Ratings based on 235 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
31% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dixon, CA

Cockroach, loud guests, and "drumming" killed it.

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: It was convenient, parking was easy, sheets and towels were clean.
Cons: Fix the clock radio, kill the cockroaches, and ask guests to turn down their TV sets after 11:00
When we first got to the place, it seemed like your typical modest motel accommodations. They let us check in early and off we went to our afternoon activity. We returned at about 9:00pm. There was a cockroach in the bathroom. I'm not freaked out by such things, so I just killed it and flushed it, but there just shouldn't be a cockroach in my room. Then, I could hardly sleep all night. The walls are like paper and I could hear the TV's going in the adjacent room and I think the room above us as well. So it's not like I could just sit and listen until I went to sleep. They were both going and it was just distracting. I went to bed fairly early (10:30-ish) so I thought it would quiet down after awhile. They were still going at 2:30am. Finally the TVs shut off and it was then that I heard the clock radio. There was a short in the speaker and it would make this very soft (but very loud when it was finally quiet) rhythmic buzzing sound. It wasn't enough that I got up to fix it, but it also wouldn't let me sleep. It was like we had a little gnome in the radio practicing his drumming every few minutes. I finally got up to use the restroom and pulled the plug.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from reno

Very noisy location and property was not clean

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
The walkway and stairs were filthy. The rain didn't even wash away the grime. Very poor lighting in the room. Couldn't play cards. Burn hole in the blanket, hole in the towel. Ants in the bathroom. It was partially painted. Traffic noise was terrible. Breakfast was cheerios and fruit loops packaged danish. No bowl for cereal, had to put in coffee cup. It was a disappointment. The property did not look as fresh and clean as on the computer.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Total Dive

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: TV worked and it had hot water. Location is downtown which is good, but many homeless people frequent the area.
Cons: Clean carpets and sidewalks, enforce smoking policies, modernize walls and windows, better bedding, towels, mattresses and pillows, enhance breakfast.
Location: Downtown area has food, drink and shopping but homeless population overwhelms the area as does the smell of urine.
The building is very old and paint does not hide its poor condition and obsolescence, mattress is uncomfortable, pillows old, furniture old and beaten, stains in carpet throughout, dead cockroaches on floor, toilet leaked, noise from upstairs units was excessive, window screen missing, cigarette smell strong in non-smoking room, chintzy thin towels, breakfast is as low grade as is possible, dirty, smelly, old. TV worked well and there was hot water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nor Cal

Overall enjoy are stay

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Overall it was what we needed, clean and comfortable. The room is little small, but great amenitie in the room; nice refrigerator and microwave and coffee pot ( which was a great plus, most motels dont have these anymore). Plenty of parking, walkable to a great thrift shop, gas station, close by different shops and very convenient to get back to the highway. There were some interesting type of people who were hanging around, but Still felt safe. We overall enjoy are stay. Thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Front Office Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Customer, Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your feedback. Best Regards, Americas Best Value Inn Chico
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly, helpful staff but gross rooms.

Posted Oct 13, 2017
The carpet was old, worn, and had large holes covered by duct tape. The phone and clock radio looked like they had never been wiped down. The bathroom was so old and gross that we didn’t take showers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by ABVI Chico, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving a review. your feedback is helpful. We apologize for the poor conditions of the room. The carpets in certain rooms are being replaced with new ones. Thank you staying with us. Best Regards, Americas Best Value Inn Chico
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap hotel for Oktoberfest

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Cheap and available for Oktoberfest.
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Near downtown shuttle stop for Sierra Nevada Brewery Oktoberfest.
Pubic hair on floor of bathroom, burn holes in the blankets, bedside lamps/outlets did not work, no garbage can in bathroom. When every other room in Chico is booked for Oktoberfest, stay here. Otherwise, stay somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Alex (concierge), Hotel Management
We at Americas Best Value Inn send our apologies to you and we are working on fixing our issues thanks for staying with us
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles CA

