Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A Hotel with History and Convenience

Posted Apr 18, 2017
We had a pleasant stay at this 19th century hotel which is located in the middle of Windermere and only a mile from Bowness on Windermere. There were lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance and several parts of the hotel are very charming (esp. the entry way and upper lounge area). Although there was a problem with the room we had booked the staff member on duty upgraded us without charge to a nicer suite which featured a lovely four post bed and beautiful wood furniture. Unfortunately, the lights in the bathroom were multi-coloured with no option for normal, clear lighting and there was a bit of mold in the bathroom as well. But this wasn't enough to change our largely favourable impression of the hotel (and the other couple in our party did not have the same issues with their room). In the morning we had a hearty and tasty English breakfast on site. I'd happily recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice yet modest stay in Windermere.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor room condition

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: breakfast
Cons: Rome 12 landing carpets
Both my wife and I felt that the staff were very helpful and nice but the room that we were given was of poor standard very small with obstruction.The carpets on the landing was thread bear in places the breakfast was lovely and ample
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Close to centre of Windmere and for visiting rela

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Friendly
Cons: No
Location: Central and lots of shops to browse and close to Bowness
Enjoyed our one night stay and hope to be. back when next in the area
4 out of 5
by Graham

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good night's sleep

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Ebookers
Comfortable and clean with very friendly staff. Main complaint is that breakfast doesn't start til 0830. I couldn't wait so left hungry
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

A comfortable night and an excellent breakfast!

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Our room was in the eaves with a sloping ceiling but it had everything we needed - wardrobe, chests of drawers, a lovely, comfortable bed, good en-suite facilities and a perfectly-sized TV placed at the right height (not fixed to the wall above our heads as in some hotels). It was clean. Staff were friendly and very helpful. A delicious English breakfast was served in a bright breakfast room. Parking was no problem in the hotel's own car park. We will return!
Cons: We can't think if anything that needs improvement - it was just right for us.
Location: The hotel is on a leafy road with local shops an easy walk away. Ideally located for Lake Windermere and Coniston Water.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location with lovely friendly staff

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect location for walk to the lakes or just a stroll in other direction to resteraunts and pubs. Lovely friendly hotel with a lovely cooked breakfast in morning . Would be our first choice if we went back to Windermere.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Wouldn't Return

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Cons: Room 5 needs to be completely re-decorated.
Location: Good location, in the city center, few minute drive from the lake.
The room we initially stayed in was nothing like the pictures we had seen online, it was really small, dirty and the windows had large cracks down them (This was room 5). The room was really hot during the night but I did not feel safe leaving a window open with being on the ground floor. I was annoyed that I was paying £95 per night but didn't want to make a fuss and knew we would not have been offered another room as on that day they had no vacancies. However, the first morning we stayed there, we were woken at 7.30am by staff. We were directly next to the kitchen and so could hear the chef whistling, his radio and the waitress telling the chef (and us) her life story! As a result, I approached Fiona, a very loud, Scottish lady and a member of staff on reception and explained our issues. She did not apologise but offered us the family suite in the attic as it was the only room available. But before doing this, she bragged on about how much more the room cost. Due to this, I wanted to clarify that we would not be charged anything additional for this room, at which point she said (with an attitude) 'I didn't said that did I?'. I merely explained that I didn't want an unexpected bill when leaving. She was also very loud and so any discussions were heard by pretty much the whole place. During one of her loud conversations with other guests who were looking for a room, she explained that the room we vacated had become free as 'the previous guests had to cancel their reservation
5 out of 5
by Terry from Redcar

Great Holiday at great price in a great location.

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
Location was great,everything you needed near by. Loved the hotel and the area. We will definitely be coming back.
4 out of 5
by Iain

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels