Ratings based on 807 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bermuda summer vacation

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: The seclusion of the hotel and the on-site restaurant appealed to us.
Cons: We would love to see firm mattresses in the rooms.
Location: Downtown Hamilton is minutes away by cab or bus, as is the Sizzle Inn and restaurant.
The staff were friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived. This hotel has a wonderful secluded beach with gorgeous ocean water and coral heads for snorkeling footsteps away from your room. The restaurant and bar are conveniently located near the pool, overlooking the entire property. The food and beverages were promptly served and delicious. We did not want to leave.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very pretty, low key hotel

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Food and Beach
Cons: Need more chairs and umbrellas. Do not allow cruise ship people or other hotels to use the beach. Your patrons are fist priority.
Location: Hamilton nearby and not far from Horseshoe Bay
Beach is very pretty. Rooms cleaned well every day. Staff very nice. Food expensive, but very good. Excellent Chef. Hotel only 10 minutes to Hamilton by bus. One very big problem is the hotel does not have enough beach chairs and umbrellas for guests, yet they have people from another hotel come use the beach; also, they have a deal with the cruise ships that let their guests use Coco Reef beach. Need to improve greatly on this and keep the beach private for their own patrons and have enough chairs and umbrellas. People go to Bermuda for their beautiful beaches, so this should be top priority. Other than that major problem, a nice stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: The beach and the pool were very nice. The room was ample.
Cons: The ceiling fan did not work, there was no fitness facility. The pillows were too stiff.
Location: Close to Hamilton and Horseshoe Bay.
The staff was friendly, beach was wonderful. I would recommend it. Just a couple of minor things need attention.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic beach but sub-par facilities

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: the ocean is so so so clear: also access to much better food next hotel over
Cons: tired decor; you PAY to stay here - why the creepy art, faded yellowed beach towels from 1971, and verbal acoustics from upstairs and next door?
Location: Elbow Beach, "Modern Market" access, Bermuda College grounds a stone's throw, lava reefs to snorkel amongst, uncrowded beach, crystal clear water
Let me give a shout out to Steve, who is by far their best employee. He goes far above and beyond & even helped me when I was far from the place & we ran into each other. Also, China is sweet, regulated, and comforting as a front desk person. Really loved them both. The food, unfortunately is crazily overpriced and basic. I'm not a picky breakfast eater but their $20 full breakfast is a joke. Stator Brothers grocery chain boxed shelf items taste fresher. Slow service. Rooms are cruddy - Motel 6 does better decor. Creepy giant scowling painting of a "blue" skinned lady looking down at you in your bed from a 3 by 6 foot painting with severe eyebrows. Wanted to cover it up but so big would have needed a Bedspread. (Not first to comment on this). Beach is there (stayed in building 2) and LOVED their lawns, bushes, trees, etc. Wooden stairs are very creaky, loose, and missing lots of lights at night (on the path to the beach). You can walk into town . . . good exercise but being middle-aged, I did a lot of huffing and puffing gong up and down hills & i'm underweight. The entire hotel (NOT a resort, won't use that word) is on a series of hills. It is taxing to trek about. If you remember zero lines from this impromptu review, please remember the mountain goat trekking. No one, not even the young, looked contented going, up, up, up, up, up, up, up every hill. Going down is so steep that I used the lawns to give me traction. don't honeymoon here - I heard way more than I should hv.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Good views, nice beach

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Location. Thursday night bbq very nice
Cons: The hotel has a deal with cruise lines to permit use of the property by passengers on a daily fee basis which can make the property a bit crowded
Location: Other than a market 10 minutes away there is really not much in the neighborhood
The hotel is well situated on a nice beach. Staff is helpful and facilities are modest but adequate Elbow Beach resort is next door and has a couple of restaurants and tennis courts
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The staff was extremely friendly and also helpful in assisting us with daily activities and the location was perfect, right on the beach.
Location: The location was right on the beach which was perfect. Also, the bus stop was right outside the hotel, if you decided to venture out to town.
We had a great time. Kerry and Edie at the front desk were exceptional. Took so much time to help us plan our daily activities and provide us with bus info, and dinner reservations for each day. They were extremely helpful. The hotel is beautiful and location on the beach is perfect. The beach is absolutely beautiful and very private. Not crowded at all. It is also a good location because it is a short bus ride to hamilton and the dockyard. The restaurant overlooks the beach and the food was very good. Ronnie at the bar was also a pleasure to hang out with and helpful with some island tips. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's on the beach but that's about it.

Posted Jul 11, 2016
The staff wasn't very friendly (except for the housekeepers). The hotel is extremely dated. Our toilet seat was broken the ice machine shocked one of the other guests in front of us in line. We didn't opt for the breakfast Thankfully because the food looked terrible. Some of the other guests wives said they had to wear flip flops in the shower. The pictures on the website show a beach bar there isn't one. We had to walk down the beach to an adjacent hotels beach bar. The beach is very nice however they sell day passes and the space and more importantly the umbrellas are limited. I find it absurd to pay that much for a room and not be able to have adequate bech furniture due to the hotel selling day passes.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Wonderful hotel just steps away from the beach

Posted Jul 5, 2016
My husband and I stayed at coco reef for a vacation and we absolutely loved it. The hotel staff were so friendly and accommodating. The food was delicious! My only complaint is that the room facilities are run down and need renovating. We will definitely be back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice beach.

Posted Jul 5, 2016
The staff was very nice, pleasant and helpful. Everyone we met greeted us with a smile and were very friendly. The food is good but very expensive, much cheaper options outside the resort. The room was ok, as with everything else here, upgrades and repairs are in dire need. Everywhere you look in the resort you will find needs of repair and upgrade, everywhere. I'm not a picky person, but for the prices they're charging things should be repaired. The outside light on my balcony was literally tied to the roof with string because it couldn't be attached to the wall any longer due to the wall being badly deteriorated along with exposed wiring (room #216). Speaking of the balcony, they have a million dollar view completely obscured by a $20 piece of wood, they use 3 2"x6" planks as railings, you can't see the ocean if you're sitting down on the chairs provided, frustrating and downright dumb. Overall I'm happy with my vacation/getaway in Bermuda, but I would not stay here again due to the prices and condition of the resort.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Our 8th trip to Bermuda in different hotels

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: The location was very good and the beach was wonderful. There were beautiful views of the crystal clear, aqua colored water and the incredible clouds
The exterior of the hotel looks very nice but the room was disappointing. - there were holes in the curtains, - the room door was warped and difficult to open and close - the drawers didn't slide in and out without effort because they had warped - the air conditioner went out one night and the next morning the floor was covered in water - the hair dryer was not very warm and it was difficult to use - there was a small refrigerator but the door to the cabinet it was in did not close - the staff was nice, but many at the desk could not answer questions - to get a pencil sharpened, someone from another office offered to do it because the front desk couldn't - the cleaning lady, Andrea, was very nice and did a great job It just seemed to be a bit tired. Hopefully in the future there will be some upgrades on the interiors.