Ratings based on 1,654 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The motel is dated, something from the 1970s.

Posted May 20, 2017
The activities provided were too expensive for the poor quality of the "beach" area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Position and feeling of space.
Cons: Bathroom facilities
Location: Location is easy to find and very spacious grounds Excellent restaurant just across main road called Lorelei - great food, live music and sunsets!
Lovely position with good pools and plenty of sun beds. Room was comfortable,with good screened area and excellent bed. Only slight downside was bathroom, not luxurious!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great beach for keys super dog friendly

Posted May 11, 2017
Perfect vacation would recommend only reason why not 5 stars on staff our waitress that served us on beach charged us a little extra because we told her we were paying cash. Bought same drinks at bar and were cheaper with recipe. Front desk staff great and cleaning woman was awsome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted May 3, 2017
My family has been coming here since it was first built. It's ground are perfect for a weekend vacation or longer. It's my favorite place to come!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Naples, FL

Use to be nice

Posted Apr 28, 2017
This was my third visit. Use to love the place. We will not come back. Couldn't use the pool or hot tub because they were too scummy and dirty. They let anyone come use the pools and beach you don't have to stay at the hotel - place was packed with locals. Music over the XM radio was alternative rock/grunge not appropriate for families. Rooms are still nice but Ants on the counters and in the drawers. Safe does not work. Staff is friendly but if you can't use the pool or sit anything down in your room who cares if people are nice. Stay somewhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Fabulous place to stay

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Great decor and delightful blocks of efficiencies, fine beach, great bar, good pool...
Cons: Not very much; for short stays it seemed relatively expensive, but also seemed to us to be among the best resorts between the mainland and Key West
Location: Good for fishing, talking about fishing, fishing shopping, and breaking the drive to Key West. Plenty of water related activities available.
Great location, back from the busy road and straight onto the Atlantic beach, walking distance from amenities such as restaurants and fishing tackle shops (what else do you need?) Staff very amenable and helpful. Pity they can't let you peek into the railway museum on the off-days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Laid Back Hotel on Ocean in Middle of Islamorada

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Location and laid back attitude.
Cons: Air conditioning units were loud.
Location: Eco tours, jet ski tours, sport fishing, lots of great restaurants close by.
We had a great time at the Islander Resort. The place is one story with screened in porches. Our unit had an ocean view, and didnt have another group of units in front of it. It wouldnt have been as nice if we were towards the back with a view of other units. Beach is huge but it is man-made with a thin layer of gravelly sand. Lots of lounge chairs and plenty of shade from the palm trees scattered about. Bar/restaurant by pool was nice but food was only okay. But the hotel is surrounded by amazing restaurants so it was easy to find great places to eat nearby. Also, air conditioning units are individual and very loud.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Quiet for r&r and families

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: We liked the central location, that we could cook in our room, and keep our snacks and beer cold. Could bring our beer to the beach (not pool), or buy
Cons: Get rid of the tiny ants. Replace the old looking stove in our room.
Location: lots to do around the hotel for tourists, fishermen, scuba people, kids, good food out, but we relaxed, stayed in and played cards in our screen room.
It is quiet. The cleaning staff was outside every day to change towels if needed, etc. They took the garbage daily too. The desk staff was very pleasant. I only had 1 problem asking for a kitchen utensil to turn eggs over. I received a spaghetti spoon-she didnt speak english or understand my demonstration, but she was otherwise extremely pleasant. i never felt pushed, rushed, or like they just wanted my money. I was not nickle and dimed. We had a very nice stay. There were no activities, which we like, maybe pool games, or activities personnel to schedule volleyball (couldnt get people going) but its probalby because most of these guests dont want to play group activities. Some things in the room were a little old like the stove, but did its job otherwise. We didnt think we'd use the screen room much when we first saw it, but played cards there or ate outside often. The grounds could have been a little more tended, for example leaves blown off the paths or around the screen rooms, but thats just what we have seen at other resorts, not what we have at home (grin). The beach was spotless, and the beach/pool lounge chairs arranged nicely every night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I'm sure you can find something cheaper

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: You do risk your life crossing the street - but walking across the street to MORADA BAY - it's a restaurant a little south of the hote- which is nice-
Cons: BEDS A/C units update entire layout of resort Make dog owner pick up their DOG POOP
Location: go across the street south several blocks to MORADA BAY for dinner
Place is very old - rooms are "updated" but No beach - sand "area" is large Bed is from 1920's and make funny noises. Old AC units also make noises
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location. A little low at the heels.

Posted Mar 1, 2017
You can see they have tried to update the facility. But now things are a bit worn. Was nice to see the Guy Harvey work - everywhere. Do not expect soft sand as it is very hard, and swimming is hampered by the shallowness of the water. Neither an issue with the facility. But good to know before you go. Right next door is a new museum about the keys that is well done. All in all an OK resort.