Ratings based on 218 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
32% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

never going back

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: work on getting things fixed. running toilet, brken windows bad smells
run down. window broken. could not close. on ground floor. middle of the night window was opened more from someone outside. reported it and got no action other than you can go to another hotel we have no other rooms available at this time. maybe later a room will open up. I left,
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by ABVI Chico, Hotel Management
Dear Customer, Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We appreciate your feedback and apologize for the quality of your room. Rooms are being renovated. Best Regards, Americas Best Value Inn Chico
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

So dirty that we left

Posted Aug 30, 2017
The room was so dirty that we left and paid for a room at a different hotel. I could not bring myself to sit down on the bed. The bedding looked like it had never been washed. It smelled very dirty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by ABVI Chico, Hotel Management
Dear Customer, Thank you for writing a review. Your feedback is helpful and appreciated. We apologize for the condition of the room. Upon request we would have made a room change. Renovations are being made to rooms this year. The upgraded quality will meet better conditions. Thank you for staying with us. Best Regards, Americas Best Value Inn Chico
3 out of 5
by Alicia

Downtown

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
Went to Chico for a conference, the location of this motel was perfect and walking distance to the CO-OP!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Ty, Hotel Management
Alicia, Thank you for the review. We are happy you liked our location. Co-OP Food Store is great.
3 out of 5
by elizabeth

Smelly but convenient

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
Pretty standard motel, nothing special, but our bedspread had a bunch of burn holes in it, and the air conditioning unit smelled really bad (my sister described it as "dead hobo smell") whenever we turned it on... Please fix the air conditioning units and clean the filters or something! It was really musty and unpleasant. If it weren't for the a/c, our stay would have been much much better. The free breakfast was very helpful though, and the location is amazing, right next to the Winchester Goose! Free wifi was nice too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Ty, Hotel Management
Elizabeth, We are glad you like Winchester Goose. Its neat pub. We are sorry about the air conditioning not working that well.
2 out of 5
by Stephen

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
Not clean, had to ask for soap and shampoo. I wouldn't say free breakfast very gross! Wouldn't ever stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Ty, Hotel Management
Stephen, We're sorry you were unhappy with your stay.
1 out of 5
by Carolina

Travel lodge would have been better

Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
beds were uncomfortable. no plastic liners in garbage cans. unfinished wood trim in bathroom. fingerpolish that dripped on tile left there from previous customer. kleenex box holder on wall faulty. continential breakfast was so limited. Painting on exterior building gives a false appearance of what the standard will be in room. Considering the price paid Travel lodge would have been cleaner and a whole lot cheaper.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Ty, Hotel Management
Carolina, We're sorry you were unhappy with your stay here. We don't put trash bags in our garbage cans for safety of little kids.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chico

dated and worn out inside room

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: not buy room here
Location: shop, food, parks
not a good choice, motel 6 better option... didn't pay 1 star rate, disappointed
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Americas Best Value Inn , Hotel Management
Dear unsatisfied customer. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel itself was clean and friendly, however there were really loud and rowdy people staying in a room close to ours that prevented us from sleeping well most of the night :/
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Ty, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are sorry that your night was disturbed by noise. If you decide to stay with us again we suggest to call the front desk for any noise complaint and the situation will be handled accordingly.
3 out of 5
by steven

Adequate in a bind

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly front desk, good location, very shabby room with very thin walls.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Ty, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for writing a review. Our rooms are currently being updated with new ammenities. Feel free to stay with us again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D ftom Eureka ,CA

Avoid at all costs!

Posted May 2, 2017
Worst hotel I've ever stayed at! Room was old and not maintained- shower felt like I was you g to fall through the floor! Noise and yelling and banging in middle of night both nights - no one ever did anything to stop it. No sleep either night!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by ABVI CHICO, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are sorry to here that you had a very unpleasant stay and we thank you for letting us know. Every guest deserves a well kept and maintained room with the proper customer service needed. Our rooms are currently being updated and our staff has been reminded how to handle noise complaints. We are fully responsible and apologize for your stay.