Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from N.Ireland

Old World Charm

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Quirky and old fashioned
Cons: Rooms and exterior a little tired but spotlessly clean
Location: Ramelton is a nice little town with a great, friendly pub. Glenveigh is a must see, fabulous place for walking
Castle Grove is a charming period house set in rural Donegal. The hotel building is in need of a coat of paint outside and a little refurb however that does not detract from the charm of the place. The reception rooms are beautiful and very cosy. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, rather than having coffee in the bedroom, just ask the staff and they will prepare it for you complete with home made shortbread and enjoy it in the library or drawing room. The food was beautiful and waiting staff were friendly and efficient. Our drinks waiter was a very funny guy and quite knowledgeable. A minor point, the table cloths were definitely past their best and needed replaced but that aside it was a very enjoyable experience. Dont go expecting corporate slick looking rooms, this is not what this place is about. We wanted a relaxing experience with old world charm and we certainly got that. Would definitely reccommend this place for a weekend break.
4 out of 5
by Hugh from OMAGH

A real find in the gateway to North Donegal

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
We were guests at a wedding in nearby Letterkennyand and had booked an overnight stay in this historic place. We were welcomed warmly by the present owner , found all the staff to be friendly and helpful. The place is beautifully restored and with lots of tastefully furnished relaxing rooms. The breakfast was delightful -freshly cooked with a varied menu. Next time we will stay for dinner!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Mary and Raymond were fantastic hosts

Posted Jul 26, 2016
I booked Castle Grove for my parents for a special wedding anniversary. They had a fantastic time. Their room was very comfortable and clean the full Irish breakfast was really good and delicious. Mary and Raymond were fantastic hosts and they would have no hesitation in staying there again
3 out of 5
by Kim from Halifax

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
Old but clean with good service
5 out of 5
by Mindy from Texas

Grand and yet homey

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is so homey and grand at the same time. The history and elegance is unmatched, and the staff was so welcoming and kind. My husband was sick one day and they were so concerned, offering ginger ale and toast to be sent to the room. We were treated like family. I'd stay here a thousand times over. Loved it!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: Rooms were lovely
Cons: Need prices on menu
Old world charm, just beautiful accommodation, i think we were given a suite, it was huge! 4 poster bed, really comfortable, we ate in the restaurant for dinner, the only thing negative is there was no prices on menu so unless you ask you had no idea what you were paying till after which we found was a little pricey, breakfast really good .
5 out of 5
by Ruth from North Down

A truly wonderful find!

Posted Nov 30, 2015 on Hotels
Found this to hotel to be a real gem in every way from the moment we arrived. All staff members were very attentive and welcoming. We ate dinner in the restaurant. The food was delightful and of a very high standard. Breakfast was served freshly cooked so we did not have to go searching for a buffet. Christmas decorations were amazing as were the many lit trees around the house. There were several comfortable drawing rooms with log fires where you could sit and relax. Really enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
by kevin from Singapore (British expat)

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
Great couple of days spent at Castle Grove; really enjoyed our stay. Staff very helpful; hotel grand but really comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very private rural location

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: Its traditional old comfort.Not top quality but comfy and just nice.
Cons: Food is excellent but a bit more variety in the veg. Would be welcome.
Location: Lovely coast and all sorts in the country.Dont miss Sir Jerry Robinsons gardens ,a trip to Derry to the City walls or a visit to the Flax Mill
Pleasant and relaxing. Nothing is too much trouble to the staff
5 out of 5
by Robert from USA

Our top pick

Posted Aug 1, 2015 on Hotels
Mary was wonderful. She and her staff personally saw to our every need. The food was the best we had during our 30 day trip around Ireland. Castle Grove is a true Irish country estate set on hundreds of acres with a great history that caters to guests of all stations and walks in life. This was the best we found in Ireland and we would encourage anyone to make it a part of your travel plans, especially if you are exploring northwest Ireland for several days or more.