Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Very clean. The guests were pleasant. The host, Lisa, was very helpful and accommodating. In particular, Lisa was a very interesting and stimulating conversationalist!! Breakfast was excellent as well as healthy!! We would highly recommend a stay to anyone. Nancy and Rich
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Auberge du Saumonier Lodge Gaspé

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: Petits déjeuners copieux et savoureux.
Cons: Le classer comme B&B afin que ceux qui ne sont pas des consommateurs de tels produits ne s'y fassent pas attirer par des commentaires nébuleux
Location: Auberge située à 15 km du centre-ville. Si vous cherchez la nature, c'est l'endroit, sinon un établissement en ville est plus approprié.
Cet Auberge n'est rien d'autre qu'un B&B mais dont le descriptif laisse entrevoir autre chose. Par exemple une salle de bain privée séparée se traduit par une salle de bain à l'étage inférieur et partagée avec d'autres clients. Où est le privé dans tout cela? L'accueil est prévue pour débuter à 15h.00, mais une arrivée à 15h.30 a été jugée beaucoup trop tôt par la tenancière. On affiche la présence d'un restaurant et d'un café-restaurant. Tout à fait inexistants si ce n'est la possibilité de repas sur place pour ceux qui en feraient la demande à l'avance. Difficile de concilier cet état de fait avec la distance de 15km qui sépare l'Auberge du centre-ville où il faut vraiment se déplacer pour la restauration. La chambre n'est pas pourvue de téléviseur et l'insonorisation des chambres n'est pas à niveau. Les planchers de bois de cette vieille structure sont agréables à regarder mais un peu moins à supporter la nuit. De plus, les chambres ne ferment pas à clé ce qui amène parfois des situations loufoques comme ce client qui s'est introduit dans notre chambre par inadvertance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Such wonderful hosts and accommodations!

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: The comfort, cleanliness and the hosts! The breakfasts! It is also a very quiet area and we enjoyed watching the hummingbirds.
Cons: The house is creaky but we didn't hear much noise from our room. Also, watch out if you're using Google maps -- it gave the wrong location.
Location: 15 minute drive from Gaspé city. It's on a river and near a national park (including a beautiful beach).
My boyfriend and I had a great time staying here! Lisa and Elie were wonderful and considerate hosts, and very knowledgeable about the area. Their travel advice was helpful and it allowed us to make the most of our trip, which mostly involved hiking in the Forillon National Park, and visiting the city and the river. Lisa cooked us two amazing breakfasts (more like brunch because they were so substantial) and was considerate of my dietary constraints (I'm vegetarian). Our room was very comfortable, and we loved the luxurious bedding on the king sized bed! The house was clean and filled with the beautiful stained glass art that Lisa makes. This is a house, so yes, the two bathrooms are not attached to the rooms. They are downstairs and the rooms are upstairs. I think that the people who were displeased with the accommodations do not understand what a bed and breakfast is... (or maybe it is mis-marketed as a hotel on this website?).
4 out of 5
by WILIIAM A from Springfield MAss

A fisherman's lodge

Posted Jul 31, 2015 on Hotels
A comfortable fishermen's lodge/b& B, this is not for those looking for the usual creature comforts like private bathroom and tv in the room. But the bed was incredibly comfortable, and the hosts were very accomodating. The all you can eat homemade breakfast was wonderful!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Comfortable and quiet.

Posted Jul 24, 2015
We loved the location and quaintness of this Auberge. The host made us feel at home immediately and tended to our every request. I rise early so coffee was made available for me when I got up. Very nice touch indeed. Certainly a nice place to stay. If you're a fisherman it's a great stop for you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Italy

Very good unexpected surprise

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: Everything! The Breakfast! The Glassess!!!
We were very lucky in finding such hotel. We found it at the very last minute and we were suspicious because it is located not in the center of the town, but it is very amazing and we enjoyed a lot. Very very good the breakfast!!!!
5 out of 5
by bouchiat

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotelier with Attitude

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Watching the hummingbirds on the deck.
Cons: More pleasant reception; relocated bathrooms; more accurate description of the facilities
This was not a good experience for my husband and myself. GPS cannot be relied upon to get you to this location, and when I called to ask for directions, the owner berated me for not checking her website. Then we booking us in she berated me for going through Expedia - could have saved a bit by booking directly with her. The real shock came when, after charging our Visa card, I realised that the bathroom - described as 'detached' - really is detached because it's on the main floor and our bedroom was on the second floor. Quite a stroll in the middle of the night. The two bathrooms (for three or four guest rooms) are on the main floor - just beyond the dining room table. Under some circumstances this would mean having to walk past other guests having breakfast to get to the bathroom. We had the king size bed with mountain view - that's debatable - but the room certainly is not 300 square feet. There is no chair in the room, no glasses, and no outside lock on the door. Our stay was so unpleasant and contentious that as we packed up in the morning, my husband said to avoid any further conflict we would leave without breakfast. This move resulted in Lisa phoning my mobile three times, screaming insults at me each time (I wonder why I answered the phone...) and her final words to me were not printable - language to make a stevedore blush. This B&B (not auberge) was the absolute worst of fifteen places we stayed on our trip to the east coast; we cannot recommend it.
4 out of 5
by LJ from Napa

A quiet and wonderful place to stay.

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: Quiet, beautiful location, interesting hosts and good breakfasts.
The hosts, Lisa and Eli, are fascinating, multi-talented people who do all they can to make your stay pleasant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A clean and comfortable place...

Posted Aug 18, 2013
The Auberge du Saumonier Lodge was a welcome end to a day of travel through the National Park. The hostess was warm and personal and provided excellent advice for dinner. And yes, the GPS was accurate!