Ratings based on 1,620 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Quiet for r&r and families

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: We liked the central location, that we could cook in our room, and keep our snacks and beer cold. Could bring our beer to the beach (not pool), or buy
Cons: Get rid of the tiny ants. Replace the old looking stove in our room.
Location: lots to do around the hotel for tourists, fishermen, scuba people, kids, good food out, but we relaxed, stayed in and played cards in our screen room.
It is quiet. The cleaning staff was outside every day to change towels if needed, etc. They took the garbage daily too. The desk staff was very pleasant. I only had 1 problem asking for a kitchen utensil to turn eggs over. I received a spaghetti spoon-she didnt speak english or understand my demonstration, but she was otherwise extremely pleasant. i never felt pushed, rushed, or like they just wanted my money. I was not nickle and dimed. We had a very nice stay. There were no activities, which we like, maybe pool games, or activities personnel to schedule volleyball (couldnt get people going) but its probalby because most of these guests dont want to play group activities. Some things in the room were a little old like the stove, but did its job otherwise. We didnt think we'd use the screen room much when we first saw it, but played cards there or ate outside often. The grounds could have been a little more tended, for example leaves blown off the paths or around the screen rooms, but thats just what we have seen at other resorts, not what we have at home (grin). The beach was spotless, and the beach/pool lounge chairs arranged nicely every night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I'm sure you can find something cheaper

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: You do risk your life crossing the street - but walking across the street to MORADA BAY - it's a restaurant a little south of the hote- which is nice-
Cons: BEDS A/C units update entire layout of resort Make dog owner pick up their DOG POOP
Location: go across the street south several blocks to MORADA BAY for dinner
Place is very old - rooms are "updated" but No beach - sand "area" is large Bed is from 1920's and make funny noises. Old AC units also make noises
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location. A little low at the heels.

Posted Mar 1, 2017
You can see they have tried to update the facility. But now things are a bit worn. Was nice to see the Guy Harvey work - everywhere. Do not expect soft sand as it is very hard, and swimming is hampered by the shallowness of the water. Neither an issue with the facility. But good to know before you go. Right next door is a new museum about the keys that is well done. All in all an OK resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from St. Peters, MO

Hotel on the beach

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Location and rooms. We had our two dogs and had no problem with them. The screened in porch was so nice in the evening.
Best hotel on the keys! Found it quite by mistake while booking our vacation. The room was beyond wonderful. The colors it was painted was perfect as were the furnishings and pictures. Just put us in the vacation mood. The Guy Harvey restaurant was perfect! The beach wonderful. Wished we had more days to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale

Sugar Ants

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Great location
Cons: Fitness center....pretty weak as far as fitness centers go
Nice hotel and cozy room but the bathroom had ants....and a lot of them. We called the front desk and they sent someone to spray. Their only explanation was, "it's the Keys".....which was fine, but it was still gross to come back from dinner and find ants crawling up the walls and onto your wet bathing suits.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

Relaxing

Posted Jan 30, 2017
This was one of the more Relaxing vacations we've had. Loved the lanai. The beach area was spacious even though little to none water access for swimming. There were two lovely pools and a hot tub. Staff was very nice and helpful. We were able to ride our bikes around to sight see. There is a restaurant on site which is nice and plenty of others to choose from in walking/biking distance of resort. Plan on visiting again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Vacation in islamorado

Posted Jan 29, 2017
This is a nice location in Islamorado. The grounds are gorgeous. The rooms are comfortable but dated. There was no mirror other than the bathroom mirror and couldn't see below my chest level.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toledo, OH

Classic Florida hotel with great amenities!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Had a wonderful stay at the Islander Hotel. Our ocean view king suite was amazing - with direct access to the beach and beautiful views of the Atlantic sunrise every morning. The restaurants on-property were well appointed and the bar service at pool side was well appreciated. The Concierge service was friendly and full of great ideas for things to do on Islamorada, the front desk folks were always quick with a smile, and the cleaning staff was quick, efficient, and happy to help at all times. Thanks Islander for an amazing stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic beach dock and grounds. Rooms are big!

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Loved the big screened porch ground level. Beautiful big beach area!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Great place in the Keys

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Location: Close to Theater of the Sea which has dolphin show and other animal attractions only 5 miles up the road. Close to many restaurants.
This place was better than I expected. Every room has it's own screened in patio/lanai with a ceiling fan. We enjoyed playing cards on it at night. The pool area is in the center and very nice. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. The beach area appears to be sand over cement but still nice overlooking the water. We wish we could have stayed longer.