Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Live the experience of Buenos Aires Argentina

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Hotel has a very special character. Being build in 1867 but modernized. We felt like we had our own appartment.
Very quiet place, staff absolutely fantastic, walking distance to many attractions, many restaurants and Tango show near by. The staff at the hotel were great. Nathalia went out of her way to make our stay so wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great Place to stay in San Telmo

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Very helpful staff; willing to help direct when and what to do and see. Very satisfying breakfast and in general, a very pleasant stay.
Cons: Wifi did not always work in our room.
Location: Very close to the Sunday markets, good restaurants and bars nearby. If you are interested in the Tango, it will be all around you on the streets.
Close to many wonderful cafes, bars and the Sunday open market. Enjoyed 4 excellent days at this hotel and would definitely return if given the opportunity.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Cute and original

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: Very original design, staff and location
Location: local market, art galleries, bars, restaurants.
It's small hotel, no restaurant, just little bar where also breakfast is served. Bar may be cozy, but very nice, furnished with antique chairs and great paintings on the wall. Rooms are very original with mezzanine, I loved it! If you don't mind walking stairs you will like this hotel very much! Staff is very, very nice and always helpful. Everybody was super friendly. Location is great in older part of the city , but full of little art galleries and bars. 10 min walking to Casa Rosada. One important thing for people who like watching TV in bed - pay 10$ more for bigger room and you have tv in bedroom. In smaller suite it is in living room. Rooms are super clean!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quirky hotel in lively area

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
Quirky hotel with interesting split-level rooms. But this means that air conditioning struggles to cope with warm nights in the upper sleeping area. Breakfast a bit basic but good wifi and attentive staff. Local area is gritty but good for bars, cafes and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Thank you for taking the time to share your coments with the comunity. Hope to see you back soon...! Kins regards Patricio Harrington General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well located

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
It was fine, but I'd hoped it would be better. The photos on the web page are significantly more glamorous than the rooms. Breakfast OK. Wifi in rooms was not good--lots of slow movement and disconnections. Water was not hot in shower for one day, but it did become fixed after we asked. Lovely architecture and renovation. Drains in courtyard smelled quite a bit some times. Pleasant staff.
5 out of 5
by Richard from Los Angeles

True to it's name

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
I thought this hotel was a great value. It looked and felt luxurious for the money, and the service was great from the very start. We have a 20 month old son, and we were a little nervous about the stairs, but we just were careful, and everything worked out great. The bed and bathrooms were particularly memorable, and it was really nice to have the extra living area. It felt like a small apartment, less the kitchen. The location was perfect for accessing all the interesting sights around town, as well as great markets and restaurants. San Telmo is the best area for walking, in my opinion. When we come back to Buenos Aires, we will always stay here. Great hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coventry, UK

Absolutely lovely hotel in San Telmo neighborhood

Posted Apr 25, 2016
The hotel was in the perfect location, lots of amenities close by and perfect for anyone wanting to savour the cuisines in Buenos Aires, as well as the tango! Very close to Plaza de Mayo and not a huge distance away from other attractions. Room was brilliant and incredibly comfortable, we'll designed and furnished! Definitely would stay here again.
4 out of 5
by russell from San Francisco

The suite life in San Telmo

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
Love this hotel, and will return again and again -- so long as the San Telmo Suites will have me. Two minor drawbacks: (1) Can hear between rooms at times, and (2) my kid did not have much to eat for breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Kate

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was great, the hotel/rooms were fantastic looking, beds were comfortable, the rooftop lounge was very pretty. The manager was very helpful and honest -- we asked him for a cab and to change money, and he told us how to do those things directly because if the hotel did it it would cost much more due to taxes, I think. (There was a plumbing issue causing one bathroom to smell terribly of urine - so bad we could not even go inside it -- but since we had 2 bathrooms in our room and were only staying 2 nights, we didn't bring it to the management's attention, so I can't comment on how they would have dealt with that had it been a real issue.) In a very cool, walkable neighborhood that seemed like the Brooklyn of BA. Would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
by emily from New York city

Posted Mar 19, 2016 on Hotels
Our flight to BA arrived at 4 am, the hotel staff was very accommodating to us, let us use the "living room" downstairs to relax before the room was ready.