Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: Rooms were lovely
Cons: Need prices on menu
Old world charm, just beautiful accommodation, i think we were given a suite, it was huge! 4 poster bed, really comfortable, we ate in the restaurant for dinner, the only thing negative is there was no prices on menu so unless you ask you had no idea what you were paying till after which we found was a little pricey, breakfast really good .
5 out of 5
by Ruth from North Down

A truly wonderful find!

Posted Nov 30, 2015 on Hotels
Found this to hotel to be a real gem in every way from the moment we arrived. All staff members were very attentive and welcoming. We ate dinner in the restaurant. The food was delightful and of a very high standard. Breakfast was served freshly cooked so we did not have to go searching for a buffet. Christmas decorations were amazing as were the many lit trees around the house. There were several comfortable drawing rooms with log fires where you could sit and relax. Really enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
by kevin from Singapore (British expat)

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
Great couple of days spent at Castle Grove; really enjoyed our stay. Staff very helpful; hotel grand but really comfortable
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very private rural location

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: Its traditional old comfort.Not top quality but comfy and just nice.
Cons: Food is excellent but a bit more variety in the veg. Would be welcome.
Location: Lovely coast and all sorts in the country.Dont miss Sir Jerry Robinsons gardens ,a trip to Derry to the City walls or a visit to the Flax Mill
Pleasant and relaxing. Nothing is too much trouble to the staff
3 out of 5
by laurence from marseille

chateau a la campagne

Posted Aug 21, 2015 on Hotels
hotel en pleine campagne le seul bemol il est en travaux.
5 out of 5
by Robert from USA

Our top pick

Posted Aug 1, 2015 on Hotels
Mary was wonderful. She and her staff personally saw to our every need. The food was the best we had during our 30 day trip around Ireland. Castle Grove is a true Irish country estate set on hundreds of acres with a great history that caters to guests of all stations and walks in life. This was the best we found in Ireland and we would encourage anyone to make it a part of your travel plans, especially if you are exploring northwest Ireland for several days or more.
5 out of 5
by Sarah from West Yorkshire

Luxury!

Posted Jul 25, 2015 on Hotels
A wonderful stay at the Castle Grove hotel. We were unexpectedly upgraded into a superior double (a nice surprise!) served tea in one of the four drawing rooms, and had a wonderful couple of nights' sleep there! The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the service was wonderful. I would say this hotel is very old-fashioned in a really lovely way, almost like staying in a stately home. The en-suite was a little outdated but that was a minor niggle. Otherwise an absolutely brilliant stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Faded Charm

Posted Jul 23, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel has charm, but it is a bit shabby. The grounds are lovely, though, and the breakfast was delicious! Room smelled a bit musty, but it was quite large.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

so, so...

Posted Jul 22, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed here one night travelling through Ireland. It is quite remote and beautiful area. The hotel itself could be beautiful but it is very worn. I appreciate that it is hundreds of years old but the furniture, rugs, drapes, etc. really do need replacing. Our room was large and comfortable but our sheets had a distinct food smell - perhaps the laundry is in the kitchen? The staff was lovely and the food in the restaurant was good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay at Castle Grove

Posted Jul 1, 2015 on Hotels
It was peaceful and serene. The setting was picturesque with a feel that transported us back in time. Enjoyed the family-like setting and loved the history sharing by the "lady of the house". The staff was most welcoming. They were helpful with directions and things to do in the region. Would certainly return there someday with our children.