Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Samuel from Austin, Texas

Great time in a beautiful setting!

Posted Dec 7, 2015 on Hotels
We had a wonderful time during a recent three-night stay here. The staff were friendly and always receptive to our requests. The rooms are as advertised: interesting and comfortable given the decor. The facilities were nice (I even got to use the indoor tennis court). I do agree with others that you should consider having your own transportation before staying here if you want to daily venture into town. The restaurant was comfortable and good enough when we need to dine there. And I thought breakfast was more than adequate with a diverse offering of the general European breakfast fare. Enjoyed it thoroughly!
3 out of 5
by ALEKSANDR from Korolyov

Going downhill

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed in a cottage for a couple of days with 2 kids. The house was extremely nice and cozy - just the right setup and atmosphere. Enjoyed it very much. The area is very peaceful; swimming pool is also quite good - kids enjoyed it a lot. Restaurant was the weakest point of the stay - the food was at best average for Hungarian standards, and the service basically didn't exist. We had 4 meals there - were never offered a seat or a drink; even when we asked for beer, it didn't come. Overall feeling was that the place has its peak in the past and is now slowly going downhill.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall good stay but far from the city

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel, comfortable rooms but you must have a car to get around. It is about 45 minutes from the airport in a beautiful area but there is really nothing around. The cottages were clean and comfortable, the breakfast was just mediocre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Prague

In the forrest and close to downtown

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: Cottage, pool, nature
Cons: breakfast
Location: In the nature, just few km from downtown
Very nice facility in the forrest, kids friendly with pool, tennis, table tenis and just 15 min drive from center. Enjoyed very much
3 out of 5
by Michelle from Wiesbaden

Posted Jul 13, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed one night and forfeited the money for the other three nights. Could of handled the heat without air conditioning but could not handle the kids freaking out over the bugs that came out at night through the crevices. Too bad I had already paid for four nights. No refund was offered. :(
4 out of 5
by Zoltan from London

beautiful location makes up for mediocre else

Posted Jun 27, 2015 on Hotels
The are the hotel is situated at is beautiful, albeit remote, so recommended only for those who have a car. Some of the things in our room did not work, such as the room safe, and the taps were leaking. The room was clean to begin with, but the daily maintenance only comprised of giving us new soap, and even when we explicitly asked our room to be cleaned, and got a positive answer, it still wasn't done. The staff was friendly, but only helpful on a can't be bothered level. The restaurant was never open in the evenings even at times when it was supposed to be open, so we were always referred to elsewhere to eat exhausted after long days of walk. Breakfast choice was poor, and although the hotel is advertised to have free wifi, it is actually only free in the lobby, and available for extra charge in the room However in my opinion the quite and nature close location of the hotel makes up for all of the above.
4 out of 5
by Darlene- Destinations by Design from Firestone, Colorado

The country-side of Budapest

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels
Petnehazy is in a beautiful setting. It has private cabins in a quiet, quasi-suburban area. It it located on some acreage that oversees hills/trees/countryside. Each cabin has it's own sauna and deck area. The staff were mostly fluent in English. They were helpful but I do believe there was some language barriers. Be persistent and they will hang in there with you so you get all the information you need. The food was delicious. If you are looking for a relaxing, private week, this would be a great place. On the other hand, it is a 20 minute walk to catch public transportation and then a bus and tram were needed to get near the city, minimum 50 minutes to the heart of Buda-Pest. Taxi was about $40.00 one way. The transportation system is relatively easy to learn if you have used large city transportation
5 out of 5
by Mark from Bristol

What a fantastic venue

Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels
I booked this venue for a getaway and was not disappointed. From the moment I contacted the hotel about the airport shuttle bus nothing was too much trouble. They sent me full details of the venue and this helped us to plan what we needed to take and how far the shops were away. I would recommend anybody to book this venue and go for one of the log cottages they are lovely and ours had a sauna. We are thinking of going back in the summer it was that good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Harmony from Colorado

Gorgeous hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2013
By far, one of the best places I've stayed. We arrived late and the hotel staff checked us in with complete friendliness. Each staffer we talked to spoke English. There were a lot of American travelers as well, as this is a time share exchange hotel. Breakfast was great, hotel was clean. It is quite away from the city, but we were in a car, so didn't deal with public transportation.
5 out of 5
by stvedeh from England

hotel location

Posted Jun 17, 2013 on Hotels
Nice hotel with fab apartments. Good facilities but a bit of a poor restaurant although we didn't eat there in the evenings as it was empty (self catering). We were travelling without a car so were limited to bus travel. The nearest bus stop is about a fifteen minute walk away down a hill. There has been mention of a shop near to the bus stop but forget it, it was run down and had nearly no stock. The five minute bus ride to the bus/tram station was worth a trip with a supermarket next to it. There is a bus about every twenty minutes to half hour. Overall a nice place to relax and perhaps have a good walk and relax by the pool.