Ratings based on 1,186 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane Australia

megawatt

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: The price of food in the restaurant. The close-by restaurants were much better priced.
Location: The hotel is close to Aviva stadium, shops, restaurants and walking distance from downtown. They were able to provide low priced airport transfers
This was a great hotel in a great location (easy walking distance to downtown),close-by to shops & restaurants, the room even had a fridge.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, USA

Good hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Good facilities, courteous staff and good location. Enjoyed my stay very much
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Lovely Hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: The location is very pretty - across from a canal
Cons: Parking
We were traveling through the area very quickly and only spent one night at this hotel but it was very charming. Staff was very friendly and rooms were clean. I would love to visit Dublin again and I would use this hotel again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

DISREGARD my prior review: this is the correct one

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: facilities, room amenities, location near Baggot Street, with excellent restaurants nearby.
Location: great restaurants, not far from transportation to and from airport.
Good experience. Expedia does not give me an option to cancel or edit my submitted review, and I mistakenly thought I was reviewing a different hotel. Mespil was a very good hotel, with friendly staff, and a quiet room. The room was very comfortable, and I appreciated that they had workout facilities!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California, USA

Great location...disappointing hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: The location, and the fact that the room was quiet.
Cons: The plumbing, the thoroughness of the room being cleaned, the mattresses, and definitely the food service.
Location: Plenty of restaurants nearby, it was close to the Tube, and buses.
The hotel is in a great location. Close to Russell Square which is gorgeous, and within a short walking distance to great restaurants. I know that London is expensive for lodging in general, and figured, for the price, we would get something fairly basic but nice and comfortable. I realize it is an older hotel, but expected basic amenities, like the toilet working, and the beds softer than the floor! I am not real picky in terms of mattress firmness, etc....but the bed was half step up from the thermarest I take when camping. The toilet would flush about 20% of the time, and the answer to that was, "the plumbing is older..." Well, if the plumbing doesn't work, then don't charge the price that you do. I did appreciate a quiet room, and did not hear noise from neighbors--I had requested a room in the back (off the street), after reading other forums. We had dinner the 1st night we were there, and it was horrible. The complimentary breakfasts were not much better, and the 3rd and last morning, we decided to just get breakfast elsewhere. Nice remodeled restaurant and outdoor area, if you stick with the bar and avoid the food. Next time, I took note of the hotels in the same location/Bloomsbury, to choose one of these options instead.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Verona

Matrimonio di amici in Irlande

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Camera, letto molto comodo e l'ambiente molto confortevole
Location: ottima posizione a due passi dal centro
Alloggio all'hotel dopo l'arrivo a Dublino per ripartire il giorno dopo e devo dire che è stato un bellissimo soggiorno presso questa struttura con il posto molto comodo per parcheggiare l'auto presa a noleggio.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Wi-Fi exceptionally clean

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Hotel is very clean, nice touch with complimentary water in the room fridge every day and a different juice cooler in reception. The gym was a little small but had bikes, running machines leg and arm/chest machine as well as an abs room and very well air conditioned...and we didn't stop for the gym, it was just a bonus. The rooms were very large, exceptionally clean with a decent shower
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sao paulo

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Good location, clean and confortable room. Good option in Dublin
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to all amenities

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: its location
Cons: breakfast
Location: excellent location and lots to do nearby
enjoyed our time (even though we were a little unwell) - relaxed atmosphere - were able walk everywhere
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Good hotel close to canal

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: I was working late into the evening and when I returned to the hotel at about 8.30 pm I had a good meal in the bar. The staff were very attentive.
Cons: Room temperature control.
Location: The canal opposite the hotel is very pleasant for walks. I was on business so did not have time for sightseeing but it is not too far to the centre.
This is the fourth or fifth time I have stayed in the Mespil when I have been on business in Dublin. The staff are very good and the hotel is convenient for the business district I visit. Only problem on this occasion was that the weather was very warm and there was no air conditioning or temperature control in my room on the fifth floor. There was a small window which only had a limited opening span so little air could get into the room. It was so hot I had to sleep on top of the bed.