.
Lovely staff, nice warm welcome. The staff are like a 'family' and seem happy to be there which makes for a nice welcoming stay. The breakfast was delicious. However, the rooms may have everything that you need but they are now very tired and need redecorating as a minimum. If you just need somewhere for the night, as I did for a hospital appointment, then it is fine. Should you be staying longer then updated rooms would make it more pleasant.
4 out of 5
by rob

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
All fine except the noise of parties being held at 4am. Inside and outside of the rooms! No obvious sign of this being with by the management. Not a killjoy but this was loud!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sleaford, Liincolnshire

visiting family

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: good breakfast - pleasant staff - comfortable bed
Cons: only 2 cups in room, glass in bathroom would be useful - a bit tired could do with a lick of paint, especially outside
Location: very quiet considering proximity to A127 -
pleasant enough & clean- you get what you pay for - suited our purpose
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Mandy

Excellent

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
The staff are extremely friendly an helpful. Service was excellent and food was so good.
1 out of 5
by Jill

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
Imagine an East European army barracks circa 1920 and then take away any of the comforts. You have the Campanile, Basildon. Only stay here if you actively seek out depression and misery.
2 out of 5
by Toni

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The first room we were given smelt of cigarette smoke so they moved us to another room. The second room was cold and noisy. They brought my daughter a blanket as she was cold. The restaurant was clean and the food good but the sleeping accommodation was a bit worn out and tatty.
4 out of 5
by ranjan

Campanile beechy visit

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
good stay, & comfortable. We always book Campanile for the simple fact that everything you need is at hand. One thing disappointing is the fact that I when requesting the wifi code, I was told by the lady at reception that because I booked through an agency I had to pay an extra charge for the use of it. That was disappointing, as wifi weather booked via an agency or directly should be free. Its 2017, there should be no extra cost for wifi. That's my only annoyance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Not so cheap and basic

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Room was for a non-smoker but smelt as though it had been recently smoked in. Very basic but all amenities for the stay. For the price could have stayed in a premier inn. Didn't as this was recommended by a friend as close to a venue for following day. Hotel staff friendly. Easy and easy out. Didn't stay for breakfast or dinner. Rooms could with modernisation. Reminded me of an old Butlins chalet.