Ratings based on 932 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the event I was attending.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Location, staff and cleanliness of the rooms.
The hotel was close by to the event I was attending as well restaurants within walking distance. The staff was friendly. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. There was a very large event taking place at the hotel but I never felt disrupted or inconvenienced by the additional guests as it seemed to have doubled overnight. I would recommend the Hyatt to friends and it would be the top of my list next time I stay in Rochester.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Easton, PA

Terrible experience

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: The manager on call tried to help but the hotel state is beyond acceptable.
Cons: Tell customers before booking that the hotel is under construction and noise will be encountered even early on the weekend.
Location: Breakfast at "Jim's on Main" was excellent
Hotel is under construction and the construction noise at 8:00 am on a "Saturday" is unbelievable and unacceptable. Room did not get cleaned till 3:30 pm the next day after complaining of no service to the room. The World of Hyatt reception area for members in unattended with no sign. Overall, terrible experience and extremely disappointing. They did comp me for the parking for the disappointing stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Double charged, tried to call (3x) no answer!!

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Cons: Don't double charge, and answer the phone - to start!
I booked the hotel through Expedia and paid the $208 and later that week I looked at my Discover bill and I see the $208 through Expedia and an additional $299 from Hyatt! Are you kidding me and now nobody will answer the phone at a HOTEL? Really?
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

No thanks

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Not much
Cons: everythig
Location: Lots of road constuction
Booked a non smoking room - upon arrival walked into smoke filled room. Called front desk and was moved to another room - no clock called front desk several times and after a while they said they didn"t have any more clocks. asked for compensation - offered breakfast and declined. had to leave hotel to get on another elevator for parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: The new modern rooms and breakfast.
Cons: Sound-proof the walls.
Location: Not a great neighborhood but there is a bikeshare called Zagster that makes it easy to get around town to other neighborhoods.
I was hesitant about staying here due to all the reviews and complaints about construction, so I booked a room on a high floor to avoid the room. The room on the 17th floor was new and modern, double queen beds just like the pictures. While there is no construction near the room or on the floor, there is a lot of construction on the block which is loud on weekday mornings. Weekends are quiet. Airport transport was fast and came within 15 minutes. The walls are also VERY thin and you can hear the TV and conversations next door. Thankfully our neighbors were mostly quiet past 11pm. If you are a light sleeper, the rooms are not for you. The was the only disappointing part of our stay, being able to hear noise from the hallways and in the adjacent rooms. The room came with free breakfast which is buffet-style. The breakfast attendant (Garland) provided the best service. There is also another person who cooks made-to-order food- it was great. Overall decent stadard breakfast of eggs, bacon, potatoes, oatmeal, yogurt, and fresh fruit plus coffee/tea/juice. When I checked out, I noticed my credit card was double-charged because I booked through Expedia and I had to repeatedly call them for 2 weeks to reverse the charges. This was annoying. Make sure to check your credit card for any charges that you did not make. The neighborhood is going through a lot of revitalization, so after the construction is finished, I anticipate the area will be attractive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

For the money- should have been better

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Checked in, got the room keys and went. Opened the door and someone was still in the room. Lug my stuff. Back down to the front desk, new keys, new room, tv does not work. Try to call thr front desk, no answer- to any extensions on the phone. 3rd time to the front desk. 45 mins later some one comes The peephole were doing their best, no fault there. Just disappointing systems.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Bad to Worse

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: The location was ideal for getting around the city.
Cons: The staff could use a course in hospitality and the apparent common practice of giving away rooms that people have already paid for should be stopped.
A number of my family were staying at the Hyatt for my nephew's wedding- including the wedding party. When the newlyweds came to check in, the Hotel had given away the room- despite being told the day before there would be a late check in and the rooms were already charged to my sister's credit card. My sister and her husband's room were also given away. The staff were obviously not trained to deal with a volatile situation and only managed to exacerbate an already emotional situation. My nephew was insulted and his new bride also called something unsavory. She was collapsed on the floor in her wedding dress sobbing. Long story short, a very nice room at the nearby Strathallan was found for the newlyweds and a room at the Doubletree for my sister. But the emotional distress that was incurred to get to that point was needless. I must give credit to the head of security at the Hyatt (not the security detail in place at the time) and the Rochester police for defusing the situation and being very kind and understanding. Lastly, the hotel had recently undergone renovations but despite saying it was ready for costumers, had some obvious short falls and it also appeared that many of the renovations were done in a speedy, slip shod manner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rochester ny

Renovations

Posted Aug 31, 2017
I haven't been since the renovations so it was very different when I walked in which was great I felt like I was in a hotel out of town not that it wasn't always a nice hotel but I consider this a 5 star hotel for sure now
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Toilets don't flush--zero gravity

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Mostly comfortable, funky lighting
Cons: Toilets. Refrigerators plugged into a wall socket that is not controlled by a switch
The hotel has many luxuries. But as it is in the middle of an upgrade, there has been some bad thinking. Whomever picked out the toilets really should have tested them to see if they actually flush. I did not use the one in our room because of its ineffectiveness. Then there was the refrigerator, plugged in to a 4-plug socket which also had some lights plugged into it. The lights were funky and modern, placed above the coffee-making table, but too bright to sleep with, so we turned them off with the wall switch. Two days later we noticed the refrigerator was warm and our food spoiled because the fridge was plugged into a wall socket that was controlled by a switch. Hotel guests pretty commonly search around trying to figure out which switch controls what light and no refrigerator should ever be controlled by a wall switch that someone could mistakenly shut off! No response from hotel management on either issue despite several messages to them
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Terribly small and problematic hotel.

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Absolutely nothing. Terrible hotel, room service, parking, breakfast, and zero amenities. Waste of money.
Cons: Do yourself a favor and stay at the Holiday Inn.
Location: Location is in a tight spot, parking is horrible.
Room was dusty and filthy, zero water pressure, which resulted in a 5-hour confrontation with the extremely unhelpful staff until they could change my room. Beware, above floor 13 water pressure is extremely low. Room service did not arrive, the hotel is overall ugly and pretentious. (Extremely overpriced as well, Holiday Inn would have been a MUCH MUCH better option.) Breakfast was limited, bland, rubbery, and disgusting. You aren't even allowed to pour your own coffee. Also, keep in mind hotel parking extremely expensive and you must pay upfront, the parking is also very limited and a huge time wasting hassle.