Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was amazing

Posted Feb 7, 2017
We had an amazing time everything was harmonious and I love the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2017
A beautiful property located in Big Sur's forest with distant views of the Pacific Ocean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Big Sur Classic

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Luxury rustic. Exceptual service. We especially enjoyed the walking path through the redwoods to the restaurant overlooking the coast (although rides are provided by another route for those who might prefer them).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Peaceful and romantic with wooded charm

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: From the wooded trails, one can see the Nepenthe Restaurant and shop. Very popular. Nearby is the Deetchen's Big Sur Inn - nice restaurant.
This is an adults only hotel with appointments to match. Two swimming pools - one for clothing optional. Two Japanese baths - one for clothing optional. In our room there were frosted French doors that could be opened to reveal the tub (very deep); this also allowed natural light into the bathroom. Toilet was in a separate room. The site includes a fitness room and a library. Every afternoon there is a wine and cheese table - no charge. The restaurant patio has an almost 180 degree view of the ocean. All the buildings are set within, or adjacent, to wooded areas that include large redwood trees. There are many activities on site; we enjoyed the morning Yoga class.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bermuda

Fantastic hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2016
This was a real treat for my husband and I. We absolutely loved it here. The atmosphere was uber relaxed. The place itself is magical, between the woods, ocean and sky. We enjoyed the hike, lunch and breakfast at the restaurant (jaw dropping views), the evening wine and cheese happy hour, the stunning scenery, the beautiful room, daily morning yoga class and the lovely staff. We will be back... magical! Thank you!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Do not book this hotel or use Expedia

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Nothing: lovely looking hotel but the cancellation charges are punitive and totally unfair
Cons: I've always wanted to stay at this hotel. Other than Post Ranch Inn it looks like the best on the Big Sur. But its 14 day cancellation policy is preposterous and unfair. I booked a night 2 weeks in advance and due to pressure of work had to cancel a few days later, some 5 days befoare my check-in date. Ventana Inn / Expedia took the full one night charge (not cheap) from me and neither Ventana nor Expedia was inclined to cut me a break with some kind of refund, despite the room most likely being resold. Do not stay here or book anything through Expedia! I ended up paying a lot of money for zero service / flexibility.
Location: No idea.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice ambience but a bit dated now

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: location, walk from rooms to dining, nice woodsy feeling. Room and bath were nice, although dark. Has nice feel to it. Parking attendants were great.
Cons: Dining room decor not commensurate with its prices, and hotel rating. staff was ok, hard to get more coffee etc. Rooms seemed dated although nice.
Location: Location is for outdoorsy types which we are but unfortunately, the fires in area had most of parks closed for hiking. Pfeiffer Beach was open, fun.
Got room upgrade as was husband's birthday and champagne on check in which was very nice. Rooms look a bit dated and dark. Two mornings there were several things on menu not available that we wanted. Didn't really open or promote terrace overlooking ocean which is a highlight of property. Terrace looks run down, furniture not in good shape, pillows all down and strewn around - felt unmaintained. When we arrived back at our room the cleaning people were there and thought they were almost through but they didn't excuse themselves, kept cleaning for at least another 15 minutes including vacuum which sounded like a jet engine. They didn't speak English and I didn't ask them leave because thought they were able to any minute and I don't speak Spanish, jestering seemed rude, used our phone to check in with boss, etc.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't think about it, just book it!

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
Big Sur is nature at its best and Ventana Inn provides every accommodation that you could think of at 5 stars across the board!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Laura from Laguna Beach

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
Ventana is a beautiful 300+ acre facility in the middle of Big Sur. If you explore the property you will find hammocks, rocking chairs and redwoods to sit on and just enjoy the quiet. Staff was exceptional and we enjoyed every minute of it.