Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charleston, WV

Had to change rooms the handicap rooms are awful

Posted Aug 12, 2016
We told the hotel we were going to be checking in late so when we got there we were given a room, a handicap room. Normally I wouldn't care except the room we were given was mediocre at best and definitely not worth the price we paid, the bed was horrendous you could feel the springs in the mattress and anytime my husband would move it would move the entire bed, the air conditioner didn't work well and there was dirt in the bathtub. Also the room didn't compare to the room I thought I was booking from the pictures, there was no sofa-bed. It was too late to do anything about it the first night because they had sold out, so first thing the following morning since I got NO sleep I confronted the front desk at requested a room change. I advised them had I known the room was going to be like it was I would have saved money and gone to a much cheaper hotel and gotten the same quality room. They had us wait around for a room change only to advise me they couldn't move me the the room they were going to because it was an upgraded room through priceline and since I was with Expedia they couldn't do it and had to move me to another room at the same price. So we had already made plans and couldn't wait any longer for them to clean our room but they said we could go on and they'd move our luggage for us while we were out, so upon returning I just checked into the lobby and got our new room key and number. The second room was much better and was what we were expecting the first time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2016 by Judy, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Traveler, We certainly apologize that we were unable to meet or exceed your expectations. It is our goal that every guest enjoy their stay, receive a quality room and warm and hospitable service from our team members. Our hope is that if your travels should ever bring you back to the Columbus area you will return and allow us the opportunity to be of service to you. Sincerely,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Barely Slept!!!!

Posted Jul 27, 2016
From the minute I tried to sleep there was nothing but noise. There were people screaming and shouting up until midnight. I thought it was finally over until for the next five hours I listened to the people above me engage in, I'm not sure but it was loud and disgusting!! I'm fairly certain the room above me was being used for an inappropriate Craigslist ad! It was so bad I almost called the front desk but I was fearful that I would be called out. I will never stay at this hotel again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older Hotel branded to be a Marriott

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: Bar and seating area was nice in the common area.
Cons: Rooms being cleaned and ready for guests.
Location: N/A
Room had cobwebs, old bar of soap in shower, ants in the tub, and on the floor in the bathroom. When I turned on shower a large hairball was floating in the lower portion of the tub. What a great way to start and finish my stay at this hotel. Took pictures with my receipt being displayed and sent to Marriott via email. (will not post pictures due to PII on the receipts)
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2016 by Judy, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott in Columbus OH. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced and we have addressed your concerns as we discussed via email. We take pride in providing a quality room and a hospitable friendly staff and we make sure we addressed your concerns so this will be an isolated issue. Cordially,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from columbus, ohio

Close to Columbus

Posted Mar 5, 2016
Difficult to find hotel rooms being in town for large festival events. Came across courtyard hotel and was pleasantly surprised. Easy commute into downtown Columbus, room was clean, pool was warm, front desk was very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2016 by Judy, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time from your busy day to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott in Worthington, OH. We are very pleased that we were able to meet or exceed your expectations. We hope that you will return the next time you are in the Columbus area. Cordially,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice. 3 stars. No wow factor but affordable.

Posted Feb 29, 2016
Friendly staff. Facility was nice, clean and comfortable. Not over the top on anything but we didn't pay a lot either. Solid 3 stars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2016 by Judy, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest: Thank you for allowing us to be of service to you while visiting the Columbus area. We are please that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to meet your expectations. We look forward to seeing you the next time your travels bring you into our area. Cordially,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

good location

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Cons: cleanliness of the bathroom
Location: BIG mall about 10 minutes away and a movie theater that was within walking distance
Quiet despite closeness to interstate. Thought breakfast was included but was told at check in it was not so that was a disappointment (we were traveling with a high school team of girls) Bathroom could have been a little cleaner especially the tub Bed was very comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2016 by Judy, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time from your busy schedule to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott in Columbus/Worthington, OH. We are pleased that we were able to meet or exceed your expectations and that you enjoyed our location with the many diverse restaurants and the movie theater. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Columbus area. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: It was quiet.
Cons: The bathroom was a couple years old.
Nice room. Bathroom needed to be updated, but it was fine. Staff very friendly. It was quiet and convenient. The pool was the perfect size for the kids. Breakfast was good--healthier than McDonalds, but about three times the cost.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2015 by Judy, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time from your busy day to provide us feedback regarding yor recent stay. We pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that the next time you are in the Columbus area you will return and allow us to be of service to you. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great choice and convenience

Posted Sep 18, 2015
Very convenient and superb location from I-44. Nice salt water pool, friendly and helpful staff and some great restaurants in walking distance from hotel. Very good value. You will not be disappointed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toledo, OH

Nice hotel. Great location!

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Great hotel. We had a room right across from the pool which was crazy noisy but other than that, the bed was extremely comfy and the room was very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2015 by Judy, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest: Thank you for taking the time from your busy day to provide us feedback regarding your recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott in Worthington, OH. Your feedback is an intregal part of the business we do and we appreciate hearing from you and we pass along your feedback to our service team. . We have posted pool hours and I will check with the associate that was on staff when you were here to make sure the pool doors are locked at the posted times. We hope that the next time you are in the Columbus area you will return and allow us to be of service to you. Warm regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beds very uncomfortable , pillows very flat

Posted May 19, 2015
I've stayed at a lot of Marriotts and this one was disappointing beds very uncomfortable , pillows were flat found belongings from another guest in my room
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2015 by Judy, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest: Thank you for taking the time from your busy day to provide us feedback regarding your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott in Columbus/Worthington, OH. We appreciate hearing about your experience. I apologize that you were disappointed in your bedding . All the mattresses were replaced when we completed our rooms renovations in April of 2014. at the same time we replaced all of our pillows. Thank you again for the feedback we will make sure we review the pillows in our rooms and replace any pillows that do not meet our standards. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We hope the next time you are in the Columbus/Worthington area you will return and allow us to be of service to you. Warm regards,