Ratings based on 1,391 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Clearwater, FL

Overpriced

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: I was there for a wedding. The food was pretty good. The wedding cake was REALLY good.
Cons: I mentioned to the catering staff that there was tape missing on the runner in the ceremony room - they never corrected it.
Location: Downtown Tampa - right on the river with a view of the Univ. of Tampa (pretty).
Considering my total bill (just the room rate, tax, resort fee, and parking) exceeded three hundred for one night, I expected a pretty nice room. I felt more like I was in a Motel 6 (no offense to Motel 6!). Though the bed sheets and linens were very nice / clean, the room itself had a slight musty aroma to it and even with the air cranked down, it never got chilly. In fact, in my friend's room, it stayed really hot. The bathroom looked like something from the 90's and the bathroom ceiling looked like it had been repaired a year ago but never completed. The bedroom walls were painted nicely but perhaps a new thermostat had been added but the wall was not repaired and the new thermostat was a different size than the old one. If the room rate had been a quarter of what I paid, maybe I wouldn't be so disappointed. Had I reserved this room for a week, I would not have stayed. I saw a sign in the lobby that said renovations were going on Fall 2017. The good news was that they confirmed my room was NOT one of the renovated rooms. The hotel and rooms are showing their age and the renovation is long overdue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bradenton FL

Nice Riverfront Hotel

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Pet friendly; Riverfront with easy access to walk the dog; Access to restaurants
Cons: Restaurant staying open later on weekend
Location: Convenient to Straz and Tampa Theater
We needed a pet friendly hotel near Tampa Theater to attend a show
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Best customer service ever!!

Posted Sep 30, 2017
All the staff we dealt with were very competent and gave extra effort. Excellent location on the Riverwalk. Shuttle bus was great. It brought us to the Cruise terminal and Ybor City. We would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from local

Bizarre experience

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Went here after hurricane Irma. Staff was very nice. Hotel should have been nicer for the cost and location. No fridge or microwave in room. This place is "pet friendly" I guess because there were so many dogs it was like a kennel. And apparently there is no size limit as we saw the largest pit bull I have ever seen taking his person for a walk down our hall. My wife literally ran to the elevator and pushed the button so she would not get stuck in the elevator with this monstrous dog. On the second day the smell of animal urine in our hallway was awful, which probably explains the otherwise cloying over-smell of some perfumery throughout the place. There were dogs out by the pool, in the lounge...everywhere. We also had the unfortunate experience of hearing a pretty terrible domestic violence incident through our ac vents which we reported twice but to our knowledge was not dealt with. My specific words to the desk were "it sounds like someone is getting killed up there". All in all the people were nice but this place should be much better for a name-brand downtown hotel at their rates.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok. Hotel. Nice view of the riverwalk.

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Overall this hotel was nice and clean. The staff was very friendly. I didn't like hearing constant slamming of doors and things banging throughout the night while trying to sleep. I would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island NY

Several floors closed due to renovations.

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Great location on the Riverwalk make up for the renovations going in and the rooms needing updating. Walking distance to all downtown and Amalie / Convention center
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The location and restaurant were excellent.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The only negative was the tv kept turning off. Cable problem - possibly from condtruction
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bethlehem, Pa

Great location!!

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Convenient to the University of Tampa. Amalie arena is a ten minute walk. Location is the best. Restaurant off main lobby with bar is very convenient.
Location: Perfect location. Pool is great!!
Great staff, very nice room. Beds are always super comfortable. It is so nice to be able to walk outside to a beautiful walk along the river to many different areas.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will NOT stay here again.

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: I liked the boardwalk, which I used to get to the convention center. It was nice walking beside the river.
I was in town to sit for the bar exam - so maybe my opinion is skewed by my stress - but this was the worst hotel stay I've ever had. Within five minutes of checking into my room I got locked in the bathroom b/c the door stuck. They repaired it quickly, but did not clean up the chips of paint and other debris on the floor after they were done. There were chocolate covered pretzels all over the floor by the bed. We were not informed tip was automatically included on room-service orders, and when it was delivered the lady did not tell us that - she waited silently while we got the cash to tip her. They were also doing construction of some sort, because most of the days you could hear drilling down the hall. The worst offense was when they charged me $1100 for someone else's room. Once I discovered the charge, I immediately called the front desk (yes, in hindsight I should have gone downstairs), where the lady I talked to did not apologize and actually argued that there was no charge on my account for that amount. She eventually figured out what happened and told me the charge was reversed and I'd have to talk my bank to get the money back, which could take up to a week. There was still no apology and the overall attitude she gave was terrible. Now, taken individually, I could - and did - shrug off most of the issues. But when looking at the totality over the course of my stay, it was terrible. I will definitely not stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

OK experience

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Clean
Cons: Only decaf coffee in the room, charge extra for refrigerator
Location: Overrated
Exorbitant (compulsory) valet charges $20 plus tax