Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by patrick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel stay

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Very helpful staff; we phoned ahead and were able to access the room early to attend a nearby wedding. Also, breakfast was very efficiently replenished by a very helpful lady and other staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not great

Posted Feb 29, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was selected due to it's location near to the client's site I was working at. The hotel is very dated and poorly maintained, lots of mold in the bathrooms and things falling off the wall! Staff were generally friendly but not professional or efficient. Food also fairly poor both room service and the restaurant. Felt like a packet had been put in the microwave!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not great

Posted Feb 20, 2016 on Hotels
this hotel is desperately in need of a return. rooms are dated and tired. quality of the food also leaves a lot to be desired. Staff are friendly but some clearly need more training!
1 out of 5
by John

Sort your wifi

Posted Dec 20, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel wifi was not working. There appeared to be no priority given to sorting it out. Had to go to local pub to send important emails. Hopeless for a business/conference hotel.
4 out of 5
by Dave from Bristol.

Comfortable base for Reading and surrounding area.

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
Comfortable hotel handy for Reading area provided you are driving. Good-sized room with comfortable bed, sofa and TV. Large bathroom also. Quibbles : toilet didn't flush totally efficiently, breakfast was expensive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Power cut at hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel had a power cut the night of our stay therefore there was no hot water, tea, or heating. Other than that, the room was nice and the bathroom was big. One of the lights had a missing lampshade, just would have been nice to have a shower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Went to battle proms at Highclere Castle. This was a gr8 place to stay.
5 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Amazing service thank you very much.

Posted Jul 30, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed here for one night with a friend for another friends wedding which was close by. The hotel is in nice surroundings and the room and building itself was very well kept. Check in was really quick and we were very fortunate to be able to get our room earlier than 2pm which was a massive help as we had to get ready and be at the wedding by 2pm. Upon departure in my haste to get packed and head home I stupidly left behind two items that were very important. I contacted the hotel and spoke to a lady called "Lisa" (I believe) I explained the situation and said I had left things behind. "Lisa" then called me back to confirm that housekeeping had located the items and she then took the time and effort to post me back said items for which I am extremely grateful. I cannot thank you and commend your service enough, you really went out of your way to provide customer satisfaction. Holiday Inn should be very happy to have this hotel and its team (especially Lisa) representing them.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2015 on Hotels
There were dead bugs on the windowsill which clearly hadn't been cleaned in along time.