Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2017
A beautiful property located in Big Sur's forest with distant views of the Pacific Ocean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Big Sur Classic

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Luxury rustic. Exceptual service. We especially enjoyed the walking path through the redwoods to the restaurant overlooking the coast (although rides are provided by another route for those who might prefer them).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Peaceful and romantic with wooded charm

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: From the wooded trails, one can see the Nepenthe Restaurant and shop. Very popular. Nearby is the Deetchen's Big Sur Inn - nice restaurant.
This is an adults only hotel with appointments to match. Two swimming pools - one for clothing optional. Two Japanese baths - one for clothing optional. In our room there were frosted French doors that could be opened to reveal the tub (very deep); this also allowed natural light into the bathroom. Toilet was in a separate room. The site includes a fitness room and a library. Every afternoon there is a wine and cheese table - no charge. The restaurant patio has an almost 180 degree view of the ocean. All the buildings are set within, or adjacent, to wooded areas that include large redwood trees. There are many activities on site; we enjoyed the morning Yoga class.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bermuda

Fantastic hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2016
This was a real treat for my husband and I. We absolutely loved it here. The atmosphere was uber relaxed. The place itself is magical, between the woods, ocean and sky. We enjoyed the hike, lunch and breakfast at the restaurant (jaw dropping views), the evening wine and cheese happy hour, the stunning scenery, the beautiful room, daily morning yoga class and the lovely staff. We will be back... magical! Thank you!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Do not book this hotel or use Expedia

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Nothing: lovely looking hotel but the cancellation charges are punitive and totally unfair
Cons: I've always wanted to stay at this hotel. Other than Post Ranch Inn it looks like the best on the Big Sur. But its 14 day cancellation policy is preposterous and unfair. I booked a night 2 weeks in advance and due to pressure of work had to cancel a few days later, some 5 days befoare my check-in date. Ventana Inn / Expedia took the full one night charge (not cheap) from me and neither Ventana nor Expedia was inclined to cut me a break with some kind of refund, despite the room most likely being resold. Do not stay here or book anything through Expedia! I ended up paying a lot of money for zero service / flexibility.
Location: No idea.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Nice ambience but a bit dated now

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: location, walk from rooms to dining, nice woodsy feeling. Room and bath were nice, although dark. Has nice feel to it. Parking attendants were great.
Cons: Dining room decor not commensurate with its prices, and hotel rating. staff was ok, hard to get more coffee etc. Rooms seemed dated although nice.
Location: Location is for outdoorsy types which we are but unfortunately, the fires in area had most of parks closed for hiking. Pfeiffer Beach was open, fun.
Got room upgrade as was husband's birthday and champagne on check in which was very nice. Rooms look a bit dated and dark. Two mornings there were several things on menu not available that we wanted. Didn't really open or promote terrace overlooking ocean which is a highlight of property. Terrace looks run down, furniture not in good shape, pillows all down and strewn around - felt unmaintained. When we arrived back at our room the cleaning people were there and thought they were almost through but they didn't excuse themselves, kept cleaning for at least another 15 minutes including vacuum which sounded like a jet engine. They didn't speak English and I didn't ask them leave because thought they were able to any minute and I don't speak Spanish, jestering seemed rude, used our phone to check in with boss, etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2016
No one mentioned Pacific fog! Could not see the view at any time during our stay. Without the view the hotel didn't amount to anything special
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Magical experience

Posted May 19, 2016
I travel all over and this was truly one of my favorite places. It was a magical experience worth every penny. The views, the pools, the food, the room was all incredible.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Big Sur, California

Too Rich For My Blood

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: The physical. The room, it's furnishings, the setting. This was the first time I slept in Big Sur without a sleeping bag.
Cons: It isn't enough to bombard people with service. Good service also shows some discretion.
Location: Point Lobos State Reserve(!!!), Andrew Molera State Park, Limekiln State Park, Prewitt Ridge and Plunkett Creek campgrounds, Monterey Bay Aquarium.
Valet only parking. A bellman who refuses my requests to carry my own damned bag. Cluelessly managed waitstaff. For a place with so MUCH service, it'd be nice if they could set a a more comfortable balance. I'm sorry I forgot about the turn down service, but I hated returning from dinner to lights on that I specifically extinguished and all the shades drawn. At the restaurant I told the seater I was a vegetarian, but my appetizer arrived garnished with deep fried meat. The servers gave the wrong dish to me and my father EVERY time. It was such a joke that the server put my dad's coffee in the geometric middle of the table. That's a management problem. Surely, they have a bigger vocabulary than "el gabaccho viejo" (I'm 52. Dad's 80).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.Y.

Great private cabin (although connecting cabins)

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: Location and cabin like feel. Great restaurant over looking the ocean.
Cons: Price. Pool could be warmer.
Location: Great location as far as being in a mountain environment. Restaurants and shops not far.
Great cabin experience in the heart of Big Sur. Friendly staff, beautiful views and comfy rooms.