Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Good but not great

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: location, clean, staff was friendly, modern.
Cons: Front desk employees didn't really explain where anything was at check in. We explored the hotel on our own.
Location: Great loaction, on the beach. Bahia Cabana right next door, good hang out place.
Room was very clean. We were told we were ocean front, however we were across the street. Had a great time. Clean and friendly staff. Close to everything. Bed and pillows were awesome. Beach was clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2017 by JM, Hotel Management
Hello Dan, Thank you for the awesome critique! Sorry the team did not take the time to showcase the features of the property. We hope you discovered all we have to offer in the area. Our signature custom BlissBeds are pretty comfy and a guest favorite. Visit soon and thank you for being our guest.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice aspects, but needs work

Posted Feb 25, 2017
This hotel is in a good location. Private beach and infinity pool are nice. However, the hotel needs work. During our stay we had issues with plumbing, cable service and parking garage elevator. In addition, carpet in room was wet upon arrival. Hotel staff were responsive to concerns and worked to be accommodating, but upgrades to hotel are needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by JM, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for sharing your feedback that will allow us to improve and B our best. We appreciate you letting us know live while you were here to let us remedy the challenges. Visit again and let us know prior so we can have a perfect room ready for you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

Very close to the beach...

Posted Feb 24, 2017
The beach location is great... it's about a mile walk to get to any action which was fine... the 20$ fee isn't bad either you get chairs at the beach and you can also take out bikes for 2 hours free of charge (you can rent yellow ones on the street for 5$/30 mins...) the hotel was nothing fancy but it has everything you would need... only downside was the bathroom... the door is on a sliding bar and it really offers no privacy... if you're in a new relationship I would recommend going to the pool bathrooms clean and individual to do your business (I didn't really care either way but some people are shy about this) really great time though :) also uber and Lyft were all over th area so transportation was never an issue.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by JM, Hotel Management
Hi C AND P, Thank you for the candid review and great rating! Its nice to see you found value in the resort fee and relaxed on the beach! Guests love our location and the car services are a perfect way to save on parking fees and explore the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

B Ocean on the beach

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Tasteful renovated classic. A bit spread out but worth it. Key card failed several times but staff resolved quickly. Additional elevators needed. Beach pool and beach lounging a bit small, however two pools had very warm water. Several blocks away from beach bars and dining but easy walk. Average room had king bed, sleeper love seat, fridge, keurig coffee, walk in shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by JM, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay and our new design. Visit soon and we'll have your room ready.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Nice beach. Hotel is worn. This hotel is not above 3 stars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by JM, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback and will work hard to improve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Perfect Location Hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: I liked the location, the beach and the food all around the hotel.
Cons: Wifi on the south tower was not all that good. Hotel should work with Expedia to make sure they identify Expedia's gold members.
Location: The location is perfect, right next to the boardwalk of Las olas, great for running, going to the beach, exercising outdoors and eating.
I really enjoyed my short stay. I loved the location. The staff is very friendly and attentive. Great food options. I requested to late check out and the staff were very understanding of my late flight. Weather wasn't perfect but I still enjoyed lunch by the pool and went for a run in the morning. Rooms are big and beds are comfortable. Only not so good thing was the wifi, it was very intermittent, and would go off for long periods of time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by JM, Hotel Management
Deivid, Thank you for this glowing review!! It was our pleasure to welcome you and meet you. Our team always tries to B of service whenever possible and a late check out helps you rest a little longer before heading on. Visit soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northern NJ

Great location but not very kid friendly

Posted Feb 23, 2017
The hotel was modern, nice and conveniently located. The main pool was steps away from the private beach. However, they were always running out of beach towels, they were out of pina colada mix and there were no common areas to sit with the family after dark. The pool area didn't have lights and the main lobby was turning into a bar so really no place for kids. Also, although we liked our hotel room At the beachfront tower there were no balconies (so really no place to sit after dark)
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by JM, Hotel Management
Hello Christina, Thank you for the fair review and sharing constructive feedback to allow us to improve. We should never run out of frozen drink mix (ever), especially when you are beachside:) All great feedback and we'll be sharing at our leaders meeting. Please do let me know when you journey back and we'll find you a balcony room!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mi

Hotel charge you everything

Posted Feb 23, 2017
They charge you everything from chair on the beach to umbrella. My mom wasn't feeling well so asking if we could check out late. Again $50 for that. The staff on the beach was rude. We stayed at 9 floor in marina building and they insisted there is no 9th floor even after I showed him the envelop with my room card. He made it sound like we were lying about our room # to avoid room charge. Overall I wouldn't recommend the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Girls long weekend!

Posted Feb 22, 2017
The hotel is beautiful staff were kind and very helpful! I would like to thank Merlin and Calesia Williams for everything including upgrading our room because of an error!! I would also like to thank the beach guys Joe, Ray, Branden who put the chairs etc. out every day!! Thanks again B Resort ❤
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by JM, Hotel Management
Great News! Thank you The Girls for celebrating with us this past weekend! Thrilled to see the team delivered another awesome experience on your special occasion! Cheers!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Great location, poor service

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Located beautifully on the beach, this hotel really looks the part. It has been recently refurbished and has a couple of nice bars in the lobby. However, we had a bad experience and can't recommend the place because of bad customer service. The did not have the room we booked available upon check in. We did not receive an upgrade as expected for an Expedia VIP gold member, but were instead downgraded. Little was done to accommodate us. The following day we didn't get our room until 5pm, and even then were not offered anything for our inconvenience other than a drink. After I complained to Expedia, I was informed that a credit was out on our account, which never materialized until I pressed the issue and the resort fees were waived. Service on the beach and at the bars is poor due to lack of staff, even on a weekend when the hotel was full. Expedia needs to do a better job of choosing VIP hotels, as this isn't one of them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by jm, Hotel Management
Hello Jay, Sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with your recent stay at B Ocean. We do value your feedback and will work hard to improve. We have been sold out and always try to upgrade our Expedia VIP's when ever possible and I'm glad the team provided no resort fees for the inconvenience. Please let me know when you return in advance and we'll be sure to deliver a typical high level engaging experience.