Hotel needs to work on CS

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Customer service re-training; new bathrooms, new floor or carpet;
Got to counter and even that I greeted the 2 staff members (a male, a female), they were very busy fixing something on their computer; finally they got to me and told them I have a reservation, that process was quick, not even 5 minutes; when we got to our room, it was messy, not clean and smelly; when back to main office and told them about the room; they were worried about who's maid did not did her job rather than apologized to me; the male staff member was young but had no politeness nor customer service at all; the female staff member after seeing her coworker just being quiet looking for another room, came to me saying 'so sorry about this, we are trying to fix it and give you a different room'; the young guy gave me a new set of keys and said, okay, you are set again. New room (219) was clean. Also, WiFi never worked for me, it always had a poor signal; I asked one person that seemed to work at this place about it and he said that its because all guess might be connected at same time; hello? you should know that you have a hotel and that you need a better internet service in order to serve all of your guess's conections.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Front Office Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Customer, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We understand the mistake of providing you with an unclean room and we do apologize. There is no excuse for a lack of an apology and our staff is being reminded of how to conduct themselves in a customer service environment. We cannot speak on behalf of whoever gave the reasoning for the poor wifi connection. Our high speed internet is capable of handling many users. We are sorry you could not get a proper connection. If you decide to stay with us again, we will make sure you do not have any similar issues of your last stay. Best Regards, Americas Best Value Inn Chico
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ROCKLIN

UNFORTUNATE

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: THE LOCATION WAS CLOSE TO COLLEGE, SHOPPING AND FOOD AND BEVERAGE.
GOOD LOCATION, BUT TERRIBLE UPKEEP ON FACILITIES.VERY UNSANITARY. COCKROACHES IN THE BATHROOM. SHOWER HEAD DOES NOT MOVE. AC UNIT FALLING APART.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by Front Office Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Brewno, We are happy to see your appreciation for the location of our property. Thank you for leaving us a review and staying with us. We apologize for not providing adequate facilities. Rooms are currently being renovated with new equipment and carpets. We have pest control who will take care of the cockroach issue. Thank you again for staying with us. Best Regards, Americas Best Value Inn Chico
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Couldn't get the AC to work and kept finding bugs in the bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Front Office Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Customer, Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are sorry you were not able to get the air conditioner working. The A/C units are controlled by wall thermostats and have power switches are commonly overlooked. The front desk staff would have been capable to get it running and we apologize if they were not able to assist you. Sometimes bugs can get into a room. We have routine pest control work that will take care of this issue. Thank you for staying with us. Best Regards, Americas Best Value Inn Chico
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

OK for 1 Night

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Stained bedding was a little unnerving. It would have been nice to be notified of the handicap room. Also, why rent out a room with fresh paint?
Location: 5 minute Lyft ride to Sierra Nevada brewery. Walking distance to downtown. Coffee shop close by.
Luckily we were only staying here for 1 night. The location and the price are the main reasons we chose this hotel. It is located right downtown, walking distance from everything. We were 2 adults and we got a room with 1 double bed. It was the handicap room in the corner of the building. It was pretty small but the bed was more comfortable than it looked (I forgot how small a double bed really is for 2 people). You just have to mentally get past the fact that the top red blanket on the bed was obviously stained in several places. Still, it smelled and felt clean. The bathroom was weird with the walk-in shower and no bath walls. The entire floor of the bathroom was wet after a shower. Also, the toilet constantly ran the entire time we were there which was loud but we are heavy sleepers and it was fine. Upon entering the room, the window was wide open and the room smelled strongly of paint (which didn't bother us as we weren't spending much time in the room). I was very happy to see that there was a mini refrigerator for our beer and a coffee maker for the morning. We were in town for Oktoberfest at Sierra Nevada and only stayed in the room for 30 minutes upon arrival. We slept in the room from 1am-10am, showered and left. The staff was friendly and the check-in/check-out process was fast and easy. I had no problems with my bill.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2017 by Alex (concierge), Hotel Management
We at Americas Best Value Inn thank you for staying with us.We are aware of your complaint and are taking further precautions to ensure great guest satisfaction. Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn Sincerely, Americas Best Value Inn