Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2017
The hotel met our expectations. Clean and the hotel was accommodating with extra towels we requested.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Angela D. Robinson, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We hope to be of service to you in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hays, Ks

Hotel itself is OK. Staff... not so much.

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Pros: Clean. Beds are good.
Cons: Staff could use a little customer service training. Expedia or the hotel could provide a receipt for use during business trips.
Location: This hotel seemed to be in a good location. Right off the highway.
This hotel is clean and nice, especially for the price. Check in experience was OK other than the lady at the front desk was on the phone and did not acknowledge my arrival, or the gentleman that came in behind me, or the next gentleman that came in behind him for several minutes. When she finally made time for us, everything went fine. Breakfast offers no protein sources but they do have a waffle maker and some cereal. When I checked out the next morning, the gentleman behind the desk refused to give me a receipt because I had booked using Expedia. He informed me he didn't have a receipt and I would have to contact them. Throughout the conversation he pretty much just sat in the chair staring at the computer and didn't bother to even look up much. All in all, this hotel was OK, but I think I'll try the one next door the next time I stay in Chanute.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smelly -

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: It was there...a place to stay next to one of the main N-S streets. It is what it is and small towns I guess have a hard time supporting anything more
Cons: Food, furniture within the room - I only had three drawers...under the TV in the far corner of the room. Seating was broken down and uncomfortable -
Location: Not much in Chanute - few places to dine, fewer still that are any good...Los Pueblitos near Wal Mart is about the best, don't recommend El Charro.
On arrival in my room it had an unpleasant smell - even though it was cold outside the window was open , perhaps to air it out. I reported the condition but it was obvious no one was interested. Breakfast is definitely 2 star, but the breakfast area was clean and without trash. Until the new Holiday Inn opens this hotel is the best option in town - the motel across the street looks considerably worse, however for the price this one does not provide that level of value. There was no onsite manager - the GM covers a number of properties and I was told they are seldom there, the assistant manager who had covered this site had quit and moved away so there was no one here to provide oversight. When you check out they require to to sign your final bill with a clause that allows Wyndham and their associates to contact you at their will unless you call a number and opt out!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One night stay

Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Hotels
It was fine for the night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not so good

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: close to events
Cons: Bedspreads were stained and carpets.
Location: close to all activities.
Room cancelled by employee that was let go. Did not know until day I was due ti arrive for a class reunion (50th). fortunately the had a room for the first night. there were many people from out of town who experienced this.
4 out of 5
by Mikayla

Great for a business stay

Posted Sep 22, 2017 on Hotels
Check in was fast and efficient, however, check out was not so smooth because we had to cancel our second night due to a change in plans, and there was some confusion/miscommunication. The room was great for just a quick night's stay while on business. Clean room and clean linens, however, there was a big dead bug laying on the floor when I walked in. I simply used a tissue to throw it away, but notified the front desk worker immediately. She was very surprised so it didn't seem to be a recurring issue.
3 out of 5
by Darron

New motel in independence. recommend the drive.

Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Hotels
Remote did not work, no elevator for second floor. Second rate hotel, to be sure.
4 out of 5
by eh

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Hotel Shower

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Cons: Update the bathroom
Location: Wal-Mart was less than a mile away and near by my son's school.
The only thing I didn't like was the shower head, it was not spraying the way it should be.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

As to be expected from a small town

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on CheapTickets
The hotel was as expected from a small town. Rooms were not that clean. Comforter was stained, dust all around the room and on the lamps. Bed was ok and showed was ok. Nothing special about this hotel. One person Samantha, who checked us in - seemed to care if we were taken care of. Other than that (the rest of the staff did not speak, smile or offer any warm greeting).