Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bangor

Posted Sep 23, 2016
The Staff were great, had a very comfortable stay and the breakfast was beautiful..... will stay again if ever in the area again... definitely....
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta

Cozy, Quaint and Friendly

Posted Sep 23, 2016
We enjoyed our stay, the staff were accommodating and friendly, the hotel homey and Irish! Would totally recommend a stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Hotel very dated and over priced for what it was. Generally disappointed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from aberdeen

Nice quiet location

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: The tranquility.
Cons: It would be nice if the had a bench at the front of the hotel and the some of the Windows could do with being cleaned.
Location: There is a pub/ eatery on the opposite side of the road.
On day of arrival there was a wedding, later in the evening there was Irish music which they invited us to join in with. There was no buses on a Sunday but a short taxi ride to the nearby train station in Antrim which took 30 mins to Belfast. The grounds of the hotel were exceptional and the dining area overlooked the river. The food was beautiful and not over priced. Very helpful staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: The staff were very helpful
Cons: Carpets dirty and worn
Neat spot but a little worn. Lovely setting. Good food. Very helpful staff,,,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Adequate hotel in need of modernisation

Posted Aug 13, 2016
It was a comfortable large room but it is shabby and needs at least a paint. The bathroom is old fashioned with a not very good shower over the bath. The breakfast was not very good. No fresh fruit as I would expect.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c

Tired and poorly maintained but shouldn't be

Posted Aug 1, 2016
The hotel should be excellent, it has style and looks, location is a short drive from both Belfast and zloch Neath, yet the place has been let down, there has been money spent here but it appears the work has been carried out by a mate and not a professional. The place isn't cheap but shouldn't be, but it should be tip top rather than shoddy, eg, cracked floor tiles, poor standard of tiling but good quality tiles, shower curtain 6 inches short of the bath, a bath fitted poorly but with quality fittings , coving that has been fitted without care, little things but if you stay and pay should be better
4 out of 5
by aodhan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Carol from Dublin

A magical gem!

Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel may in places be in need of a fresh coat of paint but look beyond that and what you get is an oasis of calm and positive energy. Beautiful setting by the river - the experience of sitting on the banks at 9pm on a summer evening enjoying a glass of wine and listening to the birds and watching the fish jump cannot be beaten. Plus there's a pool and gym if you're feeling in need of something more energetic! We loved our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Hotel in need of an update

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: good location for our trip. full of character.
Cons: A friend of ours stayed here five years ago and said it was tired then. We thought in five years this would of happened. We are not sure it has...
Location: Close enough to the airport and Belfast if you have a Hire car or use local buses. Lough Neagh isn't to far away also.
First room smelt of damp, plug socket hanging off. They kindly changed the room and said that room had flooded recently. Second room better. Decor tired and dated throughout and at breakfast the food was so so and the dining room needed a good clean, cobwebs in light fitting for example. Grounds were lovely though.