Ratings based on 679 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Close to the beach does not compensate for place

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: The beach
Cons: A LOT can be improved. This hotel needs to be gutted and re-built.
Location: There is not much within walking distance.
We were greeted by a very, very casual desk clerk. The lobby was small and dingy. All the windows were very dirty. The hallway to our room had crumbling stucco lying on the floor. The room carpet smelled old and stale. Barebones amenities in the bathroom, i.e. tiny 1 oz. shampoo and conditioner (no shower cap, or extra bar of soap). The entire corridor was in dire need of soap, water and paint. The small restaurant at the back was quite dirty. I don't think the floor had been washed in years. The walkway to the restaurant was also extremely run down and in disrepair. Every corner of this hotel was dirty. Sorry to say the kitchen staff were no better. They wore wrinkled, soiled street clothes and dirty sneakers. I honesty don't know where all the positive reviews came from.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SW Michigan

Friendly employees, great room and location!

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, great location, great ocean view, right on the beach, it was great.
Cons: The bar and dining options could be improved, limited bar menu.
I got parking right in front, received an upgrade so we got an awesome suite. The bar lacks a little due to no hard alcohol, we didn't eat there so I can't comment on that. Definitely. pay the extra for the ocean view rooms, they're fantastic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Life's a beach!

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: See above
Location: Location is away from the scene in Fort Lauderdale--about 10 minutes away. We liked that it was not on the strip but close enough to get to easily.
What more can you say about a hotel that is five feet from the beach? Plus a hole-in-the wall restaurant with great drinks, good food and a fantastic staff? Our room was very nice, large airy suite with an extremely comfortable bed. Staff is friendly and helpful. And did I say the hotel is five feet from the beach?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful View, Poorly Maintained Room

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Pros: The location, along with the view outside of our door, as we were right on the beach. If the rooms could be renovated, this would be a great place.
Cons: All appliances in the room need to be replaced, along with the tub.
Location: N/A
My wife and I were attending an event in Ft. Lauderdale, and needed a place to stay near the event location, so we chose the Sun Tower. What's odd is that it is a very quaint, clearly older hotel situated between two much newer, fancier high-rise hotel/condo towers. Well, we were given an upgrade to a room that has a glass door which opens right onto the beach, so of course we said yes! Once we got to the room, we looked around and at first glance, it was perfectly serviceable. However, that night, is when we realized how bad things were. The appliances in the room were SUPER loud. Like, I had to raise my voice to talk to my wife loud. The refridgerator kept making these loud buzzing/humming noises intermittently, and the old air conditioning unit (a wall mounted affair) was rattling and buzzing in its frame. We didn't sleep very well, which is a shame, because if the room was renovated, it'd be perfect. As is, we probably will not stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Had a wonderful time!!!!

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Pros: everything..
Location: Excellent restaurants...
Excellent!!! Hotel staff, hotel facilities, room comfort and location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice Hotel On The Beach

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: Great beach location.
Cons: Place is a bit dated...but not terrible.
Location: food shops, bars, beaches...all the good things needed for a great vacation stay.
Very simple hotel with good food choices, perfect beach location with plenty of shopping within walking distance. Best kept secret in Ft. Lauderdale.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Princeton,New Jersey

Directly on beach

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: Ocean veiw
Cons: Beds. They are very old and worn.
Location: Good location. Not close to stores and restaurants
Not so friendly "Carlos" desk clerk. Worn beds. Great ocean views from rooms. Friendly staff at grill of hotel. Great hamburgers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ancaster, Ontario

excellent hotel on the beach! spectacular room!

Posted Dec 27, 2015
We loved our stay! The food at the onsite restaurant was great!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Oh man, don't get room 924!

Posted Dec 14, 2015
Pros: The view of the beach is lovely. The bed was very comfortable.
Cons: The furnishings are dated, stained and the carpet is unraveling. Start with upgrading. Making sure staff actually cleans the suite.
Location: Walk the beach, fairly good dining. We stay in Fort Lauderdale this time of year every year. We like to stay on the beach and try different hotels.
The hotel is in a nice location with great views of the beach. However, when I walked into the room we had (a suite) I set up my computer at the table in the dining area. The outlet next to the table did not work. There was not a switch to make it work. Yes, I was on vacation, but I own my own business and had to reply to an email and send an attachment. I noticed that there were glass rings on the window sill where obviously someone had been standing looking out at the beautiful ocean. When I walked out on the balcony, I realized that we were on the 2nd floor and right below us was the bar and grill. It made it awkward to use the balcony mere feet from where people were eating. Of course having the bar and grill right below us meant that the cigarette smoke wafted into our open glass doors of the balcony - open so we could hear the waves. Then, low and behold, the Bar and Grill had live music - outside - right below our room! Thankfully there was a thunderstorm and so the music and cigarette smoke stopped about 10 p.m. After a nice walk on the beach we got a nice bottle of wine and ordered pizza and sat down to watch some TV. After about 15 minutes the TV stopped working. We called the front desk several times, but no one answered. So, I took the TV off of the wall, pulled the box out of the wall, disconnected everything and got it working again. In the morning I had to walk down to the front desk and get toilet paper, as the bathroom was out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Had a great time. Helpful staff. Excellent location on the beach.